We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife Expeditions” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours

Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours
Home Ranch Public Parking Lot, corner of Cache Street and Gill Streets, Jackson, WY 83002
+1 307-733-2623
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 98 Activities in Jackson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools is Jackson Hole's original and oldest wildlife safari specialists. Wildlife Expeditions is one program area of Teton Science Schools, a non-profit 501(c)(3) educational organization. We have a well-earned reputation of locating all kinds of wildlife in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We provide fascinating educational experiences in a fun and relaxed environment. Animals that may be observed during our expeditions include elk, moose, bison, pronghorn antelope, bighorn sheep, mule deer, wolves and bears. All trips are led by our staff biologists in custom safari-style vehicles. High quality optics and amenities are provided for all participants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wildlife Expeditions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Dawson Smith was an outstanding guide. He was affable and most importantly, immeasurably knowledgeable of the flora and fauna of the Tetons. We unequivocally recommend Dawson and the Teton Science School. We took our tour in late December 2013 and viewed elk, moose, bighorn sheep, bald eagles, bison and mull deer.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review of your expedition with Dawson. I know that you found our program through a brochure. We believe in education as the primary component of our programs. It is also important to incorporate entertainment and personality. Based upon your amazing feedback Dawson was able to accomplish all of this for you. Thank you for choosing Wildlife Expeditions as your educational tour provider. - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    12
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
“Can't wait to go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

This was probably the highlight of our trip to Jackson. We went to go play in the snow…snowmobile, dog sled etc. but I saw Wildlife Expeditions on Trip Advisor and the reviews made me think we might need to try this. It was fabulous! And by far the best value of everything we did. We had Eric as our guide and we saw Big Horn Sheep, Moose, Elk, Antelope, Bison, Bald Eagles. It was amazing! He knew exactly where to go and had an eye for finding even the most hidden animals. He was so knowledgeable. It was a really special afternoon, and we will certainly do this again the next time we are in Jackson. Make your reservations now..you will NOT be disappointed.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful praise about Erik and our program. We are thrilled that you found us TripAdvisor.com. It is our pleasure and privilege to share this unique valley and its wild inhabitants with our guests. There are many places to go to play in the snow, ski, snowmobile...there are very few places you can go in the lower 48 states where you can reasonably witness so much wildness. We are fortunate to have great herds of elk, bison, moose and bighorn sheep. You add in the bird life and carnivores and the struggle for survival often unfolds before our eyes. Thank you for sharing your experience with others. - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“A great tour of the Teton wildlife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I recently had a great tour of the wildlife in the Jackson Hole area. The tour was setup by the concierge at the Inn I was staying at. The first remarkable thing was the availability of the tour during thanksgiving week. As I was traveling by myself, this posed to be a problem for several other tour groups but not for the Wildlife Expeditions. Upon arrival of my tour guide, Sarah, I found out that I was the lone participant in the tour. Sarah did not seem to mind at all. She was very knowledgeable about all the wildlife we saw and she knew exactly where and when to go to see all the different species. We saw elk, swans, ducks, muskrats, bison, and moose. In our pursuit of bison, we drove all over until we made sure we found them. And we found 16 moose in various locations .. a record number for a 4 hour tour. She also helped take pictures through the telescope, so I have some great close up shots. I would recommend Wildlife Expeditions of TSS to anyone wanting a great tour from a knowledgeable tour guide!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
We are thrilled that you were referred by a hotel concierge. You are correct; most businesses do not offer programs for a single guest. Two guests cancelled because they were unable to make it into town for your scheduled expedition. We believe that the right thing was to continue to take the single guest out regardless. We are in the business of educating visitors to our ecosystem. It sure sounds like you were able to have an educational and entertaining day with Sarah. Doing a program for one participant may not be the best financial decision for our business but it is the right decision for our guests. Thank you for travelling with Wildlife Expeditions. - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A tour of the Lower Loop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

A friend told me to just rent a car and drive myself to save money, but am I ever glad that I did not listen to her!! Instead, we booked a 12 hr. tour of the Lower Loop, and Sarah was our incredible guide. On the way, she provided fresh berry-filled muffins and hot coffee for breakfast, and she started spotting animals right from the start! We saw moose, elk, bear, foxes, a wolf, trumpeter swans and a variety of birds and ducks. Photos taken through the lens of Sarah's scope are spectacular and worthy of framing!! She knew about the geology, the geography, the volcano, the canyon, the lakes, the hot springs, the mud pots, the Dragon's Mouth cave, and she pulled up to the Old Faithful viewing area not five minutes before the geyser erupted! Her knowledge of the park and the behavior of the animals was amazing, and she competently and confidently led us throughout the day. We had lunch at a beautiful spot beside a babbling stream, and she had great snacks for us to enjoy as well. It was an action packed day rich in information about Yellowstone, Jenny Lake and the Teton National Forest, and I never would have learned even a smidgeon of what she taught us had we tried to drive ourselves!! I think we would have spent all of our time studying a map, and we would have totally missed the many marvelous sights that Sarah was able to point out to us and to educate us about. I would recommend her highly!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful praise of Sarah and Wildlife Expeditions. We absolutely agree that taking a guided tour is a more powerful experience than just driving yourself. We strive to provide the most efficient use of time while traveling through Yellowstone. Sarah is a wealth of knowledge, her passion clearly comes through. We are happy to provide our guests with the tools and amenities for a successful day in the field. Thank you for your wonderful feedback, we hope to see you again. Thank You - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
“Sunset Expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The Four Season recommended TSS Wildlife Expeditions. We opted for the 4 hour sunset tour which was amazing. We saw all sorts of animals and even came within 30 feet of a moose! Sarah was great and show us how to take pictures through the telescopes. This is the 2nd time I did the Teton Wildlife tour and would definitely recommend it!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with others. The best praise we can receive is from returning participants and partners like the Four Seasons Jackson Hole. We appreciate that you chose to travel with Wildlife Expeditions. Sarah is a gem of a naturalist. I am proud of her ability to facilitate amazing experiences with her guests. We look forward to sharing our backyard with you again. Thank You - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.