We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh Give Me a Home...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antelope Flats

Antelope Flats
Jackson, WY
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 Attractions in Jackson
Type: Biking Trails, Outdoors
Activities: Mountain biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: About 12 miles from the heart of Jackson, this trail is not as strenuous as some but offers a spectacular view of the Grand Tetons and the occasional antelope.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Oh Give Me a Home...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Maybe we got lucky...we saw a huge herd of Bison traveling through the Antelope Flats area while we were in Jackson. Several crossed the road maybe 40 yards in front of our car. Awesome experience. Gorgeus mountain views from here (especially when Bison are in the foreground!)

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    35
    6
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Fantastic Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The Tetons are magnificent from here and the iconic photographs can be re- created. It is also a place of great serenity. I felt humbled as the buffalo passed by in a long trail just yards from me.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Road, amazing wildlife and amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

A trip to the Tetons would not be complete without a drive -or two- on Antelope Flats. It is a relatively quiet area, which is nice. The views of the Tetons are absolutely amazing. The famous Moulton Barn is also there. One of the most famous pictures is the Moulton barn with the Tetons in the background. Some of the other buildings are there and it is very neat to imagine how the people lived there many years ago. Amazing history.
The wildlife is amazing here too. The bison - with babies - are usually there. We have also seen pronghorn, Moose, coyote, bluebirds, kestrels, and the fun to photograph ground squirrels. The bison roam freely and very frequently will cross in front of your car. They are so close, you can photograph and watch from the safety of your car.
It is a beautiful and serene place. Don't miss Antelope flats!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“beautiful country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wide open plains with wild buffalo with the magical Teton range in the distance. Almost doesn't feel real it's so beautiful and perfect.
Should be on everyones list as a top thing to do when visiting Jackson.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, KY
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
67 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Very scenic valley drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We saw lots of buffalo, including a mama with calf crossing the road. Open fields with mountains all around make for a beautiful drive.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antelope Flats also viewed

 

Been to Antelope Flats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antelope Flats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.