We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had to move” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Save Saved
You added Painted Buffalo Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Painted Buffalo Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct and Save 5%!
Ranked #32 of 40 hotels in Jackson
dumfries
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Had to move”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Given room near reception nr Coke machine downstairs, had to ask to be moved due to a noise sounding like a boiler/washing machines .Reception said they did not know what it was.Other room was fine though they do seem to have a lot of plumbing noises.Rooms clean and of good standard.Good location in Jackson. Fairly good breakfast in nearby Cafe so plenty of tables for a change.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback about your stay. We apologize that you experienced some disturbances during your time with us but we are pleased to hear that we were able to find a solution that worked out for you. We are happy you had a pleasant breakfast experience- we are very fortunate to be able to use the cafe on our property to provide additional seating space during the busy summer months. We hope you have another chance to visit Jackson and we look forward to hosting you for future stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    84
    100
    41
    41
See reviews for
110
123
23
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thomaston, Georgia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights and liked the location. It was convenient to walk to downtown and nearby restaurants. The office staff was helpful and called us when our room was ready. They also gave us a sack of samples when we left. You walk to a restaurant behind the hotel for a continental breakfast. It was convenient for us to use as a base to drive to the Tetons. They also have a guest laundry.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We really appreciate that you chose to stay with us here at the Painted Buffalo Inn during your time in Jackson. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed a few of the extra touches we provide. Jackson has so much to offer, we hope you get the chance to visit again soon and we look forward to hosting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Struthers, Ohio, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I would stay there again. The staff was very professional - the room was clean and exactly as described. Good location to walk to everything in Jackson and handy to get to Jackson Hole ski resort area. Good value good location, clean room, and nice staff - made for a great 3 nights and we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank so much for choosing to stay with us and taking the time to leave your thoughts about the hotel. We strive to provide a memorable experience for all of our guests and it is so fantastic to hear we succeeded with you. We certainly look forward to hosting you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Best motel we stayed in during a two trip through Colorado and Wyoming. Clean, front desk staff very helpful, for a continental breakfast it was very good, room large and well appointed,Pool, laundry, within walking distance of town centre. Also Bubba's steak & rib joint within walking distance provided excellent meals (steak, salad, etc)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property. We are so pleased to know that the rooms and breakfast lived up to your expectations. We certainly hope you have another opportunity to visit us in the future and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is very well located for exploring Jackson. It is an "old" wooden structure with a bit of character but also with very clean, comfortable, well-equipped rooms. The free Wi-fi was excellent with reliable, speedy connection. Breakfast is included and is average at best. Staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to leave some feedback about our hotel. We are extremely grateful that you chose to stay with us - even more so that you enjoyed your time here! It is great to hear that our amenities and staff worked out well for you. We hope you have another chance to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorshire
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We must be the only people who don't like jackson very much, very contrived sort of town, very expensive shops, however we very much liked this hotel. comfortable beds, nice rooms, very clean, and super friendly staff ( Bree especially ), she even called our room after checking in to see if all was ok for us., which we thought was a nice little touch. Breakfast was acceptable around the corner. A good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as we strive to provide top notch customer service. It is wonderful to hear that our efforts are successful. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

There is nothing special to say about this hotel. After a week on the mountain, a shower and a bed were welcome. Do not plan to stay there again unless there was no availability. Would care to stay in another hotel with more amenities. For an older building, it was okay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about the Painted Buffalo Inn. We are pleased to offer a wide variety of amenities including fridges, microwaves, free wireless internet, hairdryers, coffee pots, a continental breakfast, and an indoor pool for our guests. We strive to be constantly improving and welcome any feedback about additional amenities our guests would appreciate. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Painted Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#32 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Buffalo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.