We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and quiet versus touristy town, but still close enough to walk everywhere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buckrail Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckrail Lodge
Save
You added Buckrail Lodge to your Saves list
110 E Karns Ave, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Driggs, Idaho
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Cool and quiet versus touristy town, but still close enough to walk everywhere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at the Buckrail to take advantage of Robert Walter’s 20th Congress, a free jazz concert at Snow King one block away. We had debated staying at Snow King or the Buckrail. I’m glad we chose the later.

First of all, ironically, this is the closest hotel to Snow King Mountain, not the Snow King Hotel! Secondly, the hotel is quiet, and the landscaping, especially during our hot arid summers, is impeccable and refreshing to see. There are numerous chairs/tables sitting out on the well manicured lawn, shaded by tall mature trees. Many different types of birds fly about and every room has a lovely hanging flower basket in front(which gets watered from an automatic drip system I noticed). The rooms are spacious, clean and the log walls between each unit really created an extra special quiet area versus your typical motel drywall. Finally, Jan the owner is a lovely woman and its nice to see an owner so highly involved in her property. You can tell she cares.

It really is a special place and different than any other place in jackson due to its unique location and style. When people mention that it is far from town, really? Its less than a half mile walk to town square, on flat roads, through a pleasant residential neighborhood. Most people that live in Jackson hike/walk or bike 5x that amount everyday.

She doesn't have online reservations, but if they don't answer, just leave a message and you'll receive a prompt return call during business hours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    51
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reidsville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

The outside of the Lodge was pleasing, the grounds well groomed and parking was convenient. The rooms have a high ceiling and include air conditioning. The staff was friendly and efficient. The back of the room faces a fence and a street, but it was still quiet.

Room Tip: It is a little bit off the beaten path, but was convenient to down town and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

When you go to Jackson - stay here! Away from the busy down town, yet mere blocks from it, this place was the perfect quiet spot to rest after exploring the area. All the woodwork is beautiful as are the wonderful flowers all around the place. Our very large room had two very comfortable queen beds, a desk, sitting area and a large ceiling fan. The bathroom was huge, and well appointed. You park right in front of your room, and can sit on the small "deck" area in front of your room as well. There is a large yard in front of the units that have plenty of different places to sit, and the first night we were there people were taking advantage of the great weather and playing cards at one of the tables. A nice experience and a good value in the midst of the high prices in Jackson.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This was our first trip to Jackson Wyoming and we really enjoyed our stay at Buckrail Lodge. The location of the Lodge at the bottom of the mountain made for a really nice view. The room was cozy and clean. Compared to other lodging rates, we thought Buckrail was a good deal. Janet, the owner. was extremely helpful and made our stay a very pleasant one. We would
definately stay there again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night. The rooms are cute, very clean, and comfortable. We liked relaxing out on the lawn star gazing. One note - the a/c is the type that shuts off after it's reached the temperature. No big deal for most. As a light sleeper who is used to sleeping with some form of white noise this did not translate into a good night's sleep. Other than that it was great!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, AZ
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

The room was clean. Very good value for Jackson! Within walking distance to downtown for shopping or food. Great Fourth of July location for fireworks, parade and other fourth activities! Big grass lawn makes for a nice place to relax outside after a long drive. Absolutely would stay there again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beebe, Arkansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was our 2nd stay at this small place on a quiet back street. It is convenient to the square & the hwy into the park. Loved the decor, cleanliness, ability to park at the door & the friendly reception! Will stay here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckrail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckrail Lodge

Address: 110 E Karns Ave, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Buckrail Hotel Jackson
Buckrail Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckrail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.