We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blissful trip down the Snake” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mad River Boat Trips

Mad River Boat Trips
1255 S. Highway 89, Jackson, WY 83002
307-733-6203
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #16 of 82 activities in Jackson
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Is it the guide? Is it the river? Is it the experience? Here at Mad River, we believe it is all three. Whether you choose a relaxing scenic float or an exhilarating whitewater adventure, you'll find our entire crew prides themselves in providing the very best, most exciting river trip you can take in Jackson Hole. Come, take a trip with Mad River. We guarantee it will be one you remember for a lifetime.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Blissful trip down the Snake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

How perfect is it to take a sunny day, your employees and the local owners down the Snake! We locals also need to experience our backyard, a great company and service, and relax during our busy summer season. It is a perfect way to absorb this beautiful canyon, jump into the water, listen to some tales, and paddle into the whitewater without reservation. Plan a trip with Mad River next summer!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    11
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Outstanding trip and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Service exceeded expectations. Was able to change our reservations last minute without any problem, and credited difference. Professional staff, equiptment was in good shape, including rental suits/booties. Informative guide, open to questions esp from the kids. Hot drinks served after arrival back at base. Great experience

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Our staff strives to excel to provide excellent customer service to ensure that each and every customer has a wonderful memorable experience with us at Mad River Boat Trips. All of our crew are thrilled that you had a great time with us on the river! We can not thank you enough for your kind words and everyone is looking forward to seeing you again next time in Jackson Hole. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Very Professional Company”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Took early am scenic float Sep 26. Staff wonderful and very professional. Enjoyed the breakfast wraps (which came from Cafe Boheme). Our guide/rafter John Wayne was personable and knowledgeable. Had the greatest time.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Our staff want to thank you for taking your time to share your thoughts and comments with us and other travelers. John Wayne is glad to hear that you had great time with him on the scenic float down the Snake River. We hope you come back and see us again on the next visit to Jackson Hole!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great family rafting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We took the entire day of rafting where during the day you float the "scenic" part of the river and then at night you go through the rapids stopping in the middle to have dinner. Both of our guides were great and did a great job of pointing out the wildlife. The dinner was excellent. I would suggest this rafting tour for everyone, especially the dinner rafting. We had a 5 year old with us and he enjoyed it just as much as us so it is very safe for children. Just don't tell them we had a 5 year old because I don't think they allow children under 6. :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments and we are glad to hear that your family enjoyed your rafting experience with us. We were caught a little off guard because we didn't have any participation agreements for children younger than 6 years old that day... We do want to caution all the families rafting with us to please take care when signing legal documents such as these. All of our policies are put in place with our guests' safety in mind and we caution everyone against accepting unnecessary risks. We hope that your Jackson Hole vacation was wonderful and we hope to see you back again soon. And hey, next year, your child meets the minimum age requirement! :) Sincerely, the Mad River Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Mad River small boat 8 people 12:00 to 3:30 Snake River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Excellent. Mark our guide was awesome! We had our family on the boat. We have done the Snake river over the years and by far this was our best experience because of our guide. He let encouraged our kids to have fun, do flips of the raft, try balancing on the raft as we go in circles, let each one "ride the bull" on different rapids. It was a high light of our weekend vacation. We will return to Mad River Boat rides and request Mark. The Stanley Family

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADRIVERJACKSONHOLE, Manager at Mad River Boat Trips, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It looks like the family had a excellent time during your recent excursion down the canyon of the Snake River. Mark appreciates your kind words and is happy that everyone had such a great time with him. We can not tell you how much it means to hear that spending time with each other and us at Mad River was the highlight of your vacation. Thank you for taking your time to share your comments and pictures. Please come back and see us again anytime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mad River Boat Trips also viewed

 

Been to Mad River Boat Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mad River Boat Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mad River Boat Trips to your Saves list