We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Price is right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Save Saved
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
El Rancho Motel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Jackson, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Price is right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

One of the more inexpensive hotels in Jackson. Prices in Jackson tend to be extremely high, el Rancho is one of the least expensive. While still expensive for what you get, it is more reasonably priced then most other hotels. The hotel is definitely older, with small rooms. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly and helpful. It is located in a small little alcove that avoids the noises of downtown yet you are only a couple blocks from the town square. If you are looking for an inexpensive stay in Jackson the El Rancho will work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    20
    27
    16
    11
See reviews for
13
39
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

There are lots of places to stay in Jackson and Jackson Hole. If you just want a comfortable room for a night, El Rancho is fine. We went out at 5.50 am to view wildlife around the Tetons (saw Moose) and had breakfast at the Grand Teton Village.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I really liked out stay at the El Rancho...I wasn't sure what to think based on mixed reviews but I would recommend it...it has character. Most things in Jackson are expensive so $77/night was a really good deal. Our room was teeny tiny but it didn't bother us. They offered a few small things for breakfast (yogurt, granola, fruit, coffee) which was pretty good b/c a lot of the hotels that I looked at did not. I would stay here again. The room and bed were comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nigths at this hotel last September when travelling through Grand Teton National Park as a couple.

The small motel room was basic but big enough and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast in the lobby was adequate but a bit drap (retailed muffins, tasteless apples and some yogurts). No seating.

The only two really annoying things were:
1- the only electric sockets in the room are old and nothing modern fits and stays plugged in. This includes the room TV, so they must be aware...
2- the shower head is really really low. I'm 6ft1 and could just about wet my armpits. That would still be high enough if the actual shower cabin was a bit bigger... but unfortunately not.

Bear in mind though that Jackson is an expensive place, and you probably won't find anything much better for the price.

Service was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the El Rancho in Jackson and it was as I expected. This is what I would term an "old style" motel which means you can drive right up to your front door and walk in. If you want large rooms and frills then this is not the place for you. I stayed here for under $100 per night since I planned a few months in advance so that is as good as it gets in Jackson and it provided all I wanted. The property is located in a great location within walking distance of everything in the heart of Jackson. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the El Rancho for three nights in September 2012 and it was a basic stay. Our room was sufficiently large with two queen beds and a basic, but older bathroom. Service to our room during the stay was minimal, but we did receive new towels each day. No evidence of vacuuming, however. "Continental breakfast" was a half block away at another motel, the Anvil, and the small office area was crowded and hectic, and the choice was coffee and a packaged muffin: no fruit, no cereal, no juice, no milk. The location of the motel was fine - quite close to restaurants and shopping and the downtown square and nicely walkable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This motel was a good value and location was near everything in Jackson. It was clean and a basic room for the night. We stayed here so we could do Grand Teton NP and also tour Idaho. The young girl behind the desk was very helpful answering any questions we had. We stayed in September so air conditioning wasn't an issue. Continential breakfast was basic but fine. We were happy with this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — El Rancho Motel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Jackson
El Rancho Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.