We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Views, a couple of things need attention.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amangani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Amangani to your Saves list
Amangani
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1535 North East Butte Road, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Views, a couple of things need attention.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed here for a few nights in July 2011. Overall, our stay was excellent, but there are a few things we just had to mention.
We stayed on the mid level of the hotel, with a great outdoor area--problem was, the outdoor area upkeep was pretty slack for a hotel of this caliber. There were weeds in the planter box and the patio had not been swept off prior to our arrival. They have nice planter boxes that have irrigation and it seems like they could have done a better job making this area more alluring--perhaps a cafe table where you could have your coffee.
I know this sounds like I am being nit picky--but for nearly 1k a night, you really do "expect" perfection.
The checkin at this hotel is GREAT...they actually take time to show you to your room and show you where things are. That's something that usually doesn't even happen at Four Seasons.
A couple of other things that were a little weird. One morning, I wanted to sit in the library with my laptop, but another guest decided he would make this his office for the morning and shut off the whole area to all other guests while he took a conference call. This is a pretty big area of the common areas of the hotel---where they keep news papers, etc. It was just a little weird and I am guessing the hotel did not condone this.
The last thing that needs mentioning is the confort of the beds. Not great.
Other than these little things, the stay was wonderful and super relaxing. I had a great massage, the food was really good, the bathrooms are divine. I would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    22
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
92
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Best hotel we have ever visited ! Service is *****. Food is gourmet. Rooms are great. Location is great - swimmingpool is fantastic

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

it's pretty difficult to find fault with anything about Amangani. The location is absolutely beautiful, perched up on a hill overlooking a beautiful valley (with ranches and cattle) along with Jackson Hole and the Tetons in the distance. The facility is really gorgeous, with nicely appointed rooms, an outdoor pool with expansive views, and natural stone and wood construction throughout. The service on every level if as competent and courteous as any I have experienced. I was especially impressed at the service staff's ability (we learned through intra-staff communication) to know when you leave the room so that they could get in and straighten up without disturbing you. Amangani tries hard to create a peaceful and relaxing experience for their guests, and succeeds wonderfully. You feel far removed from the hustle and bustle of Jackson, or the more youthful, family-oriented environment of Teton Village. It is definitely intended, and priced, for sophicticated, well-heeled travelers. Beware of the additional 10% they will add to your room charge for service costs, negating any obligation to tip the housekeeping staff separately. Overall, a very memorable stay at this stunning property, which I strongly recommend..

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Only 40 rooms at Amangani, the only US resort in the Asian based chain. Impeccable service, flexible dining of excellent menus and overall an ambiance that must be hard to match anywhere. The views from all over the hotel, including the rooms are simply breathtaking and Jackson Hole, the ski areas and the NAtional PArks are all very close by. It's by design not cheap but for the quality of everything on offer, it's great value!

Room Tip: all rooms have amazing views and are in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here in mid-July for 5 nights as part of our summer vacation. Usually we travel with our teenagers, but their schedules this summer left us alone for a week of vacation time. I write that because I don't think I would have stayed here with our children because it is quiet and we saw mostly adults, plus we would have needed 2 rooms and this place is expensive. It has the most beautiful views in the entire Jackson Hole area. That said, it is postivie and a negative because you need transportation to go anywhere away from the lodge.
First, this is a lodge more than a luxury resort. It is intimate with only 40 suites. It has one dining room used for all meals, but the staff is great about making you feel "at home" and will bring you any food or drink wherever you would like it, possibly in the lounge or library, outside or your room.
The rooms are spacious and have a great dressing area where you can uppack, keep your bags and plenty of drawer space. The rooms are also immaculate. Each time I caught housleeping cleaning, there were at least two people so they get in and out. Suites have large terraces overlooking the rockies and Grand Tetons. This just helps to melt any stress away.
When you arrive someone from the staff shows you around the entire property and introduces you to the staff. They bring you to your suite and show you how everything works and go over any itineray you have booked thru the hotel.
The food is very good with lots of Wyoming game on the menu but the kitchen will feed you anything you want at anytime you want and it was made very clear to us that they will make us dinner whenever we get back to the lodge from being out all day. In this way, they make your stay very personal. One night I had them make me a salad with grilled chicken. How much buffalo and elk can one eat!! They also have chicken, fish and pork entries and a lounge menu. The staff really tries to make this visit memorable with personal touches such as noting that my husband liked the brownies packed for us with a picnic lunch and the chef made us more that were delivered to our room.
This lodge is situated on top of a bluff and shares that area with Spring Creek Ranch. The views are fantasic. The downside of this, is that if you want to go into Jackson, you must either have a car or use their service (they maintain a few X6's for airport transfers, transportation and trips to the National Parks. They will take you to town, but it is $35 each way, making any dinner, run to Albertson's, that much more expensive. We did rent a car for the first two days, that way you are on your own time and not waiting for a driver to pick you up.
This is a very special place, they will make you feel special and the scenery is gorgeous.

Room Tip: South side of the property has a bit of a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

Amangani is where the beauty of nature meets the best in customer service. Yes, you pay a premium to stay at this hotel, but if you've never had an experience like this, I can almost guarantee that you won't regret it. From the moment they picked my husband and me from the airport to the moment we left, they never let us pick up our own suit cases, carry our skis or our boots. Everyone knew us by name, took the time to politely chat with us, and did everything they could to make our stay more comfortable.
And the food ... oh the food was amazing. Do not pass up the opportunity to eat both breakfast and dinner (including dessert!) while you are there.

Room Tip: If you are skiing, book in the spring or summer for the following winter. It might save you some mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

The Amangani is a truly perfect resort in every way. To set the stage, my wife and I travel often and we stay in top rated hotels and resorts around the world. We are quite particular about accommodations, food and service. Upon arrival you are greeted by staff and management in a way that makes you feel like you have just arrived at your own estate. You are quickly ushered to a lovely well appointed room with views that seem surreal. Stress just melts away as you begin to realize this will be an outstanding experience. The food, spa, pool, lounges -- everything exceeds expectations. But I must say again, as much as this resort offers in beauty and comfort, the staff is more than one would expect. They are all knowledgeable, friendly, and go out of their way to make you feel like you are the only person at the Amangani. I promise, you will not be disappointed with this place!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amangani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amangani

Address: 1535 North East Butte Road, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#5 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#5 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Amangani 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amangani is the first North American hotel for this chain and is beautifully located with luxurious accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Amangani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amangani Hotel Jackson
Amangani Resort Jackson
Amangani Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amangani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.