We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Privacy!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pony Express Motel to your Saves list
Pony Express Motel
1075 W Broadway, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Call 307-733-3835 to $AVE
Ranked #12 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“No Privacy!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2009

This hotel was scary. I had a first floor room and the mini blinds on the windows were very outdated and offered no privacy. As I walked down to the office I could see in every room on my way. I went outside my room and inspected mine as well and I could see everything going on in the room. Yes, the mini blinds were "closed". I had to hang my comforter up at the window. I hung towels at the window in the bathroom for privacy. The shower rod had a wash cloth hanging over it from the people before us. Gross!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
As new managers, we took these Trip Advisor reviews to heart and took immediate action. You were 100% correct. The upgraded improvement of new windows and screens on all the rooms was a big expense...one that deserves new blinds, as well. The mini-blinds you referred to have been replaced with 2" wood blinds on all the windows in all of the rooms. This not only provides total privacy, but they look 100% better, too! Thanks again for sharing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    111
    33
    11
    8
See reviews for
106
132
18
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2009

We loved our stay at this hotel. The room was clean, we had a kitchen that was stocked with all the essentials for us to feel at home - even a regular size coffee pot. The grounds were very well kept and even though it is in kind of a busy location, we did not
notice alot of noise from traffic.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

We booked this room several months in advance based upon your reviews and their website. Ownership must have changed since the positive reviews posted here. We went to check in only to find the pool in disrepair. The employees indicated the pool would be fixed tomorrow (Jul 2, '09). We did not believe them as the pool looked like it had not been used in weeks. We asked for their help in locating another motel with a working pool. They refused. The employees were very rude and hesitated in refunding our deposit. It was only after I threatened to contact my bank that they issued a full refund. There is nothing quiet about this location at a busy intersection with construction going on behind the building. The price is not right as they need to tear down this place and use the prime location on a busy intersection for a business that deserves to be located in the fabulous town of Jackson Hole, WY. The Pony Express Motel's website is very deceiving and we recommend taking one look at the place before making a reservation. We were lucky to find another hotel with vacancy in town prior to the Jul 4 holiday. Do yourself a favor and don't book any hotel based upon reviews here and a website.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PonyExpressJackson, Manager at Pony Express Motel, responded to this review, July 7, 2010
Wow. As new managers, the only thing we can say is that we wish your July 4th family vacation was booked this year instead of 2009! We are truly sorry your experience was so frustrating. We believe that "Clean and Friendly" goes a long way to customer satisfaction, but a non-working pool during the summer is completely unacceptable. The pool is sparkling blue and has been up and running since Memorial Day weekend of this summer. Further, new recliners, picnic tables with umbrellas and even a gas BBQ grill on the pool deck have been purchased so the pool area is really enticing on these hot summer days. The flowers, hanging baskets, a well-manicured lawn with a hammock that says "come relax on me" add to the guest experience. Again, we are truly sorry for your experience and would invite you back to give us a try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2009

For: Very clean. Full kitchen with supplies; all in good condition. Spacious room, considering all that's included. Large counter space for setting down all your stuff. Separate table and chairs. The bed was comfortable. All rooms are non-smoking. Friendly staff; felt they cared about their guests. Very inexpensive and a great value. The internet seemed to work well enough.
Against: no clock, no closet (there were posts for hanging your coats), nor a bathroom fan. The walls were a little thin; could hear people showering next door, although we didn't notice the traffic noise outside. It's a little further out of town; you might want to drive or take the shuttle rather than walk into town.
These are just piddly complaints; mostly we were impressed with how clean the room was, and we enjoyed the full kitchen, and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2008

We were welcomed by the owner and shown a pretty decent room with a double bed and bunk bed, fridge and microwave. In spite of being at a busy junction, we were not bothered by traffic noise. The next morning we were horrified to see our keys were locked in the car. The owner was very helpful and went over and above to see that we got our problem resolved. Had a great breakfast at Albertson's across the road. Location is a bit remote from the town centre, about a 10 minute drive.

  • Liked — Helpful owners
  • Disliked — Out of town centre
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the West
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We arrived in Jackson Hole with some car trouble. The motel host guided us to a great mechanic and gave us some pointers to make this little set back less frustrating.

The rooms were old but clean. Ours was very quiet---we had a fridge and a microwave as well. The motel is pet friendly, which we consider a blessing.

Nice place to stay with reasonable for Jackson rates.

  • Liked — Accomodating hosts who provide great customer service
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2008

The Pony Express Hotel is well located for access to the Grand Tetons. However it is right next to a major road junction which means you hear a lot of traffic noise, well into the evening/night and early morning. The hotel staff are friendly, but the hotel itself is in need of some updating with relatively limited electrics (insufficient convenient spare power points) that needs some maintenance (more than one was almost falling off the wall). Whilst the hotel's location is good for the visiting the Tetons, it's a bit too far out of town for easy access to town centre facilities without having to drive into town.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#10 Business Hotel in Jackson
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pony Express Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.