We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Save Saved
You added Painted Buffalo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Painted Buffalo Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We didn't want to break the bank when we booked a hotel in Jackson so we chose the Painted Buffalo. It was better than I expected. While the rooms are only average they were large (we had a king with a couch). We did not have a separate balcony. However, there were park benches outside the rooms which allowed us to enjoy the beautiful evening and talk to other guests.The staff was very friendly and answered all our questions. We were able to easily walk into town and to restaurants. Breakfast was included in the price. It wasn't gourmet - mostly cereal and packaged baked goods - but still satisfied our needs.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! I am glad you found us to be convenient and friendly. While we are aiming for five stars, I am happy that you could give us four. We will continually use customer feedback to improve and go for five!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    84
    101
    42
    41
See reviews for
113
124
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked on a whim, as we entered the town as they were 'pet friendly'. Well I posted the pic of the pet area. Our a/c was broken when we got the room, called it in and it got 'fixed'. An hour later we were sweating. tried opening the window, but the road noise was just as bad and our 8 month old had aleady fallen asleep. Went to the service desk and nobody there. Needless to say, when it cooled off at around 4 am we got some sleep on the terrible pillows. Tried to see if they would make it right in the morning and they waived the $2 resort fee. Our day to Yellowstone is ruined and so frustrated I'm writing this in their parking lot...GO Elsewhere!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry that your stay was so uncomfortable. It is always our goal to fix any problems immediately so that you can enjoy your stay. In reviewing your reservation I do see the front desk did make several attempts to try and rectify the issues that occurred while you were staying with us. In light of the fact that you were still uncomfortable, I also see the front desk waived not only the resort fee and the pet fee, they also offered you a discount for the inconveniences you experienced. Again I apologize that this was not satisfactory. We do so hope you were still able to enjoy some of your trip to our beautiful country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this property on our trip to Jackson and the Tetons. The room was a little small, but we were able to manage. The location of our room was off Pearl St, so we were able to bypass the construction on Broadway. Parking was ok unless there was a tour bus or three in the parking lot. We were able to walk everywhere downtown with no problems. I would recommend just paying for breakfast somewhere else unless you just want cereal, boiled eggs and toast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the review! While we are aiming for five stars, I am happy that you could give us four. We will continually use customer feedback to improve and go for five! We are a very popular destination, and it can sometimes be quite busy with tour buses but interestingly enough we find that we have easier accessibility for parking when we have a tour bus that may take 4 or 5 parking spots but may use 20 rooms. We do have also have many overflow parking areas available which we will make sure the front desk makes all of our guests aware of. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to host you on your next stay in Jackson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordova, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice. The beds were comfortable. It was withing walking distance to the quaint town square. It was a very enjoyable trip. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is great to hear your stay was enjoyable. We are constantly striving to provide a great experience for our guests and it is fantastic to hear about it when we succeed. We hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were heading out of Yellowstone so we did a quick search for available hotels in Jackson Hole and the Painted Buffalo came up. Once I called and booked, I was told that we were the very last room- they were now at full occupancy. Rooms were dated but very clean, so this we could handle. The problem came when people directly upstairs returned... The walls and floors are extremely thin (meaning you hear people walk, you hear people go to the bathroom :(, you hear people snore... You get where I am going) the entire night, we did not sleep for more than an hour at a time. I went to the office in the morning and the supervisor told me that I should have said something (I.e. use the emergency phone number) during the evening because they would have refunded us (remember they were at full occupancy) and allowed us to find another hotel. Really??? At 1 AM in the morning? I asked to speak with a manager (the supervisor was really nice and apologetic) and I was told the manager had "no set hours"? We stopped in for the continental breakfast- was disgusting. The manager finally got up with us hours later and offered 30 percent... So they attempted to resolve the issue. Quite frankly, I just wanted a good nights sleep. I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry that your stay was so uncomfortable.We are a very popular destination, and it can sometimes be quite busy. We do try to keep hallway noise and activity to a minimum the best we can. I regret that other guests were not as considerate as we would hope during your stay. While we certainly appreciate feedback to help us improve any time we receive it, we especially like to be made aware of any problems as they happen so that we can fix them and give you an enjoyable stay. We have managers on property on a daily basis, and on call 24 hours a day to take care of anything we can for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
txwanab
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Room seemed a little older & in need of updating. Bathrooms. Re tiny. Not worth the $100 price I paid. On a busy street but surprisingly quiet. Road work going on in front of it. Mexican restaurant directly in front so u can easily walk across the street. Not giving enough info at check in. Had no idea there was a restaurant on the back of the property called "Betty Rock". We may have eaten there. It was the location of the hotels continental breakfast. The breakfast was the best part. We visited the indoor pool which was very clean. They have a sauna that u can adjust ur self. Wifi connection was terrible.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room might be to go somewhere else. If not then stay on the front near the office &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts. We always appreciate feedback and we are happy to say that we have recently completed a hotel wide upgrade- updating many features of the rooms, the amenities and our Wi-Fi routers. Thank you for your comments about checkin, we always strive to give our guests as much info as we can and we will keep working on that. We hope you have another opportunity to visit our great little town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very neat & clean. Room was of average size & looked freshly painted. Beds were great. Continental breakfast was basic breads, cereals & beverages but not much else. There was one coin operated laundry machine for entire hotel inside a closet-size room. We got lucky as another guest was just removing their clothes upon our arrival. Hotel is right downtown which is great for going on a walk around this Western style tourist town. Staff recommended what turned out to be an excellent BBQ place just a couple doors down. Great location but WAY too pricey @ $160 for just an average, typical hotel room. Would stay here again unless I couldn't find a cheaper hotel in the area. Sept.2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking some time to leave us some feedback. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to make some good reccommendations for you. It sounds like we need to do a better job with communicating all of our amenities to our guests though as we do actually have two guest laundry facilities on our property. We apologize that you were not made aware of this during your stay. We recognize that the competive prcing in Jackson can be quite high everywhere during our peak season but we just wanted remind you that we have some great off season specials and Jackson is a wonderful place to visit in October and throughout the winter. We hope you have the chance to visit us again in the futre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Painted Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Despegar.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Buffalo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;