We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent place to enjoy winter” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Elk Country Inn to your Saves list
Elk Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Cancun, Mexico
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excelent place to enjoy winter”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Excellent place, the service was great, and the location close to down town and the restaurants, you can use the pubic bus service to go everywhere, and the people on reception desk are great (don't loose the opportunity to try the cookies) one of my best winter vacations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We can not thank you enough for your kind words regarding your recent stay with us at the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. Being in close proximity to all the town's restaurants, shopping, galleries, and nightlife is a huge perk when choosing a place to stay. We are happy you found our location to be the perfect fit for you. All of the staff are thrilled that this was "one of the best winter vacations" and hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    171
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
161
147
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Etowah, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Spent four nights in one of Elk Country's cabins. Great place to stay with a pet and only four blocks from the Square. The cabins were clean and service good. Would recommend this to anyone, especially with pets. It's nice to be able to eat in if you wish.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We are very happy to have accommodated you for four nights in one of our cabins we offer at the property. All of our staff are excited you and your pet enjoyed yourselves while visiting the Jackson Hole area! All of our cabins are well appointed and come with an kitchenette if you do wish to eat in and relax. Thank you for your compliments and come back to see us again. Travel safely back to beautiful North Carolina!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed for over 3 weeks at the Elk Country Inn. The rooms were a good size, bathrooms well appointed and housekeeping efficient.
The bus to Jackson Hole stops right out the front of the hotel, it is the first pick up and the first drop off making it a super service. Fresh coffee and fruit in the hotel reception each morning while waiting for the bus was excellent too.
Although there is no breakfast provided, each room has a microwave and a fridge to store your goodies. There is a dollar shop across the way where you can buy plates and cutlery very cheaply.
The only down side was noise, the hotel is home to seasonal workers that work in Jackson. These people have no consideration that they are living in a hotel where people are on holidays. Thankfully the staff at Elk Country Inn tried hard to keep on top of noise control and were often seen in the hallways asking for music etc to be turned down.
The location to the old part of town is excellent and we were very happy with our choice and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms are well soundproofed between rooms, but noise does travel from the floor above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Howdy, and thank you for taking the time to review the Elk Country Inn right downtown Jackson. Everyone is thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us for over 3 weeks! We love to hear when our guest enjoy all of the amenities we offer at the property including the complimentary shuttle to and from Jackson Hole Mountain Resort. We appreciate you sharing your comments regarding the monthly rentals to seasonal workers in the area. We are making some changes as we speak for next year. We value each and every guest and want to ensure that every guest has a memorable stay with us at the property. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and others and we hope to see you again next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Elk has motel rooms and individual log cabins. We stayed in the latter- real logs - no stuck on fakery! Large twin bedded bedrooms, separate bathroom and living room/kitchen. The pluses were: good value if you book carefully, comfortable, reasonably central location, free ski bus to the slopes (11 miles away) 8am + 9am and 3pm + 4.30pm. The minuses: mainly the kitchenette which is too small for any sensible cooking - one induction plate, no grill or oven, only 2 pans! The cabins also need a fair amount of heating and you might not be able to get 2 baths one after the other.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and other travelers. We all are thrilled that your friends and you enjoyed the well appointed cabins as well as Jackson Hole Mountain Resort, a great place to ski/ride! We want thank you for your kind words and your comments regarding your stay. We do provide grills on our grounds and we would have more than happy to supply them for the group if notified. We are thrilled that everyone enjoyed the complimentary shuttle we provide to and from Jackson Hole Mountain Resort. All of the staff are already looking forward to hopefully seeing you again next year! Please take care and travel safely.:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We checked into the individual cabins mid-september. They are very nice. Cute front porch with table and chairs. Inside, there is a little living area with kitchenette and sofa. Bathroom clean, remodeled. We had a bedroom with 2 doubles. Comfy, cozy. I would give these cabins 5 stars, except for the INTENSE fragrance plug-ins. I unplugged them because they were so strong, what are they covering up? Didn't notice any other odd smell after unplugging them though. We were able to park our small trailer behind our unit because there were no bus tours at this time. It is just a few blocks from the center of town, pretty easily walkable. Well-maintained. These cabin units all face a central grass area, only odd thing, you hear all the chit chat the housekeeping staff does while they are working. The housekeeping room is located in the middle of these cabins. It wasn't distracting, but a little odd when you are sitting on your porch. This was a good value for the money and I would return. I am a westin-lover and particulary picky with accommodations and I was happy with this choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Everyone here at the property loves to hear when families have such a great time at the Elk Country Inn. We are glad that our cozy cabins was the perfect fit for the family! I hope you had memorable stay in Jackson and we truly appreciate you taking your time to review our property! Thank you very much and we hope to have you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellisville, Mississippi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Wow! What a great place,Close to everything.Had a great time snowmobeling, booked through hotel.Bus to teton Villiage stops right across the street.Staff at hotel were so helpful,wonderful infact,good people skills dealing with public.Cabin we had was just perfect.Can't hardly wait to get back late one summer.Every where we went in Jackson & Teton people were so polite & nice.Made us feel very special.Thanks again Jackson Hole,and Elks Country Inn.

Room Tip: We had a Cabin 4th from street,queen double,Kitchenett,Frig,Microwave,coffee pot,two tv's,all yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
First let me say how much we appreciate you staying in one of our cabins we offer at the Elk Country Inn. Our staff want to thank you for all you kind compliments! We strive to excel in customer service to ensure everyone is happy and had wonderful stay. Please come and see us again soon on down the road! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I would have to rate this hotel an 8 out of 5 when it comes to value & bang for your buck. We just returned from a very nice 5 night stay at The Elk Country Inn and unless I was looking to splurge and spend BIG bucks to be out at Teton Village to ski, I would stay here everytime. Start with a super friendly staff making checkin & getting loads of local info a joy (my wife no longer skiis and she spent several hours throughout the week in the office chatting with the staff) along with fresh baked cookies & hot choc every evening at 5pm. The room was a double queen, very spacious, with a mini fridge & micro wave. Beds were very comfortable and the pillows were so good my wife bought 2 to bring home. There is no elevator, so if that is a problem, request the bottom floor. This hotel is an older facility and soon will need a small amount of sprucing up (carpet in hallways, etc, but the rooms are very clean and cozy and that's the main thing). They have a small workout room and an indoor hottub, which we always intended to use but never found time. The hotel is just a few blocks from town square and several restaurants are on the way there as well as tons of shops & bars all within a short jaunt.
We booked our room thru "booking.com", originally for 3 nights @ $59 per night!!! When weather forced us to arrive 2 days early, the hotel set us up, even though booking.com didn't show rooms available, for the same price, ($59) which is quite a bit cheaper than their listed price. We know they didn't have to do that and really appreciated it. I drove myself to Jackson Hole Ski Resort each day which is a leisurely 20-25 minute drive but the hotel has an hourly shuttle to take to there & back if you want.
This is not a high end hotel, but a great value, a roomy, clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay. I'll enjoy using the money I saved staying here to spend on everything else!!

Room Tip: They have single log cabins which are more private (park right in front of your cabin) and have a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for staying with us for 5 nights! We are grateful to have had you stay with us right downtown Jackson during your ski vacation. Our staff appreciates your kind words and compliments regarding the service we provided the both of you while visiting Jackson Hole. Being in close proximity to all the downtown restaurants, shopping, galleries, and nightlife is perfect for those who want to experience the charming historic town. We want to thank you for your comments regarding your stay and we look forward to seeing you again on down the road!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Address: 480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.