We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice rooms, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buckrail Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckrail Lodge
Save
You added Buckrail Lodge to your Saves list
110 E Karns Ave, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“nice rooms, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

This was our 'home' for three nights during an 8 day trip to Grand Teton & YNP. Nice little town with good access to Grand Teton. Big clean rooms and bathroom. Able to park at your door made it convenient to load/unload each day. Stayed in the larger 2 Q room. Nice desk & bench area that served as our 'kitchen' . Nice little picnic/playground area with pretty flowers. Staff was extremely nice and helpful. Hotel is a few blocks from downtown so didn't have all the noise and traffic. Easy to get to. The parking area is small so be careful. Not much room if you need to turn around.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    51
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
56
92
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, USA
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
139 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
316 helpful votes 316 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Excellent! Sure, it looks like an old style motel from the outside, but that is where the similarity ends. Tucked in a residential neighborhood just a few blocks from the main square in Jackson, the Buckrail Lodge is more family-run lodge than motel. The attention to detail starts on the outside with hanging flower baskets in front of each door. The property was clean and nicely landscaped. Once inside, the room is like a woodsy cabin than a typical motel room, with a mix of pioneer and woodland decor. There were fresh wildflowers on the desk, and the towels/tissue/toilet paper were all decoratively folded and ready for use. Overall, the room was spotlessly clean, with one minor exception. The carpet is a lighter color and tends to show a lot of the tracked in dirt from the parking lot. I would say that the carpet could stand to be steam-cleaned. The owner is super friendly and helpful with dining options in town. When I arrived at the lodge, she was not in the office, but left a note with the keys to my room so I could check in right away. Since the lodge sits at an intersection, there is a little traffic noise up until about 10pm. To avoid this, I would recommend a room numbered 6 or higher. In general, I think this is an excellent and reasonable option for Jackson.

Room Tip: Room 6 or higher to be a little farther away from closest intersection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We arrived in Jackson after a long flight and we stayed at the Buckrail Lodge. It is a lovely, quiet place that is clean and welcoming. It is out of the busy main stream of tourists and traffic. The beds are very comfortable. We hated to leave this little gem in Jackson! We would definitley recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Buckrail Lodge is small and cosy, tucked at the foot of the Snow King ski resort. We stayed two nights before we went up to Yellowstone and then returned for our last night before taking an early flight out of Jackson Hole. The rooms are clean and have a fridge and a microwave. The two bed rooms are spacious. We were in the single queen room for the first night, which is a little more tight for space and has a smaller bathroom, but we were still comfortable. The maids allowed us to move our bags into the room we were staying in for the following night so that we didn't have to load them back into the car. We didn't take advantage of it, but they have coffee at reception and a computer for guest use, there's also a hot tub that we didn't try.

Town Square is less than a 10 minute walk and it's flat all the way. We walked to dinner every evening, even after a day of hiking. We chose Buckrail Lodge because we didn't want to be in the noise and bustle of the Town Square area and we weren't disappointed.

Room Tip: Get a room with two queens if you can, the single queen room is a little more cramped.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was a large log cabin room with two confortable queen beds, a large bathroom with a tub and shower, comfortable chairs and a desk. The fan in the vaulted ceiling provided good air circulation. The Samsung LCD was great viewing of Sunday night football. Used the hot tub in a secluded area behind the office. A mini frig, microwave and coffee maker were provided. We stayed two nights and were traveling with another couple that stayed in the room next door. There is a green space park with seating across from the rooms which gives a quiet buffer from the street. The lodge is located at the foot of the Snow King Mountain so the backdrop was perfect. This was an excelent value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nature Coast, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We spent a total of 4 nights at the Buckrail Lodge. Everyone we came in contact with was very friendly and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. Everything you need is there - refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker (also coffee in lobby), free wifi, hairdryer, iron, ironing board, ceiling fan, shampoo, soap. Beds were comfortable. Location was very convenient. Just a short walk into town which was great because parking in town was crazy. Far enough away from town that it was very quiet at night. Loved it and will return when we get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCormick, South Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very comfortable and convenient, nice log cabin style outside and in, with small vaulted ceiling with fan. Good size room with 2 queens, well lighted bathroom. Nice park setting outside your door away from the noise of Jackson (about 6 blocks to town square). Computer with printer in the office available for guests in addition to the wifi. Hot tub on site, and free ice as well as a refrigerator in the room. Bathroom has window which is a nice change. Owner very helpful.

Room Tip: Only one unit has a single queen for slightly less, other rooms are more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buckrail Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckrail Lodge

Address: 110 E Karns Ave, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Buckrail Hotel Jackson
Buckrail Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buckrail Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.