We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Comfy, Except the Beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Elk Country Inn to your Saves list
Elk Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Cody, Wyoming
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Very Comfy, Except the Beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This review is for cabin (2 queens+sofabed): cottage was cute, very clean, a fine size for family of 4, at a good price. Warm and cozy even when the outside temps were 20 below zero. We did some light cooking in kitchenette and it was equipped with all the basic amenities. The beds, however, were extremely hard, way too firm for any of us to really sleep comfortably. If beds were more comfy, this would be 5 star (but maybe that is just a matter of personal preference).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review our property right downtown. All of the staff hopes that you and your family enjoyed your time spent in Jackson Hole. We all can not thank you enough for staying with us here a the Elk Country Inn! We appreciate your comments and hope to see you again the next time you decide to visit from right up the road. Please take care and Happy Valentine's Day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    171
    41
    14
    5
See reviews for
161
147
19
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Elk Country Inn twice now. The staff is amazing here and super friendly. They are really informative and can give you great info on anything you might want to do while you are in town. It doesn't hurt that fresh chocolate chip cookies are put out during the day to butter me up.
They make it really comfortable to stay here and the location is superb. It's just a 3-5 minute walk to the main town square but there are a couple of restaurants right across the street to grab a quick bite.
The property is clean, comfortable and they take great care of anyone staying here. The prices are great considering how at home I feel when I stay here.

Room Tip: The cabins are great and you'll feel like you have your own little home :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
It was a pleasure having you stay with us at the Elk Country Inn for the second time! Our staff want to thank you for your kind words regarding the accommodations and the service you received during they stay with us. We strive to excel to provide the best customer service to each and every guest to ensure that their stay is a memorable one. We appreciate you and please come see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menan, I
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed two nights. The reception was friendly and well informed, gave us good information on things to do in Jackson. Our cabin was clean, comfortable and well equiped with everything we needed. The location was perfect to walk to downtown shops and restaurants. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
All of our staff want to thank you for your kind words regarding your experience with us at the Elk Country Inn. We are happy that you enjoyed a nice comfortable stay with us in one of our well appointed cabins we offer here at the property. Thank you for choosing to stay with us right downtown Jackson and we look forward to seeing you again soon! Take care and travel safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conley, Georgia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a cabin for two nights and it was very clean and comfy except for the pillows which were lumpy and hot. We both were a little under the weather from the difference in altitude but we will definitely stay here again. Beds were very comfortable and really liked the kitchenette and did I mention two flat screen TV's one in living room and one in bedroom. Internet kept making us sign in after a few minutes but overall it was not a big deal. Loved being able to park directly in front of the cabin. Front desk staff were friendly and we loved the hot chocolate which was available all day and the cookies in the afternoon. Great stay !

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to review the Elk Country Inn right downtown. Everyone is excited that you found a nice comfortable stay with us in one of our cabins we offer at the property. Our front desk staff appreciates your compliments and look forward to seeing you again on the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here for a week and had a great experience. Slightly larger cabins than at Cowboy Village which is just behind the Elk Country Inn and part of the same group including the 49er and Antler Inn. The cabin was perfect for two people and they offer a free shuttle to Jackson Hole Resort. The shuttle stops at Elk Country Lodge first, then the 49er, Antler Inn and finally Cowboy Village, so we got a seat every day. And reverse, the shuttle stopped here first. And if you miss it, just walk over to the Cowboy Inn. The staff for the most part was friendly with the exception of one gentleman. I walked in to get some cookies they have around 5:00 PM. I walked in, said "Hello! How are you today?" No response. Got a few cookies and said "It's cold out." He looked at me and said "Can I help you?" I said I am staying here, gave my room number, and said I was just grabbing two cookies for my wife and me. "Oh! I didn't know who you were, so I didn't know what to say." Are you joking me? Based on that, don't say hi to anybody and don't respond to anybody that says hi to you if you don't know them. What kind of hospitality is that? The sauna was nice, but not very well set up. First, no where to change, so you have to run like lightning in your swimsuit on ice, in 6 F. Shoes not allowed inside, but everyone seems to disregard that sign. No drinking, but everyone seems to ignore that as well. And mildew on the wall in really only one place. Under the vent, which happens to be where the three hooks are located to hang your jacket. Gross. So easy to clean, but no one bothered. However I did not stay there for the sauna. We stayed there for the great price, proximity to downtown, and the free shuttle to the resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Howdy! Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We are so grateful you chose to stay with us at the Elk Country Inn and hope you had a wonderful time skiing at the world famous Jackson Hole Mountain Resort! I want to personally apologize for your experience with one of our front desk agents. This is out of the ordinary I assure you and it has already been addressed and will never happen again. We pride ourselves in providing quality customer service to each and every guest, so our guest leave with a memorable experience of the place we call home Jackson Hole. Thank you again for your comments and please feel free to reach out to us. We hope that we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future. Please take care and travel safely back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I'm always happy to return to the Elk Country Inn, a locally owned and well managed lodging in the heart of Jackson. The Inn offers well appointed hotel rooms which include coffee, a little refrigerator and microwave. Comfortable log cabins with full kitchens are also available. Our ski club gets a warm welcome when we return every January. There is an indoor hot tub to soothe aching muscles. There is a free shuttle to and from the Jackson Hole resort for world class skiing. There is also regularly scheduled local bus service, and it's only a few blocks to the lively and historic Town Square with numerous restaurants, bars and shops. Bubba's barbecue restaurant right next door to the elk Country Inn serves ample breakfasts and dinners.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
We value and appreciate you taking the time to review our property in downtown Jackson. All of our staff are thrilled to hear that the ski group had a wonderful stay while visiting the area! It is always great to see when guest's have enjoyed unbeatable skiing that our winter's offer. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers and we hope to see the group again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerome, Idaho
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The Elk Country Inn in Jackson, Wyoming is a great place to stay. My wife and I stay there every Labor Day weekend. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very clean and our little dog "Chica" is always welcome at no extra cost. The location is excellent, close to downtown attractions. There is a nice park as part of the grounds with trees, benches and picnic tables. Very relaxing, quiet and not a financial ripoff as are some of the lodging places in Jackson.

Room Tip: We like the main building attached to the office. There is an excellent cafe "Bubba's"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
It truly was a pleasure accommodating the two of you while visiting the area. The staff wants to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. We are grateful that both of you and "Chica" choose to stay with us over the holiday weekend! Thank you and please take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Address: 480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Jackson
#12 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.