We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goosewing Ranch is a lovely ranch, but I would not consider it a true American Western Dude Ranch Experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Goosewing Ranch

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jackson
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goosewing Ranch
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   650 W. Broadway, P.O. Box 4084, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Goosewing Ranch is a lovely ranch, but I would not consider it a true American Western Dude Ranch Experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I was looking for more of an authentic dude ranch experience. I knew that the ranch is owned by a French Man, but what I did not realize is that the wait staff is French, although they speak pretty good English and are very nice. If you are looking for a more American cow boy experience then I would not recommend Goosewing..
It is in a beautiful setting, cabins are comfortable (we had mice issues, but that kind of comes with the territory I think), cabins do get hot, but we slept with our door open so it was pleasant at night..
The dining staff is very helpful and polite. The wranglers are good, but none of them seem overly happy. The horse rides are well organized and they do a good job fitting you to the proper ride. Rides are beautiful, horses pretty good.
We arrived mid week and was never introduced to all the wrangles or staff. I guess they do orientation to the staff and ranch on Sundays, but there were a several new groups that arrived mid week and they should have at least introduced all the wranglers and staff.
Will I am not sure what his title is, (he seemed to check people in and out, plan and oversee activities not related to horseback riding) was not overly accommodating, his first response to requests seemed to be I don't think that can be done, which in most cases it could be. He seemed over whelmed. The wranglers kept to themselves pretty much when not riding.
The rangers (ATV) were a nice addition as it was fun to take them out to explore the area. The food was abundant but was marginal, they need to remove the short ribs from the menu, I was served a big plate of bones and fat. They also advertise it as having a spa, while the pool, hot tub and sauna are nice there were no spa services available the week we were there. I found that disappointing. Goosewing Ranch has potential but does need improvements and like I mentioned before I did not get the feel of a true American cowboy, dude ranch experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    5
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
43
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Ok, so my family of 4 has issues with horses....some haven't ridden in 40 years (& didn't do well then), some are quite tall and others not so. We don't fit a saddle well and just are not your typical ranch-visiting family. Having said that, we thought a ranch might be fun and others seem to like them. We picked Goosewing and hoped for the best! Since we weren't sure that a ranch was for perfect for us, we opted for 3 nights and rented a car to travel around for the rest of the visit (Jackson, Yellowstone & Cody). Goosewing was fabulous and my family of 4 did not want to leave!!
We arrived mid week, rented a sturdy car and drove the distance to the ranch. It was a long drive involving dirt roads and wilderness but, as we had been warned about the dusty, bumpy road and area, we found it fine. GPS coordinates can solve most things! On arrival, we were given a quick, sufficient overview of the ranch & activities, all questions were answered, we found our lovely cabin, and enjoyed a tasty dinner & wine. Then we had lasso lessons! Great fun was had & the videos are hysterical. Over the next 2 days, we took 4 hour rides along sometimes steep and sometimes gentle trails, carefully checked repeatedly by a wrangler for safety and comfort. Even on inclines, which were not our favorite, the wranglers were careful, encouraging and you always felt like they were in control of the situation. The horses were gentle, beautiful, tenderly cared for, and tended to follow the horse in front of them (yay), although sometimes we did take a bit of a detour---probably operator error. (There are more advanced rides and beginner ones...we did the easy ones). You chose your ride after dinner when the wrangler came around to discuss the next day's riding options and you also selected your box lunch items from a 6 sandwich menu (turkey & cheddar on ciabatta bread, ham & swiss on sourdough roll, veggie burger, etc---really nice options). After Horse Safety 101 and a visit around the arena until all were comfortable with their horse, we mounted after breakfast (you order what you want from an extensive menu of local items or enjoy cereals and tasty pastries), and headed off for adventures on the trail. They offer 2, 4 & 6 hour rides. We opted both days for 4 hour rides. (Had we been there longer, we might have taken the 2 hours rides each day to vary the days & degree of soreness). After enjoying 2 hours of unbelievable views of Tetons/wilderness, lovely streams, former coal mines or dry creek beds & snow-capped mtns along the way, we dismounted for lunch at a high plateau or beautiful old western cabin. Our sandwich lunch was greatly enjoyed along with the accompanying apples, trail mix and homemade cookies. Always generous, filling and tasty! The remaining 2 hours covered a different trail back to the ranch. Upon our mid-afternoon return, we drove around in our cabin's Polaris vehicle to see a different view of the area....secluded lakes, antelope or moose. There were also afternoon activities---the guys enjoyed shooting one day. We rested a bit before dinner on our porch and then enjoyed happy hour with tasty appetizers (smoked salmon, etc) & another wonderful meal. Dinner food ranged from chicken cordon bleu, beef brisket to grilled mahi mahi with seaweed salad. You could ask if you needed a different selection but we found the food tasty and varied, so we went with their choice. They came around to advise on wine and drink selections. After dinner, there was always an activity as the sun didn't set until 9:30 or 10. One evening was lasso lessons and another was a cowboy singing songs & telling stories. I think they also had line dancing, which I wanted to do, but you cannot do everything. Our cookout evening moved indoors as the temperature dropped and it was very windy.
Some have commented upon the cabin, but we found ours to be wonderful. We opened the windows at night (it was warm inside), and we were fine. The beds & quilts were very comfortable. Plenty of hot water. A real highlight were the people there. The activities director was friendly and accomodating. He even offered a special time for fly fishing lessons when we asked about when we might do that (afternoons might be windy and not best for beginning fly fishermen so you want them early). We didn't get to experience fishing as all were too happy with horses. The staff incorporated both european and american help. All were involved, interesting, friendly and great fun to be around...answering questions, asking you questions, making suggestions, and generally being welcoming and helpful. The other guests were also fun to be around and you could always learn from their daily adventures, either with you on a ride or at happy hour or dinner. Helpful in planning the next day! All things considered, Goosewing Ranch was a huge family hit....one that my children and husband are eager to repeat! Next time, we might stay a week and temper the riding with some relaxing fishing.

