We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of O.A.R.S. Wyoming

O.A.R.S. Wyoming
3960 S. Antelope Lane, Yellowstone National Park, Jackson, WY 83001
(800) 346-6277
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: O.A.R.S. Wyoming adventures include our "all in one" Yellowstone & Grand Teton National Park Explorer, kayaking on Jackson Lake near Jackson Hole, kayaking on Yellowstone Lake in Yellowstone National Park as well as Snake River rafting. These scenic Wyoming adventure vacations transport you into the heart of the largest unspoiled wilderness in the continental U.S., to the shores and swells of its biggest mountain lake, and through the pristine habitat of some of the nation's largest animal populations. Our adventurous Wyoming itineraries offer rare experiences in both Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, via "easy-to-learn and handle" sea kayaks, by raft and on foot—by lakeshore, river and trail.
Edwardsville, IL
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We did the two nights on Jackson Lake with a float down the Snake River. The guides were incredibly friendly, knowledgeable, and great at their jobs, and the food was much better than anything I expected. The two places we camped were so beautiful, as was kayaking across the lake. I highly recommend this trip with OARS!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    2
    0
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Yellowstone-Grand Teton (Jackson Lake) Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

I took the June Solo Travelers trip and it was wonderful. The Yellowstone day was very well guided but left me wanting to see different geothermal attractions. (Old Faithful, ho hum) Nevertheless, the kayaking on Lake Jackson, along the base of the Grand Teton range was an unparalleled experience and one only available with OARS. We camped at beautiful private campgrounds around the lake where we never saw another person outside of our group of 10 + 4 guides. Our guides worked hard, made delicious meals and provided the social glue, the entertainment, that made the group gel. Equipment was solid. Be aware, June trip included hail and snow fall so pack accordingly. Still got to wear shorts during most days.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“O.A.R.S. - Jackson Lake - Grand Tetons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Our family of 5 (kids aged 6, 10 and 13) decided to mix in the one night O.A.R.S. overnight trip in the Grand Tetons with our Yellowstone vacation. First, let me say that we are not an overly adventurous family and certainly not big campers. We'd never done anything like this. Also, we went in mid June and, being from Florida, found the weather to be horribly cold. Additionally, it rained! So, we were already well behind the eight ball heading into this adventure. That said, the O.A.R.S. team was incredibly professional, likable and fun. Our nervousness quickly evaporated, and all of my kids had a blast. The O.A.R.S. folks called all the right audibles, and really did everything they could to make sure we had a very enjoyable time. Our entire family wants to do another O.A.R.S. trip next summer!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
“Best family vaca”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My family is spread across the USA. We wanted a family trip that would be fun for everyone from age 7-67. The trip we planned was the 5 day Yellowstone/Grand Teton hiking,kayaking,&rafting trip. My family really had a great time! The three guides were terrific! They couldn't do enough for us. They even decorated our camp site on Grassy Island, and entertained us on the Fourth of July.
The food was well prepared and plentiful. We had another family with a son, the same age as our grandson, so they entertained each other.
The equipment ,such as tents and sleeping kits were first class, and in excellent condition. All of the guides were very knowledgable, and shared a bounty of information with us.
I would recommend is trip for families(and singles) who enjoy the outdoors, and do not need to have a buffet on the upper deck of a cruise ship to feel good.
The Shire Family

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Had an awesome kayaking experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a really great kayaking experience with OARS on Yellowstone Lake. We took the 9:30am tour near the geysers. The Guides were all very friendly and extremely helpful and accommodating. Beautiful scenery. Wore me out. I had to take a nap afterwards.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O.A.R.S. Wyoming also viewed

 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to O.A.R.S. Wyoming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O.A.R.S. Wyoming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.