We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Topped off our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours

Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours
Home Ranch Public Parking Lot, corner of Cache Street and Gill Streets, Jackson, WY 83002
+1 307-733-2623
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools is Jackson Hole's original and oldest wildlife safari specialists. Wildlife Expeditions is one program area of Teton Science Schools, a non-profit 501(c)(3) educational organization. We have a well-earned reputation of locating all kinds of wildlife in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We provide fascinating educational experiences in a fun and relaxed environment. Animals that may be observed during our expeditions include elk, moose, bison, pronghorn antelope, bighorn sheep, mule deer, wolves and bears. All trips are led by our staff biologists in custom safari-style vehicles. High quality optics and amenities are provided for all participants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Carmichael, California
1 review
“Topped off our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Our guide,Jessica,was knowledgeable,fun and as interested in showing us wildlife as we were in seeing as much as we could. She delivered! We saw bison up close,elk in several spots and situations,numerous pronghorn, beaver and best of all three bull moose and a cow grazing by the river. Jessica did a great job,answering all our questions and really enjoyed what she was doing.
thanks guys-we'll pass the word.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Another glowing review of an expedition with Jessie. We are fortunate to live and work in a place where we can realistically see so much wildlife in just a few short hours. We are proud of our guides, business and industry. Thank you for choosing to travel with Wildlife Expeditions and sharing your experience with others. - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    14
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rock Valley, Iowa
1 review
“Lower Loop Expedition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We went on the Lower Loop Expedition because my husband and our kids (18,20,22) had never been to the Grand Tetons or Yellowstone - and my husband didn't want to worry about the driving, but could instead just look around and take it all in (and we could get "the lay of the land" for the next three days that we were in the area). Jessi was our guide for the day, and she was right on time at our motel at 6 AM with muffins, coffee, and hot chocolate - and a smile on her face! We ended up having a van with just our family of five - which was very nice. We were all given binoculars to use for the day (which we missed using for the rest of the trip). Jessi asked us if there were any sites that we particularly wanted to see, and if they were on the Lower Loop, she would make sure we saw them. Jessi answered all of our questions in regards to the mountains, geothermal features, animals, and plants. She even had a Rubbermaid container with horns and antlers along - as well as many books that we could look through if she wasn't quite sure of the answer, or to show us a picture of some of the animals or plants we were asking questions about. We had a wonderful, delicious picnic lunch along the way - which was fun for our family - we also were provided with snacks and water during the trip. We saw Elk, Pronghorns, Osprey, & Bison on our trip. Jessi had great suggestions for what sites to take in the following three days. The trip is a little expensive, it's a long day, but we enjoyed the trip and felt it was a good way to start our vacation. I felt that because of our expedition, we appreciated Yellowstone much more than we had expected to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Appreciation of the National Parks is our ultimate goal. Job well done Jessie! Thank you for choosing to partake in a guided experience of Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks. Jessie is a passionate young naturalist. I am thrilled that she asked about you particular desires and was able to deliver the end product. Thank you for taking the time to review Wildlife Expeditions and Jessie. - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
“Wildlife Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked a sunset wildlife tour with TSS during our trip to Jackson, WY. We loved every minute of it! Our tour guide, Jacob, was very knowledgeable and took extra effort to involve our children, who were 7 and 5 years old at the time. We saw bison, elk, pronghorn, and moose. Jacob took us to a spot where we we saw two bull moose, as well as a mother and baby moose together. It was spectacular! The van was equipped with multiple pairs of binoculars, and Jacob had two spotting scopes that he set up. Overall, it was a very worthwhile trip, and we would definitely recommend it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Great review! Thank you for the kind words about Jacob and our program. Jacob is an incredibly caring young man. His ability to connect all generations to the natural world is amazing. We are thrilled that you and your children enjoyed the experience. Thank You -
Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“learned so much!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Our senior biologist, Paul Brown, picked us up at our hotel at 6am and greeted us with coffee, hot chocolate, and muffins! since we are a family of 6 we decided to pay a little extra to have a van to ourselves. Paul immediately brought us to a spot where we watched 2 young male grizzly bears. He told us all about these specific bears and his binoculars and scopes made them seem so close! among other places, he brought us to a beautiful pond off a long dirt road, where we watched a trumpeter swan swimming. It was fantastic being the only people there, obviously a place we would NEVER have found on our own. Paul was incredibly knowledgable. It was so great to be able to ask any question I thought of about anything I saw, and he knew the answer! He taught us so much about the wildlife, their habitats, and the landscape of GTNP. He even knew all about the trees/shrubs/ flowers that we saw, which really interested me. This was the absolute highlight of our week in Jackson Hole and worth every penny. I recommend doing this early in your stay because you will learn so much useful information about the parks and the wildlife. thanks Paul!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding Paul. Paul has been a key member of the Teton Science Schools community for over 12 years. His guiding experiences are unmatched by others in the ecosystem. Paul has worked as a wolf researcher in Yellowstone and his insight into the day to day ecology of the region is exceptional. We are proud of Paul and his passion for educating others. Thank You - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Yellowstone Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

As a family of five, with a 14, 12 and 6 year old, we spent 12 hours touring Yellowstone with Mark Byall. We saw so many different features of Yellowstone Park the day just flew by, even for my six year old! We showed off all of the pictures we took and all three of our children were able to share specific facts Mark told us about Yellowstone to our family and friends. Much to our delight, Mark took us on our second tour of the vacation and we saw two wolf cubs at Grand Teton National Park! Our vacation together as a family would not have been nearly as memorable if it hadn't been for Mark, his enthusiasm for our family adventure and all of the cool facts he presented to us! Great Time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for the kind words about Mark and your expeditions. It is always a pleasure to be able to spend several days with our guests. Having the ability to customize the experience to the guests desires is paramount. We are thrilled you enjoyed your time with Mark. We hope to see you in the area again. Thank You - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.