Room Tip: If you don't want a short, uphill walk (altitude issues may bother some upon arrival in Wyoming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

Disclaimer>>>>>>> We visited the ranch during the third week of operation during the 2012 season and my wife and I are seasoned riders<<<<<<<<

First off - Rent a car and get to the ranch yourself. Its quite a trip but you'll save money in the long run if you plan to stay a week. We opted for the $150 roundtrip shuttle service from the ranch.
We arrived at the airport and notice several rugged young cowboys and cowgirls holding signs at the gates looking for their guest . We expected to bump into someone from the ranch to grab our luggage and walk us to a van. No one was there ! We waited until everyone else had been wished away to start their vacation, still no sign of anyone from the ranch. Nervously a called the ranch 3 times and got an answering machine! I decided to walk outside and asked the sky cap if he might have seen anyone from Goosewing. He pointed a crossed the road to a young man leaning against a extended cab 1 ton truck and said thats him. Turned out it was the ranch forman and he wouldn't leave his truck. So we drug our luggage out of the terminal and settled in for a very long semi rough ride in a 1 ton truck to the ranch.
We started our stay in the middle of the week and didn't get much information on the lay of the land. Apparently Sunday is orientation night. After that your on your own. "Here's for key, theres your cabin over there"
Activities are cleverly listed and scheduled however you got to remember your on "ranch time".
Not everything was as listed. Activities were un organized and boring. The exception was the horseback riding! Beautiful well cared for , healthy horses. A fair choice of rides, better than average wranglers, good tack, and great attention to safety! In fact if your an experienced rider you might feel somewhat coddled. Even though we were told we could tack and groom if we wanted to, the standing rule was don't dismount or mount without wranglers help and keep a fence between you and the horse.
The food was fantastic and portions were large, however you ate breakfast between 8-9 lunch at noon, and dinner between 7 and eight. There was one main item each dinner meal and that was it unless you asked. And that seemed to be the lesson learned......You want it ASK!
Water , iced tea, and lemon aid at lunch and dinner unless you asked for something else.
The cabin was nice. Warm on cold nights and warmer on hot days. No Air conditioning , no fans, and small windows. Water pressure was low but plenty of hot water!
The best addition this year is the 4wd rangers. Besides the horses, its the best way to get out and explore the area.
The pool was wonderful well cared for and heated. Fly fishing in the small lake was ok for first timers but the fish are also well cared for and fed so they didn't bite much. Fly fishing lessons were earlier in the week and we couldn't get anyone to commit to planning another lesson for us.

All in all a good time but needs improvement. I hope we just caught them in the beginning of the season on a learning curve.

Room Tip: All cabins face the afternoon sun. No fans no AC. July and August might be rough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Goosewing Ranch, responded to this review, July 1, 2012
At Goosewing Ranch we value your suggestions and are constantly striving to make sure all our guests have a superb guest ranch vacation in Jackson Hole.
Thank you for your kind comments about our pool, meals, cabins, horses and wranglers. We take pride in providing our guests with great equipment and service. We encourage our guests to let us know how we can better serve each of them throughout their stay with us. Please feel free to contact us with questions on our activity schedule or other programs. We look forward serving our guests and showing them the best in western hospitality.
Hint: July and August will still see evening temps dropping into the low 40s. To help keep your cabin cool all day we suggest that you open your windows at night and in the morning to allow that cool air to flow through your cabin, then before it warms up for the day close your windows and curtains to keep the cool air inside and sunlight out. Your cabin will stay cool and comfortable all day long!

