We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Good value, but a bit dated - would stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Painted Buffalo Inn to your Saves list
Painted Buffalo Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Fairmount, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, Good value, but a bit dated - would stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Nice clean big rooms with mini-fridge and micro-wave. Just blocks away from downtown - so great location. My boys enjoyed the indoor pool. I would have rated this hotel higher but the furniture and shower was a bit dated.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you so much for your candor! We are glad that the location and pool were bright spots. Thank you for helping us improve with your room upgrade suggestions. We hope to have you back soon to provide you with another fun experience and a sparkling room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    97
    110
    45
    44
See reviews for
121
140
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Filthy, over-prized, sheets aren't clean, smelly, to bad in this beautiful area. The room is old, the sheets and towels aren't clean, let's find out what the facilities will bring. I would advice you to stay somewhere else and enjoy grand teton and Yellowstone.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for this review. While it's not fun to hear that we didn't live up to your (or our) expectations, it will make us better to know it. We will share this with our housekeeping staff. As you can see by most of our reviews, your experience was not typical. However, we need to be mindful that even if we clean 98 rooms very well, the two that were not thoroughly cleaned mean that two guests have a less than great stay. And our goal is 100%. Please feel free to contact us directly to talk more. It is our intention to make sure that you feel taken care of, and want to come back to us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The hotel was a bit run down and staff seemed to be overwhelmed with the amount of business in the hotel. We had booked and paid in advance for two days at this hotel. It was close to the city center and we could walked to downtown. Unfortunately, after enjoying the town the first day we came back to a locked hotel room. They stated we had only paid for one night. However my reservation paperwork clearly showed two night. Still disputing the charge with my credit card company.
Breakfast was offisite in a small restaurant and average. It was extremely close quarters with people running into each other. Parking lot was crowded and you could not park near your room.

Room Tip: Upstairs and in the back are probably you best bet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are very sorry that your stay was not what you expected. We are a very popular destination, and it can be quite busy in the summer months and sometimes everything seems to happen at once. We apologize if the staff gave you the impression that they were overwhelmed but we appreciate the feedback so we can work to improve! We are not sure exactly what happened with the confusion regarding your reservation. Sometimes when guests go through a third party when booking it can be difficult to trace where the miscommunication occurred. Again, thank you for your comments and we will continue to strive a for a positive customer experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peosta, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The reviews were good so we thought it would be nice, this place was a dump, the only motel I was disappointed in our entire trip bc it had the best reviews, No hot tub, supposedly a heated pool but it wasn't even warm, sauna didn't work for half the day & when it did it was barley warm. no room to walk around pool or sit so if kids are playing then you will get splashed! room was on 1st floor, not clean, door stuck, we were down any alley in a covered area, very creepy, and whatever they were cooking at the restaurant they own smelled so we had that all night. we asked for a roll out bed but they should have told us is does not fit in the room, that's right it will not fit in the room, (all other places have room for them), phone did not work, I had to go to the office to tell them phone didn't work & request the bed I paid for & the lady tried to charge me again for the bed, when the guy came he "fixed" the phone. At 11 oclock at night the door was stuck, not only stuck but we had to use our body weight to pull it open, I walked outside and my kids locked the chain, not knowing this I had to force my way into the stuck door and took the chain right out of the wall, I tried calling, actually I tried calling the front desk 5 times, the phone still didn't work so I used my cell phone and the desk clerk knew I had tried calling, (why wouldn't they come and check if something was wrong?) They did offer to send someone down but there maintenance staff doesn't speak English & I don't speak Spanish so there was no point in that, of course the next morning I called and the manager was not available so someone came down & of course the door opened fine since it was no longer humid. said sorry, sorry for the sleepless night and the worry that we would not be able to get out or that someone would get in since oh by the way none of the dead bolts would latch so all we had was the handle lock. we stayed in room 112, I doubt they fixed anything as I don't think they believed us. I would never stay again EVER! when someone else uses a shower or toilet in another area you will get burned! Parking is not great AT ALL, half the parking was blocked off.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY in room 112! Door sticks and phone doesn't work! Down creepy hall way & very unc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
We are so sorry to hear about this. We absolutely NEVER want a guest experiencing such unpleasantness during their stay. You should get to enjoy a restful night in a very clean room. We are also so sorry that these issues were not handled to your expectations during your stay. We DO care and we can assure you the issues in your room were addressed immediately. We have managers on property on a daily basis, and on call 24 hours a day to take care of anything we can for you! We appreciate you letting us know about these problems so we can try to prevent them for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights here as our base for travel to Yellowstone. Older hotel but nice. Staff was friendly and helpful if we needed directions. Lots of families here so a bit noisy. Proximity to downtown was great - about a 3 block walk. Don't miss the rodeo in town - that was about a 5 block walk. Nice town but overpriced at restaurants

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a great stay and found our property to be convenient and the staff friendly. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buna, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed here one night (two rooms) last month on a motorcycle trip. Rolled into town with no reservations and finally found a vacancy here after stopping a 3 other motels. It is pricey, but the cost was in line with the other places we stopped at first. We didn't really have any complaints about the place, it was clean with good beds and within waling distance to the the square in Jackson. We had intentions of camping anyway, but knew we would need a motel the first night as we would be arriving late, and the Painted Buffalo met our needs for that. If you must stay in Jackson, I would recommend this motel. We left the next day for Victor Idaho, about 45 min west, and stayed in Cabins at the Teton Valley RV Park. Anyone interested can look up my review for that, they were excellent and a huge discount over the motels in Jackson.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your candor! We are glad that the location and the rooms were bright spots. You are right in that we are competitively priced within the market of Jackson. Though it sounds like you visited us in our busy season, we do have many off season specials. We hope to have you back soon to provide you with another fun experience and a comfortable room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

When I started doing research for hotels in this area, I came across The Painted Buffalo. I thought, really? I looked up some reviews and thought they seemed to be mostly positive, so why not?

The reviews are right. The staff here are extremely friendly and helpful. When we got to our room, the front desk even called us to see if everything was OK.

About the hotel. It's an older type building with exterior walkways, but the rooms are really nice and clean with the modern type card keys. You can tell that they put a lot of effort into updating and upkeeping this place. Our room had a refrigerator and microwave which is always a plus for me. The parking is a little limited, so they gave me a heads up that it's best to park early and walk to everything. The hotel is right at the edge of town and walking to everything is easy. In fact, even if I could drive it, I wouldn't because you are right there! An old movie theatre is literally across the street. The Post Office a block away and a neat little ski resort type town is fun to walk around in. The rooms has these cute stuffed buffaloes on the beds and desk that you could purchase. But be sure to lock your doors when leaving as I have been warned that should those buffaloes walk off after you leave, you will be charged for them!

OK, now the negatives. Noise was a factor! This hotel caters to GROUPS that arrives in bus loads (Greyhound type buses) and they are early birds. They kept getting us up around 4:30 in the mornings by dragging their bags down the stairs and listening to the bags crash on each stairs, then dragging those darn bags right by our room. The bathroom fans are loud. I woke up in the dead of night because a loud buzzing noise started up by our bathroom. Well, it wasn't our bathroom but our upstairs early birds.

Continental breakfast, line was too crowded and time allotted is too short. Only 2 hours. On checkout, there was a surprise resort fee! It was a minor amount, but did not appreciate the surprise. And last, once you make a res, the first night is non-refundable, irregardless!!! Read the fine print!!

Room Tip: Get a room upstairs on second floor to avoid some noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! We appreciate the positive feedback, and we are also grateful to hear the not-so-great about the noise as well. We do try to do frequent property walks to minimize noise in the walkways, but as summer continues we will rededicate ourselves to this. We appreciate the comments about breakfast and will use your feedback to remind our staff to make sure they are letting everyone know the breakfast hours are actually 6am-9am during our summer months! Finally, we will make sure the staff is reminding everyone that the cancellation processing fee is only 10% of the first night if it is cancelled outside of 48 hours prior to the arrival date. It is only the entire first night if cancelled the day of, or the day before the arrival date. Thanks for choosing us for your stay and we will continually use customer feedback to improve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Painted Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
#8 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Buffalo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.