We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cheap must do in Jackson.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Elk Refuge

National Elk Refuge
Elk Refuge Rd, Jackson, WY 83001
307 733 9212
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$125*
and up
Grand Teton Small-Group Wildlife Safari by Jeep
Ranked #5 of 19 Attractions in Jackson
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Activities: Viewing wildlife
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This valley is an ancient elk wintering ground and is located three miles north of Jackson.
Jupiter, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A cheap must do in Jackson.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stop a the Wild Life Center just before you enter town and get a ticket to this great attraction. If there is now snow it will be a bumpy wagon ride instead of a sleigh ride that will be within feet of wild Elk. Just remember to bring your camera.
Tip: Be sure to dress warm and bring sunglasses.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    117
    32
    6
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tustin, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sleigh Ride to Elk Refuge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We visited the refuge on March 13,2014, and with the warm weather there was not enough snow for a sleigh ride. Not to worry - we were treated to a wagon ride instead. The guide was very informative, an did a great job informing us about the Elk and the effort that the National Wildlife
Service takes to provide for them. As a bonus, when this trip was finished we took the Wildlife tour in a van with a Naturalist. The Tour is free (funded by the government - and it is one of the services provided by the government that should be funded at a significantly higher level).and worth so much more. A donation box is available which we were more than happy to stuff. The tour is given most days from 1:30 PM - 4 PM. This tour must be booked in advance - Information can be found on the Elk Refuse Web site, or at the Jackson Visitor Center.

We learned more history of the region, were treated to sightings of the Grand Tetons, Bison and Bighorn sheep that would come right up to the cars, where the babies would "lick" the salt off the car tires and bumpers.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a sight to see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Great ride! Very informative guide through the elk herd. Great to see them up close! I've wanted to do this since our last visit in 2009. Glad we were able to get to experience this.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“unbelievable number of elk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just seeing so many wild elk in one place is incredible. Bring a long lens for your camera. Majestic.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not to be missed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The sleigh ride at the National Elk Refuge was awesome! We went on a bright and clear day and got the best pictures from our trip. We saw elk very close up with the Teton range in the background. Great for all ages!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Elk Refuge also viewed

 

Been to National Elk Refuge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Elk Refuge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.