We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great find in jackson hole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pony Express Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pony Express Motel to your Saves list
Pony Express Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1075 W Broadway, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great find in jackson hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

we went leaf peeping through palisades, id on the way to Jackson hole. palisade area has the most beautiful leaves. we had passed pony express numerous times concerned over noise at the y intersection where it sits but we tried it. nice bed with bonus bunkbeds, large closet, fridge & microwave. the bathroom area was small but honestly, how much time do you spend in the bathroom. the hosts were awesome even showing us the room & asking if there was anything we needed & inviting us back. buddy, the office dog is very sweet & helps lessens puppy withdrawal. our concern about traffic noise was unfounded & short walk to sidewinders, a great local watering hole. oh yeah, we'll be back!

Room Tip: downstairs room can hear upstairs guests walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank julie v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marana, Arizona
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you check the prices for hotels in Jackson, you'll find that most of them are double the price. Pony Express is a little out of town, but still very convenient for getting into town and also for getting into the Grand Teton National Park. The owners are very helpful and friendly. The rooms and not first class, but they are clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We reserved this motel on internet in July for our Sept. Yellowstone trip. When we saw it was on a very busy intersection we were worried. It is very old, noisy, smelly and the bathroom flooring was
not level. The second night I ask for a lighted candle so we would not smell whatever it was.

The bright-side was a full kitchen and a nice outside pool. Pricing was reasonable 140.00 with comfy king bed.

Room Tip: Do not get room 20! Hope the other rooms are fresh smelling and the flooring is level. The manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetpeacalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

When I was looking for lodging in Jackson, I was worried because all the downtown hotels cost at least $300.00 a night. I was pleased to find the Pony Express at half that price. When checking in the gracious lady at the front desk (so sorry, I've forgotten your name) offered to make dinner reservations. I took her up on her offer, since we did want to eat a specific place, and the town seemed crowded. She led me to our room, deemed a "family" room, which had a bunk bed set and what was described as a double bed, but I think it was a queen. We loved our room, and the location was ideal for getting on the road east the next day. Don't let the downtown prices scare you, this place is a wonderful place to stay, and it only takes a couple of minutes to drive back downtown!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwithaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights and were not disappointed. The location is just a couple minutes down the road from downtown Jackson, but there are also a number of restaurants and stores even closer. We took a rafting trip and the office where we met up for the trip was not far at all from the hotel either. The grocery store across the street is within walking distance. The staff at checkin and checkout were friendly and made us feel welcome. The exterior of the property is well-maintained and the room appeared to be clean, but the bed was not very comfortable and overall I thought that maybe the room could stand to be spruced up just a bit. I would recommend a second-floor room because we were on the ground floor and I was awoken on both nights by the footsteps of the folks staying above us. Overall, at the price we paid, I'm not sure that I would call it a good value, but notwithstanding the price I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcvan1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Enjoyed a three day stay at Pony Express. The hospitality and room were excellent. A clean, pleasant experience for a fair value. Will definitely consider for future trips.
The location is adjacent to numerous attractions and conveniently located off the highway. The owners were helpful and offered suggestions for local businesses.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, IA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

When our plan for a week in Estes Park, CO/RMNP had to be changed at the last minute, we were delighted to have Pony Express Motel recommended as a good place to stay. We were not disappointed with our 5-night stay as we explored Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks. Our queen unit had a full kitchen with a dishwasher. When we arrived we were made to feel welcome and escorted to our room. It was on the second level and faced the road. There was a minimum of traffic noise although the intersection is a busy one. There is plenty of space in the cupboards for your groceries and several hooks to hang your clothes on with a bench beneath for putting packs, purses, etc. on. The vanity in the bathroom had storage space for makeup bags and other essentials. There was only a small round table with a couple of hotel stye chairs, but there was a nice breakfast bar with 3 stools for eating. There are plenty of outlets to recharge all of your electronic devices. Although the space was on the small side, I found plenty of space where I could tuck things away, so they weren't underfoot. There is a large grocery store across the road for stocking up on supplies.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marsha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.1 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.9 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#10 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#19 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#3 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rustic Inn Creekside Resort and Spa at Jackson Hole
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pony Express Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pony Express Motel

Address: 1075 W Broadway, PO Box 6285, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Pony Express Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pony Express Motel in beautiful Jackson Hole, WY! Stay with us and enjoy old west hospitality. We offer a friendly, down-home welcome and clean, comfortable rooms. Nothing fancy...just a price that's fair and square in a prime location just minutes from world-renowned attractions. We are committed to providing all of our guests with a warm and inviting atmosphere so you can relax and enjoy your stay in Jackson. We look forward to welcoming you. Have a safe trip...see you soon! PS: Ask about our weekly and monthly winter rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Pony Express Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pony Express Hotel Jackson
Pony Express Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing