We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short float trip” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barker-Ewing Whitewater

Barker-Ewing Whitewater
945 W. Broadway, Jackson, WY 83001
+1 307-733-1000
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: It's the Coolest Thing You'll Do All Summer! We've set the standard for Whitewater Rafting and Scenic Float Trips in Jackson Hole, Wyoming since 1963. We deliver The Trip of a Lifetime! Our mission is simple: uncompromising safety and unsurpassed personal service. Leave rush hour behind as our seasoned and knowledgeable staff brings their best in offering you a refreshing pace in roomy boats. Whether whitewater rafting or scenic floating, we invite you to join us on the Snake River this summer!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Louisiana
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Short float trip”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Warning: the 2 and 1/2 float trip at 8:30 am is not that long. With a van ride of 20 minutes to the put in and a 15 minute return van trip, the total time on the snake river of 65 minutes!!!! That said, the river was beautiful, the guide nice, on a very calm stretch of the river.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barker-Ewing, Owner at Barker-Ewing Whitewater, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
LouisianaTravelor,
We appreciate your honest and concise feedback. It’s great to hear that you enjoyed a beautiful day on the Snake River with your guide. That said, we’d like to take a moment to point out that we never aim to misrepresent the length of our trips. When asked, our staff is trained to quote the trip time in both door-to-door and on-water increments. Sometimes, a shorter float trip is just what a family is looking for. If you return to the area we’d love to have the opportunity to take you on one of our longer trip offerings, like our Dinner Float, Breakfast Combo or even an Overnight Trip.
Heather Ewing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    45
    5
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

What a great way to see the mountains. We took the scenic lunch float. Our guide (Zack) was great, gave us great information about the area. Lunch was wonderful. Perfect menu and dining spot.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“14 Mile Scenic float with dinner- Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Made the trip on the Snake River with two other couples. Guide was outstanding and obviously interested in nature and the outdoors. Also understood the river and steered the raft without any splashing on cameras. We saw Moose, Elk, lots of Eagles and beautiful scenery. Photo Ops everwhere. They transport you to launch site on their bus. The dinner was at at their own private treed area. The servings very generous and truly one of the best meals we had in Jackson Hole. Wonderful outdoor smoked flavor. Highly recommended

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great attraction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Had a great time on the Breakfast combo float. First we floated a scenic 8 miles then got out of our raft for a short hike to a camp where they cooked up a great breakfast (eggs, pancakes, sausage, fresh fruit and several drink choices). Then is was back to the raft for a great white water rafting trip for another 8 miles. Our guide Brent, made the trip down the Snake River very fun. He gave us several opportunities to get out of the raft and swim. We also played a few games. His knowledge of the area and wildlife was exceptional!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“WhooHoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

It was our first white water experience and we loved every moment. We chose the the breakfast float for two hours with the whitewater on the second half. It was incredible. Morning is cool so dress warmly. The water is very cold but they offer clothing for those ,like me, who hate being cold at at a very reasonable price. Be prepared for a long hike uphill at the end of the trip to get to the bus for the ride home. My only complaint was that I wasn't ready for it to end. I wanted more whitewater to battle.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barker-Ewing Whitewater also viewed

 

Been to Barker-Ewing Whitewater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barker-Ewing Whitewater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.