We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Run” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bird

The Bird
4125 South Pub Place, Jackson, WY
307-732-2473
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 126 Restaurants in Jackson
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: Located South of Town Square. The Bird provides one of the most fantastic views in the greater Teton Valley, with panoramic mountain vistas offering a brilliant sunset. A favorite watering hole of local legend Colonel Angus, it is a neighborhood pub atmosphere with rustic wood interior. Great for all but beware, the late-night scene can get quite rowdy and may not be suitable for families with young children.The Bird prides itself in offering a unique "local" experience whilst offering great cuisine. Not the place to be pandered to but if you wish to let loose, eat right, and escape the standard tourist trap come on in!
Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Home Run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This restaurant had three strikes against it. First it is the number one ranked joint in all of Jackson so my expectations were high. Second the thought of english muffins as hamburger buns was less than inviting. Third the building - Really this is the number one ranked retaurant in Jackson you have to be kidding me. The atmosphere is authentic the views pretty dang cool but the burgers were out of this world. My first bite was of a fresh hot french fry. Wow. It was crisp and fresh and full of flavor. One bite of my 9 oz works burger and I was in heaven. Two bites and I totally forgot about the silly english muffin. My son had a double burger a big mac on A-Rod juice. We are both lovers of burgers and were both totally impressed. My daughter had a 4 oz BBQ Burger. It was good for her but I would not waste my experince on the smaller cut... you will want more... Oh yes and put the salt and peper shakers away the burger and the sauteed accompanyments offer all the flavor you would want. My wife had a Braut...it was good but don't waste your experience here on anything but a burger. They are that good. The only disapointment was the lack of root beer... I know I am a sissy but I like a good root beer with my lunch time burger.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    97
    40
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mt. Pleasant
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great place for a burger with the locals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This place is slightly out of town but worth it for a great burger in a very relaxed bar atmosphere with a huge outdoor deck. Obviously a place where the locals hang out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City, Utah
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Awesome.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Great burgers, perfect atmosphere outside staring at the mountains, and away from the bustle of tourism in town. We chose the Bird because of TripAdvisor and weren't disappointed. Burgers were perfect and great selection of cold beers. The waitress was extremely friendly despite the "don't give a crap" aura they try to give off (read the menus). Overall a great spot that is obviously a locals joint which means its worth trying.
Best quote from the menu:
"Kids screaming and running around uncontrolled are many things, appropriate not being one of them. First, it is dangerous for your child. There are drunk people with fragile glass staggering around, deck stairs to fall down, and swinging kitchen doors"

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Michigan
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Maybe there is another The Bird in Jackson?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

That this place is rated the best restaurant in Jackson is a serious blow to tripadvisor's credibility. I guess poor, rude service and 45 minute waits for mediocre, overpriced burgers (on store bought English muffins no less!) must be in high demand. This place was the biggest disappointment in an otherwise great vacation in the Tetons/Yellowstone area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Skip the tourist trap in jackson hole.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We went here before going to the airport and heading back to Chicago. It was a five mile drive out of tourist area in Jackson. Some of the best burgers and fries we have had. A spectacular view. Only a little pricey for a burger but worth it. Make sure you have gps, it's not easy to spot from the road.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bird also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
 

Been to The Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.