We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to focus on keeping the pool working vs selling stuffed animals lol” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Save Saved
You added Painted Buffalo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Painted Buffalo Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save 5%!
Ranked #32 of 40 hotels in Jackson
Driggs, Idaho
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Needs to focus on keeping the pool working vs selling stuffed animals lol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is an affordable place to stay in town. The staff is friendly enough, and it is pet friendly with an additional fee. My only complaints were that the pool heater was not working, but there was no signage indicating this. Someone who didn’t know better could have jumped into a 65 degree pool (yes 65!) when we were already experiencing below 0 weather that weekend. Also, we would not have ventured over there at all w/our toddler, had we be told the pool heater was broken bc it was way too cold for him to handle. That would have been nice to avoid quite a meltdown. There are numerous other facilities in town w/a pool and we would have changed our accommodation or at the very least avoided the pool. I think this is the reason why it wasn’t mentioned when making a reservation or checking in though - to avoid cancellations.
They are also trying to sell stuffed animals by leaving a stuffed buffalo in each room. We didn’t have one, and I reported this so we wouldn’t be charged, but frankly I’m glad we didn’t have one in the room. I know it’s a nice sentiment w/higher end hotels if you have a turn down service (ie remove the animal off the bed). But frankly I find it a little gross that you have a stuffed animal that has been handed down from customer to customer, slept on by numerous people, perhaps played with by animals, dropped on the floor etc.) How do you clean and sanitize this from customer to customer if it isn’t bought?
Anyway, overall it’s a decently priced modest hotel located centrally between Broadway and Pearl w/easy access to restaurants etc.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us this winter and taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate the feedback about the pool and we will look for better ways to communicate unexpected maintenance situations that may occur back to our guests. We apologize that you felt you were not given the correct information. We also appreciate your thoughts about the toy buffaloes. We find that the majority of our guests enjoy the buffaloes and are excited for the opportunity to purchase a small souvenir from Jackson in a convenient and inexpensive way, but we certainly like to hear all points of view. We hope you have the opportunity to visit us again in the future as our pool temperature is maintaining a comfortable 82 degrees!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    83
    98
    41
    41
See reviews for
108
121
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

Don't let the front office deceive you, the motel itself is not that nice. The room looked and smelled old. There were stains on the walls from an unknown decade. There are other motels/cabins in town for the same money that are much, much, much nicer.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. We take all comments and opinions seriously and we have great news! - We are in the process of upgrading all of our hotel rooms and we have every confidence that all the issues you mentioned in your review will be addressed. We are pleased to be able to implement this renovation and still offer a moderate and competitive rate for the Jackson market. We hope you have another chance to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Clean, comfortable, and very convenient location a short stroll into town. Breakfast was just ok, I wish they didnt use polystyrene cups and paper plates. If you have children, be warned that the cuddly toy buffalo on each bed is not a free gift and you may well feel obliged to buy one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for taking some time to leave your thoughts about our property. We are glad to hear your stay was comfortable. Thank you for your comments about the cups and plates. We do try to find ways to lessen our carbon footprint but we are limited by supplier availability in Jackson. Other ways we are environmentally friendly though include our soap recycling program, our linen conservation programs and our energy saving lights. In the future we will continue to expand our "Green" policies. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Room 240. Highs: reliable hot shower and bath, hairdryer, table and chairs, great wi-fi, good heating unit, fridge, microwave, pleasant reception staff, very clean, masses of space around sink for toiletries, good choice at breakfast. Lows: the room smelled ‘old’ which was only noticeable when we came in from the outside, the toilet/rest room door opened in a slightly awkward place, and a maintenance man didn’t believe us that the hairdryer kept cutting out just because it worked when he tested it (but he did replace it). Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We really appreciate that you chose to stay with us at the Painted Buffalo Inn and that you took the time to leave us some feedback about the hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. Thank you for your comments about the smell and the bathroom door- we will be sure to look into those issues. We hope you have many more opportunities to visit us in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dumfries
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Given room near reception nr Coke machine downstairs, had to ask to be moved due to a noise sounding like a boiler/washing machines .Reception said they did not know what it was.Other room was fine though they do seem to have a lot of plumbing noises.Rooms clean and of good standard.Good location in Jackson. Fairly good breakfast in nearby Cafe so plenty of tables for a change.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay. We apologize that you experienced some disturbances during your time with us but we are pleased to hear that we were able to find a solution that worked out for you. We are happy you had a pleasant breakfast experience- we are very fortunate to be able to use the cafe on our property to provide additional seating space during the busy summer months. We hope you have another chance to visit Jackson and we look forward to hosting you for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomaston, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and liked the location. It was convenient to walk to downtown and nearby restaurants. The office staff was helpful and called us when our room was ready. They also gave us a sack of samples when we left. You walk to a restaurant behind the hotel for a continental breakfast. It was convenient for us to use as a base to drive to the Tetons. They also have a guest laundry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We really appreciate that you chose to stay with us here at the Painted Buffalo Inn during your time in Jackson. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a few of the extra touches we provide. Jackson has so much to offer, we hope you get the chance to visit again soon and we look forward to hosting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struthers, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would stay there again. The staff was very professional - the room was clean and exactly as described. Good location to walk to everything in Jackson and handy to get to Jackson Hole ski resort area. Good value good location, clean room, and nice staff - made for a great 3 nights and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave your thoughts about the hotel. We strive to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests and it is so fantastic to hear we succeeded with you. We certainly look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Painted Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Buffalo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.