Thank you,
Amy Worster, General Manager Goosewing Ranch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

We went to Goosewing in July 2012. It is the ideal true escape. Goosewing is located in a river valley so the sky is huge and the vistas are everywhere. The horses are grazing in view from our cozy cabin. The service could not be beat- Chris carefully planned every ride - and we weren't easy- our younger daughter was only five so she could not leave the pasture- while our 7 year old needed age appropriate trails. They achieved the balance perfectly. Safety was always a priority never compromised The trail rides were amazing, the horses perfectly matched, the food excellent. Whn we werent riding we were always busy- Cody had infinite patience -we loved canoeing the pond, learning to flyfish, spreading hay, painting horses, and shooting arrows. Every night after dinner there was entertainment- kickball was our favorite!

To wake up every morning to a fire in the gas stove, spend the day seeing the west on a horse, and go to sleep under a star filled sky defines a true vacation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bricklinng
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife, children and I spent a week at Goosewing Ranch in Wyoming. Overall we were really satisfied. The riding was well organized, the horses were fine and healthy and the scenery was wonderful. The food and accommodations were first rate. Because the pricing is all inclusive (ex alcohol), we spent almost nothing extra.

The owner is French and heavily markets in Europe. During our stay US residents were a minority. This might be good/bad for you, but it is probably unusual. Management's concern for details of our stay seemed less at the end of our stay than at the beginning.

We had looked at Red Rock ranch on the internet and might have gone there but it was full. We passed it along the 1 hr 30 min ride from Jackson (mostly unpaved road). If we went again to the area we might give Red Rock a try just to get a comparison. We did note that Red Rock riders had helmets whereas there were none at Goosewing. So maybe Red Rock is more safety conscious, although we did like wearing our new cowboy hats.

One sour note (perhaps universal and not just Goosewing): mosquitos. They were AWFUL. We were driven away from the pool one afternoon and I would never again try an outdoor cookout even if it meant skipping dinner.

Room Tip: Cabin close to main lodge gets internet, otherwise not
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy W, General Manager at Goosewing Ranch, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
At Goosewing Ranch, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. We are glad that you enjoyed your summer vacation with us. Upon thorough review of the information you have brought to our attention here, we want to thank you for emphasizing some areas in need of improvement. We are in constant pursuit of perfection and are already working on solutions that will prevent similar problems from occurring in the future.
Although safety is everyone’s first priority here at Goosewing Ranch(we had a 0 accident mark this summer), we choose not to force our guests to wear helmets if they do not wish to do so. However, helmets are conveniently located in our tack room for you to use.
Mosquitoes are a constant battle everywhere, this summer more than ever. So, we have invested in ways to combat them and kill the nests before they have a chance to hatch. We are confident that this will make your stay even more enjoyable in the years to come.
Also, we now have FREE Wi-Fi throughout the ranch, including in all cabins.
Goosewing Ranch is a very special and unique place where cultures from around the world can come together because of their love for the western way of life and the surrounding beauty. Some weeks see more diversity than others. Overall, U.S. guests still represent more than 85% of our clientele.
We deeply value your relationship with Goosewing Ranch and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best! All week long!
Thank you for helping us to improve from great to greater.
Please check out our website for all of the new.
Amy DeCarolis
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

You take vacations to unwind, relax and create memories for a lifetime. You can put all of that into the Goosewing Ranch. From the moment you turn up the road and the pavement ends, you are transformed into another word. The best way for us to describe the ranch is a place that time forgot. You can horseback ride, mountain bike, hike, fish, swim, they have kids activities, and some nights they bring a cowboy guitar player just to complement the ambiance. The log cabins are all unique, the lodge is an amazing log structure that makes you feel like you are always home. They are right on a river, with wonderful mountain scenery wrapped all around you. The chef they have at the ranch has such a great menu for each meal. We can guarantee you will never go hungry. The staff at the ranch make you feel right at home from the moment you arrive. There is a beautiful swimming pool at the edge of a lovely pond that makes more the most magical sunsets. At night you can sit out on your porch and enjoy the silence of the wind, the river, and wildlife in all direction. We heard elk bugle, coyote calling from a distance, a true western way of life. We are grateful in every way to have these memories for a lifetime. Everyone we talked to at the ranch had the same comments. You have access to the internet if you want it, but thankfully not it the rooms. Leave the work at home, disconnect yourself from any stress and pressure. It almost makes us not want to tell anyone about it. Don't miss this trip, it is the trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

We had the pleasure of being the first guests of the season, June 5-12, 2011. We arranged to be picked up with other members of our family on June 5th in Jackson. John was assigned to pick six of us up at a hotel, right on time. He greeted us with a smile and welcome. We felt this might be the start of something great, and it was.

