We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Visit, Still Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Iron Ranch

Mill Iron Ranch
3495 E. Horse Creek Road, Jackson, WY 83001
307-733-6390
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 82 activities in Jackson
Type: Horseback Riding Stables
Attraction Details
Cranbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Second Visit, Still Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had such a great time with our sleigh ride last year, we decided to do it again this year. Another great time. The Wheeldon family is great and personifies Wyoming warmth and hospitality. Chancey's porterhouse steaks are still the best in Jackson! Their sleigh ride and steak dinner has become a must do for us when in Jackson.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    11
    2
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bryn Athyn, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great horseback ride up into the mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We've taken guests to the Mill Iron Ranch several times when they want to experience the area on horseback and have never been disappointed.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This is a must on your vacation plans checklist. Our trail guide Doyle was awesome, the horses were great and the view 2000 feet up, what can I say...spectacular!!! We had seen this rated on Trip Advisor and chose it because of the wonderful ratings. We were not disappointed. You don't need to be an exprienced rider, they will tailor the horse style to your level of experience. I recommend the 2 hour (which actually went 2 1/2 hrs for us) if you are more of a rookie. That much time in a sadle, especially with the downhill you can feel at the end. We all looked a bit bowlegged. Sounds like the 4hr+ is a great one for experienced riders. Were were there 9/16/12 and it was a beautiful time of year. The only downside was that it was their slower season so we didn't get to do the steak dinner. Definitely will try that next time. We met wonderful people on the ride, shared laughs and stories...As Doyle said, this is your land, come enjoy it. The beauty in Wyoming is absolutely amazing!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best ride around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My mom and I love this place. We've ridden here every year for the past 3 years. The horses are treated well, the guides are super nice and real cowboys and girls, and the atmosphere brings out a really special feel. Also the view from the top of the ride is amazing! Try getting that from riding up snow king? I don't think so! Do it! You won't regret it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandpoint, Idaho
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great place for a wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The ambiance and food were great. Staff friendly, scenery excellent, nice bar. Terrible road, needs to be paved. When you are dressed for a wedding the dust and dirt of the road and parking lot were challenging.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Iron Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Mill Iron Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Iron Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mill Iron Ranch to your Saves list