We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night only” 1 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Save Saved
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Rancho Motel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Palm Beach, FL
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One night only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is that it is in town and we only stayed for one night before our flight home. The place is all-around in need of an update. Although totally run down it was clean enough. We were probably in the room no more than a total of 8 hours and glad to leave. If you are staying for several days in Jackson, do yourself a favor and cross this place off your list.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    29
    18
    13
See reviews for
13
38
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cheap Price okay for just one night closd to downtown. Looked like the old drive by hotels built in the 1950's - You Check in at another Hotel the Anvil just around the corner. The carpets seemed to be a little damp. You could see datylight under the front door so cold air came in. The room next to us they kept smaming the door never saw any employee's on premisis. The Continental breakfast at the Anvil was just Avgerage. Go some where else to stay like Motel 6 or Super 8 same price.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

One of the more inexpensive hotels in Jackson. Prices in Jackson tend to be extremely high, el Rancho is one of the least expensive. While still expensive for what you get, it is more reasonably priced then most other hotels. The hotel is definitely older, with small rooms. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. It is located in a small little alcove that avoids the noises of downtown yet you are only a couple blocks from the town square. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay in Jackson the El Rancho will work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

There are lots of places to stay in Jackson and Jackson Hole. If you just want a comfortable room for a night, El Rancho is fine. We went out at 5.50 am to view wildlife around the Tetons (saw Moose) and had breakfast at the Grand Teton Village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really liked out stay at the El Rancho...I wasn't sure what to think based on mixed reviews but I would recommend it...it has character. Most things in Jackson are expensive so $77/night was a really good deal. Our room was teeny tiny but it didn't bother us. They offered a few small things for breakfast (yogurt, granola, fruit, coffee) which was pretty good b/c a lot of the hotels that I looked at did not. I would stay here again. The room and bed were comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nigths at this hotel last September when travelling through Grand Teton National Park as a couple.

The small motel room was basic but big enough and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast in the lobby was adequate but a bit drap (retailed muffins, tasteless apples and some yogurts). No seating.

The only two really annoying things were:
1- the only electric sockets in the room are old and nothing modern fits and stays plugged in. This includes the room TV, so they must be aware...
2- the shower head is really really low. I'm 6ft1 and could just about wet my armpits. That would still be high enough if the actual shower cabin was a bit bigger... but unfortunately not.

Bear in mind though that Jackson is an expensive place, and you probably won't find anything much better for the price.

Service was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the El Rancho in Jackson and it was as I expected. This is what I would term an "old style" motel which means you can drive right up to your front door and walk in. If you want large rooms and frills then this is not the place for you. I stayed here for under $100 per night since I planned a few months in advance so that is as good as it gets in Jackson and it provided all I wanted. The property is located in a great location within walking distance of everything in the heart of Jackson. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — El Rancho Motel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Jackson
El Rancho Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.