We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cache Creek/Game Creek Loop

Cache Creek/Game Creek Loop
Jackson, WY
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 67 things to do in Jackson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 23-mile scenic ride offers wide jeep trails past a beautiful canopy of conifers to high alpine meadows.
Algodones, New Mexico
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great hike.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

If you want some fresh air, this hike is a beautiful one. It's especially nice when we visited in September. The smoke from a surrounding fire made it a little less so, but we can just imagine how great it is on a clearer day!

Visited September 2012
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Novice mountain biking on Cache Creek Trail”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Second "warm-weather" trip to JH, and decided to try some "real" mountain biking, i.e. rented bikes at Hoback Sports, and headed to the Cache Creek Trail head on the south-east end of town. A friend had told us this would be a good place to start, as the main trail is fairly wide most of the way, not too steep, and very scenic. My husband and I are avid road cyclists, but still found the trek to the 4-mile mark challenging. Lots of rocks to avoid, some quite steep bits, hot weather (about 80 degrees F), but through lovely woods, often skirting the beautiful creek. We were passed by about a half dozen more experienced bikers who took off along various side tracks - were glad to see that all walked up parts of their trails before disappearing from view amongst the trees! Ate a picnic lunch on a small wooden bridge spanning the creek on the way down, then took off on some narrow side tracks (though within sight of the main trail). Coming down was a blast, but take care on narrow, windy sections with significant drop-offs to one side. Will definitely try this again!

Visited September 2012
2 Thank eaburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classic mountain bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

There is nothing more classic about the mountain bike ride known as Cache to Game. If you don't have a mountain bike, rent one at several shops and arrange to do this trip.

Visited August 2011
2 Thank outsidepatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Attalla, Alabama
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Lots of wintering animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Saw bison, grouses, elk, otters in a beautiful snowy setting.

Visited March 2012
2 Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson Hole, WY
Level Contributor
181 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Unbelievable wildflowers in June & July”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I have never hiked this whole loop--but I've done the two ends of the trail. Putt-Putt (Cache Creek end) is a favorite local "in-town" trail. The Gros Ventre Wilderness abuts the town of Jackson and this trail is within that designated wilderness area. Unfortunately, the trail is close enough to town that it is heavily used by hikers, dog walkers and mountain bikers--so it doesn't feel like you are alone in the wilderness. BUT, it is such a treasure to be able to quick hike so close to town in such a beautiful valley. There are a huge variety of wildflowers starting as soon as the snow melts and depending on how much rain we might get in June, extends into July. Even if you only have 1 hour for a walk--this is the place to go.
Game Creek is similar, but is south of Jackson about 5 miles. It is not as heavily used and the wild flowers are equally beautiful--also perfect for a quick hike.
I suspect mountain bikers (I am not one) really enjoy doing the whole loop.

Visited February 2012
4 Thank dkudu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cache Creek/Game Creek Loop also viewed

Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole
Jackson, Jackson Hole

Been to Cache Creek/Game Creek Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing