We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goosewing Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goosewing Ranch
Save Saved
You added Goosewing Ranch to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   650 W. Broadway, P.O. Box 4084, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ribchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Can't thank Goosewing enough for a superb 4 days of ranch life. The accomodation was fantastic, the food superb and the riding was second to none. The ranch were very flexible and catered superbly for the mixed riding abilities of our party. They also put on special rides just to ensure that we all got the most from our riding and were able to see all the beautiful countryside by riding out in different directions each day. They also catered really well for children with some great afternoon/evening activities.
Nothing was too much trouble and the whole experience exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    6
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
49
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hilliard, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We cannot get beyond the WOW factor that GW ranch gave to us. Amy, the general manager, worked with us on getting married on the ranch. This was a first for GW and they were so helpful and accomodating. Francois and his staff were tremendous. The food was great. Horseback riding was phenomenal. So many memories were created for us that will never be forgotten. There are too many names to thank from the wranglers, our "best man" and "maid of honor", the chef who made us a wedding cake and our "photographers". All the staff at GW helped make this a perfect trip for us and a fairy tale wedding. They all will be part of our memories and we WILL be returning! THANK YOU ALL FOR THE MEMORIES!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We looked at ranches all over Montana and Wyoming...we decided on the Goosewing-it seemed to have all the right balance of activities, riding, food, cabins etc. With 3 boys, no real riding experience but a wife that wanted to do more we needed a place that would cater to our different skill levels.

At the end of the week-we had done every activity we wanted to: target shooting, archery, hatchet throwing, rafting, Grand Tetons, fly fish, pool/sauna, massage, Ranger/Polaris adventures and most of all learn to ride horses well. At the end of the week, our 8 year old was trotting and loping with us on trails, smiling the whole time.

The Goosewing is remote...if you want that (no cell...slow/to no WI-FI) then this is a great spot. The owner is a very gracious host visiting with guest daily. The staff led by Amy is expectational. The entire team-wranglers and hospitality staff were a fine group of young people-engaged very well with our children and made the trip even more special with their various backgrounds and stories. After 2 weeks of being home, we still talk about each of them regulary.

We will go back...have to...just too much fun, disconnecting from the iphones/email/TV so we could connect as a family, surrounded by beatiful scenery, super ranch staff and other wonderful guest....best vacation ever.

Room Tip: 10 cabins-all great....all wonderful views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Just got back from a four day stay with my eight year old son at the Goosewing Ranch in Jackson, WY. Had a fantastic time. Besides achieving our intended goal of learning to ride, we learned how to rope, cast fly rods, shoot an arrow and throw a hatchett. The place is gorgeous and the staff are super nice. We didn't avail ourselves of the sauna and massage options but the pool and hot tub were just what we needed after spending time in the saddle. This is the perfect ranch for those with children and/or those who don't want to sacrifice their creature comforts for a ranch experience. The food was excellent (some of the biggest prawns I'd ever seen!) and our cabin comfy and tastefully decorated with native American artifacts. For anyone seeking the perfect introduction to ranch living this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobyhanna, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

If you are looking for a remote getaway and love the great outdoors and horses "look no further". Goosewing Ranch is a class act. My husband and I visited the ranch June 9-11, 2012. The 3 days and 3 nights were spent amongst some of the most breathtaking terrain. The views from our cabin porch were amazing gazing out at the snow capped Grand Tetons mountain range what a sight to see. The diversity of the terrain is unique in each direction just gorgeous and so majestic. Upon our arrival we were kindly greeted by Amy the General Manager. She took the time to show us around and make us feel right at home, very friendly/courteous and always with a genuine smile. The owner Francesco greeted us each evening and took the time to ensure everyone's needs and expectations were met. Suzanne managed the dining/kitchen area and made sure our belly's were satisfied at all times. The food was amazing, "5-star" restaurant style. Each meal was served with fresh wholesome ingredients. Even the boxed lunches which we took with us on the trail rides were fresh and delicious. All of the ranch staff was friendly and accommodating at all times. The wranglers were fun, attentive and went out of their way to ensure everyone was having a good time. Bri (my wrangler) on the first day was a doll; she took the time to work with me in the arena to improve my trotting skills with Smokey. Smokey was my trail horse, he was energetic and a great ride. I enjoyed every moment of the time spent with him...and the staff...as well as all our new friends that we made with other guests at the ranch. Back to the trail rides, on the first ride we passed by a coyote on the hillside. The second day we saw an antelope chase a wolf pup back to its den. Neat stuff. The cabins were clean and the beds were comfy and equipped with nice pillows which made for a good nights sleep. Nicely decorated too. Words can not express what a delightful experience we had at the Goosewing Ranch. Can't wait to do this trip again. Next time we plan to stay at least 5 days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

All of us, 2 grandparents, 6 adult children and spouses and 5 gandchildren age 6 to 16, all agreed that this was the best vacation we have ever had. A few of us have been riding over the years, most of us had not ridden a horse in many years, and several had never been on a horse. The wranglers on the ranch, who were from all over the world, managed to get all of us comfortable ridng, and we took extensive trail rides into the mountains. Each cabin was outfitted with an All Terrain Vehicle which all of used extensively to sight-see in the wilderness. The wildlife was extensive and the scenery extraordinary. We typically went for ATV rides in the early morning and at dusk.
Activities included: white water rafting, a trip into Jackson for a rodeo, archery, learning to use a lasso, cocktail hour every evening for the adults, dancing and more.
The owner of the ranch is from Lyon, the gastronomic capital of France. Need we comment that the food was first class?
The constant smiles on the faces of our grandchildren told the story. It was a great vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was looking for more of an authentic dude ranch experience. I knew that the ranch is owned by a French Man, but what I did not realize is that the wait staff is French, although they speak pretty good English and are very nice. If you are looking for a more American cow boy experience then I would not recommend Goosewing..
It is in a beautiful setting, cabins are comfortable (we had mice issues, but that kind of comes with the territory I think), cabins do get hot, but we slept with our door open so it was pleasant at night..
The dining staff is very helpful and polite. The wranglers are good, but none of them seem overly happy. The horse rides are well organized and they do a good job fitting you to the proper ride. Rides are beautiful, horses pretty good.
We arrived mid week and was never introduced to all the wrangles or staff. I guess they do orientation to the staff and ranch on Sundays, but there were a several new groups that arrived mid week and they should have at least introduced all the wranglers and staff.
Will I am not sure what his title is, (he seemed to check people in and out, plan and oversee activities not related to horseback riding) was not overly accommodating, his first response to requests seemed to be I don't think that can be done, which in most cases it could be. He seemed over whelmed. The wranglers kept to themselves pretty much when not riding.
The rangers (ATV) were a nice addition as it was fun to take them out to explore the area. The food was abundant but was marginal, they need to remove the short ribs from the menu, I was served a big plate of bones and fat. They also advertise it as having a spa, while the pool, hot tub and sauna are nice there were no spa services available the week we were there. I found that disappointing. Goosewing Ranch has potential but does need improvements and like I mentioned before I did not get the feel of a true American cowboy, dude ranch experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goosewing Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goosewing Ranch

Address: 650 W. Broadway, P.O. Box 4084, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Jackson
Hotel Class:3 star — Goosewing Ranch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Our Jackson Hole, Wyoming Summer Vacation Guest Ranch!Here at Goosewing Ranch, we combine the lifestyle of ranching in the Wyoming wilderness with many of the modern refinements that make your visit with us especially enjoyable.At 7,400 feet, the valley is the host to some of North America’s most spectacular game: elk, moose, mountain sheep, antelope, bear, eagles, geese, cranes, and much more, not to mention fantastic scenery. The Gros Ventre River, home to native cutthroat trout, runs through the meadows of our historic ranch.Our Jackson Hole dude ranch offers comfortable lodging in eight private guest cabins and three larger 2-bedroom cabins for bigger families. Complimentary wireless internet is provided throughout the Ranch. With its large stone fireplace, the main lodge serves as a central gathering place for dining or relaxing. A loft with a pool table and television overlooks the main room. Fireplaces, wood-stoves, a hot tub and swimming pool add to the cozy atmosphere. A large selection of beer, wine, and liquor compliments an eclectic, seasonal menu.We invite you to come share this corner of North America’s wildest country just as it has been for over a hundred years – a working ranch reborn as an isolated retreat deep in the Gros Ventre River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goosewing Ranch Hotel Jackson
Goosewing Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goosewing Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.