We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic motel room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anvil Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Anvil Motel to your Saves list
Anvil Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   215 N. Cache St., Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Paris, France
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Basic motel room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nigths at this hotel last September when travelling through Grand Teton National Park as a couple.

The small motel room was basic but big enough and the bed was comfortable.

Breakfast in the lobby was adequate but a bit drap (retailed muffins, tasteless apples and some yogurts). No seating.

The only two really annoying things were:
1- the only electric sockets in the room are old and nothing modern fits and stays plugged in. This includes the room TV, so they must be aware...
2- the shower head is really really low. I'm 6ft1 and could just about wet my armpits. That would still be high enough if the actual shower cabin was a bit bigger... but unfortunately not.

Bear in mind though that Jackson is an expensive place, and you probably won't find anything much better for the price.

Service was friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowwisps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I recently stayed 4 nights at the El Rancho in Jackson and it was as I expected. This is what I would term an "old style" motel which means you can drive right up to your front door and walk in. If you want large rooms and frills then this is not the place for you. I stayed here for under $100 per night since I planned a few months in advance so that is as good as it gets in Jackson and it provided all I wanted. The property is located in a great location within walking distance of everything in the heart of Jackson. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Most of the recent reviews have seemed a little non-plussed about Anvil, but I was pleasantly surprised. I only intended on staying in Jackson Hole for 1 night and expected to arrive late so figured a cheaper option in the centre of town would be best and Anvil seemed to fit the bill.

Location
When we arrived I was happy to see just how close to the main area the motel was, as others have said very short walk to the main square with all the shops, restaurants and bars close by.
Short drive up to see the Tetons and the 42 mile loop road.

Room
The first room we were put in had no light coming in the windows but a quick word with the very friendly reception staff got us moved to a much brighter room facing the main parking lot.
The bed was comfy and room clean, equipped with tv, microwave, fridge, iron and kettle.

Overall I was really impressed with the motel, its considered 2* on some sites I've seen and with the cheap price (compared with other Jackson hotels) I was expecting the worst but got a lot, lot more than I bargained for. On a longer stay I'd be hard pushed to find a reason not to once again stay at Anvil Motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarryBarnstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Anvil Motel was for one night. Room was small, but clean, with frig and micro. Bad thing was free wifi advertised, but never could get on. Reception said evening was really busy for computers, so try later. Tried later, no luck, tried at 5 AM, shouldn't have been busy then, but couldn't get on. Snacky things for breakfast, okay. Really good location for downtown activities. Staff didn't know much about surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dincaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the El Rancho for three nights in September 2012 and it was a basic stay. Our room was sufficiently large with two queen beds and a basic, but older bathroom. Service to our room during the stay was minimal, but we did receive new towels each day. No evidence of vacuuming, however. "Continental breakfast" was a half block away at another motel, the Anvil, and the small office area was crowded and hectic, and the choice was coffee and a packaged muffin: no fruit, no cereal, no juice, no milk. The location of the motel was fine - quite close to restaurants and shopping and the downtown square and nicely walkable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank donlin67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This motel was a good value and location was near everything in Jackson. It was clean and a basic room for the night. We stayed here so we could do Grand Teton NP and also tour Idaho. The young girl behind the desk was very helpful answering any questions we had. We stayed in September so air conditioning wasn't an issue. Continential breakfast was basic but fine. We were happy with this motel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank letsdotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We chose this as a one night stay before flying home. It is in town and is cheaper than most hotels. Since we were only sleeping here before going home we didn't want to pay the inflated prices of other hotels.

The room was larger than the sister hotel's, (Anvil Motel). It was quiet old. When we came back from dinner and entered our room there was a strong septic smell. We could not identify the source. It dissapated, but we noticed it again during the night.

We had to leave for the airport early in the morning in the dark and there were no outside lights to help us see down the stairs. (There is no elevator) Fortunately we had brought flashlights.

Room was larger than the one we had in the Anvil the week before. In the morning I noticed that there were stains on the top sheet of my bed. I was to tired the night before to see them.

It is convenient for walking around town, but very old, not well maintained. The deck on the second story was sagging and dead bugs in the overhead light fixture over the table.

Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you go get a room on the second floor. Beware... they turn off the outside lights during the nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katkin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
1.2 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.2 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#19 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#11 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wort Hotel
The Wort Hotel
#5 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lexington at Jackson Hole Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anvil Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anvil Motel

Address: 215 N. Cache St., Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Anvil Motel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Anvil Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anvil Motel Jackson Hole, WY
Anvil Hotel Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing