We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK and an OK price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Save Saved
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
El Rancho Motel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Petersburg
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OK and an OK price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the El Rancho for three nights in September 2012 and it was a basic stay. Our room was sufficiently large with two queen beds and a basic, but older bathroom. Service to our room during the stay was minimal, but we did receive new towels each day. No evidence of vacuuming, however. "Continental breakfast" was a half block away at another motel, the Anvil, and the small office area was crowded and hectic, and the choice was coffee and a packaged muffin: no fruit, no cereal, no juice, no milk. The location of the motel was fine - quite close to restaurants and shopping and the downtown square and nicely walkable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    27
    28
    17
    13
See reviews for
13
37
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This motel was a good value and location was near everything in Jackson. It was clean and a basic room for the night. We stayed here so we could do Grand Teton NP and also tour Idaho. The young girl behind the desk was very helpful answering any questions we had. We stayed in September so air conditioning wasn't an issue. Continential breakfast was basic but fine. We were happy with this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose this as a one night stay before flying home. It is in town and is cheaper than most hotels. Since we were only sleeping here before going home we didn't want to pay the inflated prices of other hotels.

The room was larger than the sister hotel's, (Anvil Motel). It was quiet old. When we came back from dinner and entered our room there was a strong septic smell. We could not identify the source. It dissapated, but we noticed it again during the night.

We had to leave for the airport early in the morning in the dark and there were no outside lights to help us see down the stairs. (There is no elevator) Fortunately we had brought flashlights.

Room was larger than the one we had in the Anvil the week before. In the morning I noticed that there were stains on the top sheet of my bed. I was to tired the night before to see them.

It is convenient for walking around town, but very old, not well maintained. The deck on the second story was sagging and dead bugs in the overhead light fixture over the table.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you go get a room on the second floor. Beware... they turn off the outside lights during the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked this due to the price and location and is exceeded my expectations. Check in was smooth (you have to check into the hotel next door) but it makes no difference. All the rooms are ground level and you can pull your car up to the door. The room is small but perfectly formed with nice toiletries. It is a 5/10 min walk into the centre of town so after a long drive you can go for a drink.

Room Tip: All rooms are ground level and away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern NC
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Jackson Hole, WY is not an inexpensive place to stay, but I found this motel that cost quite a bit less than others in the area. It is owned by the people that also own the Anvil Motel, and check in was effortless. The room was clean, and had all the amenities that I needed. The bed was a bit hard, but gave a good night's sleep. The water in the shower was plentiful and hot, and there was a restaurant a few steps from my door. The Town Square of Jackson is an easy two block walk, and the motel is on the main route to Grand Teton Park. There is no air conditioning, but there is a ceiling fan, and the nights are cool, so opening the front window a bit, and the bathroom window gave a great cross draft that worked just as well. I recommend this motel for people who want value for their money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The location is excellent, however the room is extremely small, non air conditioned and very basic. Try the "Desperados" restaurant nearby. The continental breakfast is OK, although not available early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The El Rancho Motel is adequate and clean but with NO frills. It was one of the least expensive places I could stay for the night but nothing to write home about. The check-in and all is handled by an office at the hotel next door so that was a little confusing. I suppose that both properties are owned by the same group. The property is two story and there are no elevators so if hauling luggage up a flight of outside, wooden stairs is a problem you should probably request a ground floor room. The location was good, in close proximity to shops and some restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Jackson
El Rancho Hotel
El Rancho Motel Jackson Hole, WY
Address: 240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — El Rancho Motel 1*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.