We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wildlife Expeditions: Teton National Park and the National Elk Refuge” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours

Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours
Home Ranch Public Parking Lot, corner of Cache Street and Gill Streets, Jackson, WY 83002
+1 307-733-2623
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools is Jackson Hole's original and oldest wildlife safari specialists. Wildlife Expeditions is one program area of Teton Science Schools, a non-profit 501(c)(3) educational organization. We have a well-earned reputation of locating all kinds of wildlife in the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We provide fascinating educational experiences in a fun and relaxed environment. Animals that may be observed during our expeditions include elk, moose, bison, pronghorn antelope, bighorn sheep, mule deer, wolves and bears. All trips are led by our staff biologists in custom safari-style vehicles. High quality optics and amenities are provided for all participants.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wildlife Expeditions: Teton National Park and the National Elk Refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We had a phenomenal time with our guide, Erik Nelson on a tour of the National Elk Refuge and Teton National Park. He was very enthusiastic and knowledgeable about our trip as well as all the various wildlife in the parks and the history of the area. My mother and I went on the trip hoping to see some big game and came away more than impressed. We saw a male bighorn sheep from about six feet, 6 herds of elk, a massive herd of buffalo, 11 moose, trumpeter swans, 20+ mule deer, coyotes, ravens, a golden hawk, and a bald eagle. Erik got us right into the middle of the action and was quick with binoculars and scopes so we were able to have the best view possible of all the animals. We truly had an unforgettable experience and I would highly encourage anyone to take this opportunity if ever in Jackson or the surrounding area. Patrick D

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Another great review about spending the day with Erik Nelson. Getting right into the action is our goal. Each day presents new and different wildlife viewing opportunities. We believe that providing high quality optics for each participant is a key to success. With Erik's knowledge and good set of binoculars you feel right in the middle of the action. Actually, you were right in the action, feet from sheep and bison. Yet, still safe and respectful. Way to go Erik. Thank you for the review. Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    14
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable trip with Sean Beckett”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My husband and I took a sunset tour with Sean Beckett with the Teton Science Schools and enjoyed it more than anything else we did on our vacation to Jackson Hole. We went into the Elk Refuge and found golden eagles and bald eagles and trumpeter swans as well as big horned sheep. Sean got us right in the middle of the buffalo herd, then he found multiple herds of elk on the west side of the Snake River. They were hanging out there to avoid hunters. We estimated that we saw 700 or more elk. We also toured the beaver dam site and learned about their amazing efforts to thwart the destruction of their dam.

Sean is not only well-educated, he is passionate about wildlife biology and it shows. He is strongest in ornithology but he is also a very good teacher and very knowledgeable about the ecology of the Grand Tetons and Jackson Hole. We certainly picked his brain and we appreciated the opportunity to do so. Thank you Sean! (Next time we will bring a camera with as much zoom as we can find).

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your expedition with Sean Beckett. Your visit to Jackson Hole was during the "off-season" for tourists. Well, as you witnessed there is no "off-season" for wildlife. The animals that call Jackson Hole home are constantly battling the elements and we have the opportunity to watch that battle unfold. Sean is an exceptional birder; however his knowledge also encompasses local history, geology and culture of Jackson Hole. Thanks again for the outstanding review. - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Jack and I went out with Eric Nelson yesterday for our Eco-Tour. We were the only ones on trip so Eric personalized it to us, I wanted to see a moose. Being from the south and this being first experience with snow and these amazing creatures, I could have no hand picked a better person to guide us through it! Eric's knowledge and passion was evident with ever word he spoke, as was his love for these animals! It is nice to take a tour where the guide is still in awe of what he is seeing, most guides are repeating rehearsed lines to get a paycheck. Not Eric, he was as excited as we were when the Big Horned Sheep were licking the salt off the car! If I could have given you 10 stars, I would have! Thanks again! Jack and Kristen, Florida

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you taking the time to explore Grand Teton National Park and the surrounding area with Erik Nelson. Erik is extremely passionate about conservation, wildlife and the Greater Yellowstone Ecosystem. We are pleased that you were able to experience the snow, moose and sheep. Winter is a special time in Jackson Hole. To witness our wildlife populations enduring the elements is truly humbling. Thank you for your review. -Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Tour of Teton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The 4 hour Dusk Wildlife Safari into Grand Teton National Park was wonderful! Our guide, Natalie Converse, was knowledgeable, patient and easy to be around. She made certain that the experience was memorable. We saw bison, pronghorn deer, elk, osprey and (the highlight) a moose cow and her calf. It was a marvelous way to spend my last evening in Jackson Hole.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your expedition with Natalie. Natalie's joyous attitude shines through. It is always a pleasure hearing from our guests about the knowledge that our guides provide. Wildlife Expeditions hires biologists not only for their formal education but also their ablility to provide an education in a delightful way. Natalie is one of the best. Thank You - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Point, Iowa
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great all day trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

My wife and I took the 8 hour wildlife expedition with Brad Cole. He was awesome and really took a lot time to try to find us all the animals that we wanted to see. It was a hard day with rain, sleet and snow but we still managed to see buffaloes, big horn sheep, a coyote, lots of birds, elk and other small critters. We had a great lunch as part of the trip and were taken to places we would not have even thought of to visit. It was worth every penny and I would recommend it to anyone who really wants to see the area.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jared B, Manager at Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Even rain, sleet and snow can't stop Brad Cole from providing an outstanding expedition. Thank you for sharing your experiences with others. We often receive comments about less then desirable weather. While we (people) have the option to stay inside the wildlife must find away to endure poor weather. It is often on foul weather days that we see the dramatic struggle of survival unfold before our eyes. Thanks again for reviewing your expedition. - Jared Baecker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wildlife Expeditions of Teton Science Schools - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.