We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Painted Buffalo Inn to your Saves list
Painted Buffalo Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Louisville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at this property on our trip to Jackson and the Tetons. The room was a little small, but we were able to manage. The location of our room was off Pearl St, so we were able to bypass the construction on Broadway. Parking was ok unless there was a tour bus or three in the parking lot. We were able to walk everywhere downtown with no problems. I would recommend just paying for breakfast somewhere else unless you just want cereal, boiled eggs and toast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breck70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for the review! While we are aiming for five stars, I am happy that you could give us four. We will continually use customer feedback to improve and go for five! We are a very popular destination, and it can sometimes be quite busy with tour buses but interestingly enough we find that we have easier accessibility for parking when we have a tour bus that may take 4 or 5 parking spots but may use 20 rooms. We do have also have many overflow parking areas available which we will make sure the front desk makes all of our guests aware of. Again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to host you on your next stay in Jackson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cordova, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice. The beds were comfortable. It was withing walking distance to the quaint town square. It was a very enjoyable trip. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: I doubt there are any bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review! It is great to hear your stay was enjoyable. We are constantly striving to provide a great experience for our guests and it is fantastic to hear about it when we succeed. We hope to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We were heading out of Yellowstone so we did a quick search for available hotels in Jackson Hole and the Painted Buffalo came up. Once I called and booked, I was told that we were the very last room- they were now at full occupancy. Rooms were dated but very clean, so this we could handle. The problem came when people directly upstairs returned... The walls and floors are extremely thin (meaning you hear people walk, you hear people go to the bathroom :(, you hear people snore... You get where I am going) the entire night, we did not sleep for more than an hour at a time. I went to the office in the morning and the supervisor told me that I should have said something (I.e. use the emergency phone number) during the evening because they would have refunded us (remember they were at full occupancy) and allowed us to find another hotel. Really??? At 1 AM in the morning? I asked to speak with a manager (the supervisor was really nice and apologetic) and I was told the manager had "no set hours"? We stopped in for the continental breakfast- was disgusting. The manager finally got up with us hours later and offered 30 percent... So they attempted to resolve the issue. Quite frankly, I just wanted a good nights sleep. I do not recommend this place.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shorething85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry that your stay was so uncomfortable.We are a very popular destination, and it can sometimes be quite busy. We do try to keep hallway noise and activity to a minimum the best we can. I regret that other guests were not as considerate as we would hope during your stay. While we certainly appreciate feedback to help us improve any time we receive it, we especially like to be made aware of any problems as they happen so that we can fix them and give you an enjoyable stay. We have managers on property on a daily basis, and on call 24 hours a day to take care of anything we can for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jackson hotels

txwanab
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Room seemed a little older & in need of updating. Bathrooms. Re tiny. Not worth the $100 price I paid. On a busy street but surprisingly quiet. Road work going on in front of it. Mexican restaurant directly in front so u can easily walk across the street. Not giving enough info at check in. Had no idea there was a restaurant on the back of the property called "Betty Rock". We may have eaten there. It was the location of the hotels continental breakfast. The breakfast was the best part. We visited the indoor pool which was very clean. They have a sauna that u can adjust ur self. Wifi connection was terrible.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room might be to go somewhere else. If not then stay on the front near the office &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank txwanab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts. We always appreciate feedback and we are happy to say that we have recently completed a hotel wide upgrade- updating many features of the rooms, the amenities and our Wi-Fi routers. Thank you for your comments about checkin, we always strive to give our guests as much info as we can and we will keep working on that. We hope you have another opportunity to visit our great little town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign-Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Very neat & clean. Room was of average size & looked freshly painted. Beds were great. Continental breakfast was basic breads, cereals & beverages but not much else. There was one coin operated laundry machine for entire hotel inside a closet-size room. We got lucky as another guest was just removing their clothes upon our arrival. Hotel is right downtown which is great for going on a walk around this Western style tourist town. Staff recommended what turned out to be an excellent BBQ place just a couple doors down. Great location but WAY too pricey @ $160 for just an average, typical hotel room. Would stay here again unless I couldn't find a cheaper hotel in the area. Sept.2012

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for staying with us and taking some time to leave us some feedback. We are happy to hear that our staff was able to make some good reccommendations for you. It sounds like we need to do a better job with communicating all of our amenities to our guests though as we do actually have two guest laundry facilities on our property. We apologize that you were not made aware of this during your stay. We recognize that the competive prcing in Jackson can be quite high everywhere during our peak season but we just wanted remind you that we have some great off season specials and Jackson is a wonderful place to visit in October and throughout the winter. We hope you have the chance to visit us again in the futre!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

The Painted Buffalo is not fancy, but it is very clean, reasonably priced, and conveniently located. It's a great value if you are trying to keep costs down on a Jackson Hole ski trip. The bus to Teton Village stops right outside the hotel. The staff is courteous and friendly and is willing to go out of their way to provide the kind of information a traveler needs. They have these stuffed buffalo toys in the rooms and that is kind of cute. The continental breakfast in the lobby is nothing spectacular, but there is a great coffee and bagel place a couple of blocks away that is a good place to start the day. The Painted Buffalo a great value, and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms seem quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runnerskier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
We are excited you enjoyed your stay at the Painted Buffalo and even more excited that our staff was able to meet your expectations during your stay. We strive to provide a memorable experience for all our guests and it is great to hear that we succeeded in your case. We hope you have the chance to visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The motel is quite outdated. Our room was clean and the price was right. It is located within walking distance to downtown. There are boardwalks around the exterior so you can hear people walking around outside. The pool was detached, but was in good condition. If I stay again, I will bring earplugs.

Room Tip: The parking is limited, so be prepared to walk to your room unless you ask for one with parking just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svv5087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you for taking some time to leave your thoughts about our hotel. We are currently upgrading all our guestrooms and we hope you have an opportunity to visit our lovely town of Jackson and experience our newly renovated property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.9 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.1 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#11 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parkway Inn
Parkway Inn
#6 of 41 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 468 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ranch Inn
Ranch Inn
#19 of 41 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#30 of 41 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 stars 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Painted Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing