We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to hole up in J Hole!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elk Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Elk Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to hole up in J Hole!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Had to stay a couple nights due to traveling companion's illness, and the first snow of the season. Very nice, private cabin, quiet heater, warm and cozy and VERY reasonable price. We had pets (birds) and they were welcomed and enjoyed it too. Only drawback is we couldn't stay longer. Cabin was far enough from the highway to remove the noise factor. Laundry area was spotless and had modern efficient machines, a welcome surprise. Tv s were large and excellent cable. Wifi was great. A very nice respite form sub-minimal chain hotels in OR WA ID MT. Would definitely stay again and recommend it; at the very least in the shoulder season.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Our staff want to thank you for your recent stay with us in downtown Jackson. We are thrilled to hear that you both had a wonderful experience in one of the cozy cabins we offer at the property. The staff want to thank you for your kindness and we look forward to seeing you again on the next visit. Travel safely and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    187
    164
    37
    11
    5
See reviews for
152
134
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights. We had a cabin with 2 queen beds and a kitchenette at the rear of the property. The cabin and bathroom were clean and comfortable. Everything was done well and we hd a great stay with no problems or complaints. What more could we ask for?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Howdy! Our staff want to thank you for staying in one of our cabins we offer at the Elk Country Inn. We are glad that you had a comfortable stay with us right downtown Jackson. Everyone hopes you had a memorable time in Jackson Hole and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

My best friend and I had a fabulous 2 night stay here. The cabin had two comfortable queen beds (flatscreen TV in room as well), a clean and fully stocked bathroom with a tub (nice thick towels), a nice front room with another flat screen TV, fold out couch and a kitchenette with all the kitchen amenities. Beautiful log interior and front porch with a picnic table. Within walking distance to the famous down town Jackson Hole area.

Room Tip: Check for discounts ie. AAA or Government rate or Seniors!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
It truly was a pleasure to have the opportunity to accommodate both of you while visiting the Jackson Hole area. The staff is thrilled that one of our cabins was exactly what the two of you were looking for when choosing a place to stay right downtown Jackson. Everyone wants to thank you for staying with us and we can not wait to see you again on the next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rapid city, sd
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had a loft room at this hotel. The room itself is very spacious and clean. There are two queen beds downstairs and one queen bed upstairs. There are flat screen TVs on both levels. The bathroom is right as you walk into the room. The bathroom itself is really small, and the sink is outside of it. The fridge and microwave are in this area also. This property is located near one of the main streets in Jackson and we had no trouble finding it. The person who checked us in was very nice and accomodating. When he learned that we had a child in a wheelchair, he offered to move us to one of their cabins since our room was on the second floor (this was actually my fault, I am usually good about asking, but just thought a two story room would be on the first floor......). We ended up keeping our loft room and carrying our daughter upstairs. Anyway, there were a couple of things that kept me from giving this property 5 stars: the cable was really spotty, had to keep messing with the cable itself and in the end, only the HD channels came in decently. There was a ceiling fan, which if you have stayed in a loft room you know you need to keep the temp upstairs decent---this one was set on high with no way to adjust it, and not centered so that the chain would randomly tap against the bulb---irritating when you are trying to go to sleep. The TV's were placed on the same walls upstairs and downstairs, which resulted in a volume war between my husband and son because the acoustics made it so you could hear both TV's clearly. Also, with the tiny bathroom and no way to block off the loft, there was no good way to get dressed privately (and I mean the bathroom was TINY....you could not take your clothes in there). There is a hot tub in a house which is in the middle of the property. We did go look at it and it was clean, but we didnt try it. There is no breakfast here, but they do have fruit during the day, and cookies in the afternoon/evening. All in all, this is a reasonable place to stay in Jackson (at least during the winter, our rate was $149, probably a lot more during summer). BTW, I dont recommend the restaurant in the adjoining parking lot........

Room Tip: No elevators. Lofts are all on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us at the Elk Country Inn as well as other travelers. We appreciate your comments regarding your families stay in one of our Family Loft Rooms. All the staff hopes you all had a wonderful time while visiting the Jackson Hole area and we hope to see everyone again on the next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Spent one night at the Elk Country Inn during a two week drive through the West. The cabin we stayed in was charming and my girlfriend and I both remarked we would stay again if in Jackson. Cabin was clean, cozy and quiet. Had kitchenette that would make it a great spot for a longer stay. Bed was comfy and cabin had flat screens in bedroom and living area. Close enough to downtown Jackson to walk. Service was excellent, gave us good dining advice. Would stay here again, without question.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to review our property the Elk Country Inn. Everyone here is happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our quiet cozy cabins we offer. The staff is thrilled that we had the opportunity to accommodate the two of you while staying in downtown Jackson! We hope your trip was a memorable one and please come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inver Grove Heights
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Our recent trip to Grand Teton National Park and 3-night stay at the Elk Country Inn was wonderful! Really enjoyed the cozy log cabin--it was comfortable and clean. The downtown location was very convenient. Would highly recommend this inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Our staff want to thank you for staying with us while exploring Grand Teton National Park. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed one of our cozy cabins we offer at the property. Everyone appreciates you sharing your experience with us and other travelers. Please come back and see us anytime at the Elk Country Inn! Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Inn honored my request for a top floor quiet room, however in check in I was a bit disappointed by what appeared to be newly decorated room, but very average. We walked next door to the Cowboy Village and were quoted a rate of 140.00 for a cabin which was 30.00 less that what we were paying for an average hotel room. We returned to the Inn and explained that we were disappointed with the room, told them rate of the cottage next door, and asked what an upgrade fee would be to move up to a cabin. They told us it would be an additional 75.00, which was more than the online price. I asked if we could cancel our reservation, we had arrived at 10:00 AM, but could not check in till 3:00 PM, and we were told no. The Inn had many vacant rooms/ cabins. I am not one who likes to haggle and was willing to pay a reasonable up charge for a cabin but I really thought the up charge was high based on their current occupancy. To their credit after much discussion they did move us to a cabin which I appreciated, but the interaction left a bit of a negative feeling with me.
The cabin was comfortable, and the Inn was an easy walk to town. We had an AC issue and the maintenance man promptly came over and was very pleasant and helpful. The housekeeping staff also were very pleasant. I think based on the nice reception we received at the Cowboy Village, that would be my recommendation for a stay.

Room Tip: Ask to be situated in the back away from the busy streets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townsquareinns, Manager at Elk Country Inn, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Our staff are happy that you chose to stay with us at the Elk Country Inn in downtown Jackson. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed one of our well appointed cabins we offer at the property. All of us hope you had a wonderful time in the beautiful town we call home. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope to see you again in the future. Travel safely back home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Elk Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Country Inn

Address: 480 W Pearl, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Jackson
#11 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#12 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Elk Country Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Elk Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Country Hotel Jackson
Country Inn Jackson
Hotel Elk Country
Jackson Country Inn
Elk Country Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elk Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.