We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and Run Down” 2 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Motel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Bountiful, Utah
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Old and Run Down”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Cheap Price okay for just one night closd to downtown. Looked like the old drive by hotels built in the 1950's - You Check in at another Hotel the Anvil just around the corner. The carpets seemed to be a little damp. You could see datylight under the front door so cold air came in. The room next to us they kept smaming the door never saw any employee's on premisis. The Continental breakfast at the Anvil was just Avgerage. Go some where else to stay like Motel 6 or Super 8 same price.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere if at all possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    23
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
13
47
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

One of the more inexpensive hotels in Jackson. Prices in Jackson tend to be extremely high, el Rancho is one of the least expensive. While still expensive for what you get, it is more reasonably priced then most other hotels. The hotel is definitely older, with small rooms. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. It is located in a small little alcove that avoids the noises of downtown yet you are only a couple blocks from the town square. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay in Jackson the El Rancho will work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 158 cities Reviews in 158 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

There are lots of places to stay in Jackson and Jackson Hole. If you just want a comfortable room for a night, El Rancho is fine. We went out at 5.50 am to view wildlife around the Tetons (saw Moose) and had breakfast at the Grand Teton Village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundelein, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really liked out stay at the El Rancho...I wasn't sure what to think based on mixed reviews but I would recommend it...it has character. Most things in Jackson are expensive so $77/night was a really good deal. Our room was teeny tiny but it didn't bother us. They offered a few small things for breakfast (yogurt, granola, fruit, coffee) which was pretty good b/c a lot of the hotels that I looked at did not. I would stay here again. The room and bed were comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nigths at this hotel last September when travelling through Grand Teton National Park as a couple.

The small motel room was basic but big enough and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast in the lobby was adequate but a bit drap (retailed muffins, tasteless apples and some yogurts). No seating.

The only two really annoying things were:
1- the only electric sockets in the room are old and nothing modern fits and stays plugged in. This includes the room TV, so they must be aware...
2- the shower head is really really low. I'm 6ft1 and could just about wet my armpits. That would still be high enough if the actual shower cabin was a bit bigger... but unfortunately not.

Bear in mind though that Jackson is an expensive place, and you probably won't find anything much better for the price.

Service was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the El Rancho in Jackson and it was as I expected. This is what I would term an "old style" motel which means you can drive right up to your front door and walk in. If you want large rooms and frills then this is not the place for you. I stayed here for under $100 per night since I planned a few months in advance so that is as good as it gets in Jackson and it provided all I wanted. The property is located in a great location within walking distance of everything in the heart of Jackson. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the El Rancho for three nights in September 2012 and it was a basic stay. Our room was sufficiently large with two queen beds and a basic, but older bathroom. Service to our room during the stay was minimal, but we did receive new towels each day. No evidence of vacuuming, however. "Continental breakfast" was a half block away at another motel, the Anvil, and the small office area was crowded and hectic, and the choice was coffee and a packaged muffin: no fruit, no cereal, no juice, no milk. The location of the motel was fine - quite close to restaurants and shopping and the downtown square and nicely walkable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — El Rancho Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Jackson
El Rancho Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.