We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic older place, but comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Rancho Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added El Rancho Motel to your Saves list
El Rancho Motel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Jonesboro, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Basic older place, but comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We came to town in late August, which was a busy time in Jackson. Most places were full, so we ended up here. I didn't expect much from the outside appearance. Our room needed some updating, but was really clean. The beds were a bit soft, but were okay for my wife and I. Management was helpful in making suggestions on restaurants. Overall, we had a good stay and I wouldn't mind staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    29
    17
    14
See reviews for
13
48
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Koege, Denmark
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Sometimes I wonder what people expect from a "cheap" motel.
We expect clean rooms/beds, and internet. And this motel was all that and more... We had room 121 (as far as I can remember) - LARGE, 2 beds, nice bathroom, internet working perfect, parking just outside the door. Quite. Just outside our room - table with 4 chairs. Close to town. Park your car - walk to town, just perfect.
Would stay here again, if we ever come back to Jackson Hole

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife after arriving from the airport relatively late in Jackson Hole. The motel is very comfortable - we have no complaints. Staff were friendly, the room was clean, the location is fantastic and there is free internet. It's a good motel, perfect for a few nights on the road.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This is a throwback to the old style motels, but the location is great, just a couple of blocks from the Jackson town center, and everything works in the room. We had a large room with two queen beds. Lots of TV channels, Wireless internet was dependable and fast. Parked in front of the room. Refrigerator and microwave in the room allowed us to get most of our lunches and dinners at the wonderful Albertsons supermarket down the road a mile or two and eat at outdoor tables near our room. Small bathroom and shower, no tub. We stayed four nights and enjoyed our time here. Not like the chain hotels in other towns and cities, but fine, and location counts for a lot to us.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Jackson Hole is a tourist town. the El Rancho is not high class, if you want the best in JH then hit The Wort, a few blocks away. No, the El Rancho is a cheap place to sleep. Our room was on the first floor, our neighbors were fairly quiet. El Rancho is cheap and clean. The best part? El Rancho is within walking distance of everything downtown. We walked to dinner, a movie and breakfast. Jackson Hole can be a hot and bothersome place, but El Rancho provided us with a parking place downtown and a place to lay our head.

Room Tip: Next time I would ask for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Stayed overnight before heading to Yellowstone. Expected very basic motel, but it actually was not that bad. Small room, sink outside the bathroom, but ok for just one night (landed in Jackson late in the evening and headed to Yellowstone early next morning). Very basic breakfast included. I found it quite expensive for what it is, however it was one of the cheapest options in town for the July 4th long weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

El Rancho is in a great location and the rooms are spacious. However, avoid staying on the first floor of the two story building. The walls are thin and there is a lot of noise from upstairs and rooms next door. We barely slept.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Rancho Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Rancho Motel

Address: 240 N. Glenwood Drive, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — El Rancho Motel 1*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your El Rancho Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Rancho Hotel Jackson
El Rancho Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Rancho Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.