We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 night stay at Painted Buffalo, Jackson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Painted Buffalo Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Painted Buffalo Inn to your Saves list
Painted Buffalo Inn
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“3 night stay at Painted Buffalo, Jackson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Best motel we stayed in during a two trip through Colorado and Wyoming. Clean, front desk staff very helpful, for a continental breakfast it was very good, room large and well appointed,Pool, laundry, within walking distance of town centre. Also Bubba's steak & rib joint within walking distance provided excellent meals (steak, salad, etc)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your time at our property. We are so pleased to know that the rooms and breakfast lived up to your expectations. We certainly hope you have another opportunity to visit us in the future and we look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    95
    109
    42
    44
See reviews for
118
138
25
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel is very well located for exploring Jackson. It is an "old" wooden structure with a bit of character but also with very clean, comfortable, well-equipped rooms. The free Wi-fi was excellent with reliable, speedy connection. Breakfast is included and is average at best. Staff are friendly and helpful. Overall, a good choice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you so much for taking time to leave some feedback about our hotel. We are extremely grateful that you chose to stay with us - even more so that you enjoyed your time here! It is great to hear that our amenities and staff worked out well for you. We hope you have another chance to visit us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We must be the only people who don't like jackson very much, very contrived sort of town, very expensive shops, however we very much liked this hotel. comfortable beds, nice rooms, very clean, and super friendly staff ( Bree especially ), she even called our room after checking in to see if all was ok for us., which we thought was a nice little touch. Breakfast was acceptable around the corner. A good stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as we strive to provide top notch customer service. It is wonderful to hear that our efforts are successful. Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

There is nothing special to say about this hotel. After a week on the mountain, a shower and a bed were welcome. Do not plan to stay there again unless there was no availability. Would care to stay in another hotel with more amenities. For an older building, it was okay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about the Painted Buffalo Inn. We are pleased to offer a wide variety of amenities including fridges, microwaves, free wireless internet, hairdryers, coffee pots, a continental breakfast, and an indoor pool for our guests. We strive to be constantly improving and welcome any feedback about additional amenities our guests would appreciate. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights as our usual hotel The Antler Inn was full over the Labour Day weekend. You expect to pay more in Jackson, but we feel that this hotel is overpriced for what it is compared to other close by hotels which were all full. We had an upstairs room (266) at the end next to the stairs. You could hear everyone up and down the stairs and the thin walls meant you could hear the TV next door. The room was average, clean enough but not well lit. Like other reviews the rooms need updating and the overall outdoor appearance of the hotel is shabby. The stairs were dirty - looked as though they hadn't been swept in a few weeks. There was dog pee on the stairs and cigarette butts everywhere. Only had breakfast on one morning, not the best quality with very little selection. Would not stay here again. Great little bagel shop close by for breakfast with excellent coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
We really appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We will work on improving the issues you brought up in your review. We hope you have the opportunity to visit Jackson again and we just wanted to mention that we have great off season specials for those budget conscious travelers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nootdorp
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed here for two nights for our visit to Grand Teton NP. The woman at the front desk was very nice, pointing out things to in town and where to eat. The room was ok, the structure is made of wood which really makes creaky noises every step you take (and that includes the upstairs neighbors). Breakfast was ok too, nothing special but enough to start the day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for taking some time to share your thoughts. We are very pleased our staff was able to help you out with places to explore in our wonderful little town. We do hope you get the chance to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Been here several times and liked the rooms.
It has been almost 10 years since I had been here.
Rooms are starting to show their age but I do like the fitted sheets that are a cream color. Better than the old white ones. Still the rooms are very clean.
Did not like the breakfast. Nothing really hot to eat. Didn't like the set up either.
You were in a great location to where you could walk to everything. A block away
Bubba's BBQ had a wonderful breakfast. Best biscuit... big biscuit!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from the Painted Buffalo's breakfast. They need to work on that more. Go to Bubba'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PBIManager, General Manager at Painted Buffalo Inn, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We appreciate you taking some time to share your thoughts about our hotel. We are pleased you found the rooms clean and that you enjoyed our convenient location. We apologize that the breakfast experience did not live up to your expectations. We try to be very upfront about what our breakfast includes as we simply do not have the ability to offer a hot breakfast and therefore only advertise a traditional continental breakfast which still does include 16 different menu options. We always appreciate specific feedback about what changes you might like to see with the set up. We are fortunate to hold it in the Betty Rock space for the comfort of our guests but we do realize with 137 rooms, there can be some quite busy times in there. We are happy that you were able to take advantage of some the nearby fantastic restaurants Jackson has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Painted Buffalo Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Painted Buffalo Inn

Address: 400 West Broadway, PO Box 2547, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Painted Buffalo Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
137 room hotel only three short blocks from the historic town square. Indoor pool, continental breakfast, pets welcome and kids stay free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Painted Buffalo Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Painted Buffalo Hotel Jackson
Painted Buffalo Motel
Painted Buffalo Inn Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Painted Buffalo Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.