We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rawhide Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rawhide Motel
Save
You added Rawhide Motel to your Saves list
75 South Millward, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice friendly place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The Rawhide Motel is an older motel, very conveniently located, and not as expensive as many of the motels in the area. Not sure if the lady at the desk was the owner, or not, but she seemed to live in quarters behind the check in desk. Very friendly and helpful, both on the phone when I made the reservation, and in person! The hotel is a little dated; nice western furniture in log theme; overall clean but not spotless; found popcorn under the stand by the bed (not ours!!). But the carpet felt clean on my feet, and the bathroom and bedding were very clean! There is no microwave in the room, but you can use the one in the check in area. Has a fridge and flatscreen TV. Bed/pillows very comfortable ; nice linen, clean! Towels were thin and bathroom dated; sink outside bathroom, which is a plus! Had fridge and coffee pot in room, ice easily accessible. There is no breakfast included, but many places close by. Overall, a nice place to stay. We were on 2nd floor, where there is a balcony across the front with chairs outside each room. Pleasant to sit out there in the evening until the mosquitos come out!! We don't spend much time in hotel rooms, mainly to shower and sleep, and unwind an hour or so before bed. This met our needs nicely...and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    41
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
25
46
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Let's start by dispensing with the hyperbolae. Yes I gave the Rawhide 5 Stars. Is it the Four Seasons? No. Were there mints on the pillows when we checked in? No. Will my family continue to return and stay at the Rawhide whenever we visit Jackson? Absolutely.
There are no frills about the Rawhide so if that is what you are looking for than I'd suggest looking elsewhere and be prepared to pay for it. If you are visting Jackson and the Parks then a place to lay your head should be your biggest concern as you'll be out having adventures most of your visit. For the price the Rawhide is a steal.
As the other reviews have stated, the rooms are big, the motel is very close to downtown, and Dinah, the manager is friendly and welcoming.
What I liked most about the Rawhide was the variety of clientele who were staying there. There were hikers like my wife and me, families visiting the park, older folks on a tour of the west, Harley riders, and everything in between. Everyone we met was so nice and had a story to tell. One night there was an older gentleman and his wife sitting outside and he was making little figurines out of wire coat hangers and giving them to people who passed by. Dinah would come out of the office every night and speak to the guests who were sitting out in front of their room. It really felt like home.
I felt safe there and I felt like my car was safe in the parking lot. Jackson really gets quiet after sunset.
Many guests did like to sit out in front of their room and enjoy a cigarette and maybe a beer in the evening. If this is a turn off to you then either be prepared or look elsewhere, but we stayed in two different rooms (two nights at the beginning of our trip and 3 nights at the end) and each room was very clean and we never smelled smoke.
For our last night, we wanted to see the sunset over the Tetons but did not want to drive all the way back up to the park. Dinah suggest a dirt road on the far side of the Elk Refuge just minutes from town and it was ideal. It's like she shared a secret spot with us that we will go to every time we return.
We booked in January and got a great price and when we were forced to come down off of the Grand Teton one day early due to weather, Dinah was able to book us a room with no issues.
I highly recommend the Rawhide if you are looking for a comfortable, convenient, friendly place to stay in Jackson at a very affordable rate. We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Usually I like to stay on the first floor as close to my car as possible, but the second floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We were staying two nights in Jackson so I was looking for location and price. We had a lot planned so just needed a place to sleep and be able to walk where we needed to go. When I called to book the room I noticed the best price was on the basement rooms. Never heard of a basement room at a motel but took a chance due to the price. It is exactly like staying at your aunt's house in the basement. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was not large but was just fine. It worked out great for us because it was quiet and darker then most motel rooms. If you are looking for a room with a view or don't like stairs, this is not for you. The motel does not have food but is located near lots of places to eat. The manager was very nice and made some good suggestions for places to eat or things to do.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reidsville
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We loved our stay in the Rawhide Motel. It was clean, convenient, cute and close to all the main attractions in the heart of town. We parked our van and did not move it for anything. Dinah was so pleasant and so willing to advise on local venues. Our rooms were Western Themed and really cute, the beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and we enjoyed the little balcony for people-watching. We walked to the Million Dollar Saloon, walked to Bubba's Barbeque, and walked to all the shops. We felt this was a true bargain, as compared to comparable hotels in the area. This was truly a great find.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnstown, Pennslyvania
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The rooms are very clean and spacious. The manager allowed us to check in early so we could park and enjoy the town. You are able to walk to anywhere in Jackson where parking is very limited. The Manager was very friendly and helpful. We spent the evening sitting in lawn chairs watching the world go by. We were so glad we chose to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Staying in Jackson Hole can be expensive but not if you discover this hidden gem. Definitely a 60's style motel that is very clean and has been well maintained. Updated tv's, and a small fridge are a nice touch. The bathroom is smaller than newer style hotels but are more than adequate. The rooms are large, beds are comfortable. We stayed on the ground floor and had no issues. Another review mentioned motorcycle noise, be aware that its kiddie corner from the Harley store so there will be bikes coming and going. We don't sleep in, I suspect that may have been the issue with that reviewer. The on site manager Dinah was more than helpful with suggestions for good casual local dining. The location cannot be beat as you are 2 blocks from the town square.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayre, PA
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our 3- night stay in a spacious room with pine furniture. It was nice to be able to open the window a bit at night but street is very noisy early morning we found. Nice easy walk into town from the motel. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rawhide Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rawhide Motel

Address: 75 South Millward, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Rawhide Motel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rawhide Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.