When we arrived, we were enthusiatically welcomed by the staff, checked in, and assigned our cabins, 8 & 10. Our luggage was delivered to our cabins, on the porch. We had cabin 8, which is a brand new cabin and it was great! The main bedroom had a raised queen bed with great pillows. The other room had a queen bed & bunk beds. Since our son was solo, he had this room to himself. The furnishings were aesthetically in form and decorated with great bedding. The bathroom was basic but had a vanity large enought for three people to store their toiletries for the week. There is a small refrigerator in the room along with a wall mounted hair dryer. The view of not only this cabin but all cabins overlooked the Snake River, hills, pasture and tack room and main lodge. So peaceful and beautiful.

The first night at dinner, the entire staff introduced themselves and the head wrangler, Kris went ot each table to assess our riding abilities. This was to help her assess which horse would be best suited for whom.

The next morning, after breakfast, we met at the tack room. We were all greeted with smiles & enthusiasm, and understanding for a novice rider (me). After assisting us in the arena in order to match our self-description with the reality, we were good to go. The rest of the week went as wonderfully and supportive. Although some in our families had better riding abilities than some, we equally received the same support & care. Rides were essentially tailored to the ability level and the trails were great.

The food was good. The only thing they need to do is not serve leftovers towards the end of the week. I really did not want to see the potato salad for three days. They also need to be sensitive that not everyone can eat spciy foods. There were two dinners which I could not eat and there were no other options. In balance, each day there were delicious homemade cookies & brownies in the afternoon. What a nice touch once you've returned from outdoor activities!

The activity schedule was developed daily, based upon what guests wanted to do. There was a framework, but much was planned based upon what the guests wanted to do. Initially, this was unnerving, but as the week progressed, it turned out to be a wonderful thing. Several nights there were indoor or outdoor activities based upon the everchanging weather. Flexibility is one of the hallmarks of Goosewing Ranch.

We found the ENTIRE staff to be overwhelmingly accommodating to each of us. In many ways, we were treated like family, not guests. This has never happended on any vacation we've taken. Just phenominal. Many of the staff easily mingled with the guests after dinner as well as during the day. They all are comfortable interacting with those who come for an experience. From Francois, the owner (tres charming & personable); to Amy, the manager; Kris, the head wrangler; Eric, the foreman; Cody, activity director; Sueshi, the dining room manager and many others (Emily, Katy, Celia-wranglers), kitchen staff, dining room staff-nothing left to say but "Wow"!

Overall, the ambience of the main lodge (huge fireplace, usually stoked), the extra grace and care of all who work here, the quality & cleanliness of the cabins, the activities, inlcuding daily riding, makes this a wonderful, relaxing place to be with those you love. We have not yet decided when we will return, but we will. We are spoiled.

This is a great value not only from the standpoint of being an all-inclusive (barring alcohol) ranch. Goosewing is truly an experience not only in having ranch experience but also it is literally a warm environment in which you can hang your hat and put up your booted feet and say, "I'm home, at least for now."

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Goosewing Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goosewing Ranch

Address: 650 W. Broadway, P.O. Box 4084, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Specialty lodging in Jackson
Hotel Class:3 star — Goosewing Ranch 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome To Our Jackson Hole, Wyoming Summer Vacation Guest Ranch!Here at Goosewing Ranch, we combine the lifestyle of ranching in the Wyoming wilderness with many of the modern refinements that make your visit with us especially enjoyable.At 7,400 feet, the valley is the host to some of North America’s most spectacular game: elk, moose, mountain sheep, antelope, bear, eagles, geese, cranes, and much more, not to mention fantastic scenery. The Gros Ventre River, home to native cutthroat trout, runs through the meadows of our historic ranch.Our Jackson Hole dude ranch offers comfortable lodging in eight private guest cabins and three larger 2-bedroom cabins for bigger families. Complimentary wireless internet is provided throughout the Ranch. With its large stone fireplace, the main lodge serves as a central gathering place for dining or relaxing. A loft with a pool table and television overlooks the main room. Fireplaces, wood-stoves, a hot tub and swimming pool add to the cozy atmosphere. A large selection of beer, wine, and liquor compliments an eclectic, seasonal menu.We invite you to come share this corner of North America’s wildest country just as it has been for over a hundred years – a working ranch reborn as an isolated retreat deep in the Gros Ventre River Valley. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Goosewing Ranch Hotel Jackson
Goosewing Ranch Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goosewing Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Goosewing Ranch to your Saves list