We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Silver Dollar Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Wort Hotel to your Saves list
The Wort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 North Glenwood, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Niseko, Japan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Silver Dollar Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent four nights at the Wort catching the autumn colours in Grand Teton and enjoyed every moment. This hotel has a presence and its history is proudly displayed on the walls. From the grand staircase at the entrance, the furniture in the rooms, the service, and everything between, this was a fine place to call home for a few nights.

The Silver Dollar Bar suited us so well we ate there every night. There was rarely an empty table and the food was excellent. Not gourmet, but excellently done.

The staff looked after us well and little touches such as remembering our names, commenting on our bags and offering umbrellas in the rain made all the difference.

The cost is relatively high but for a few nights we were glad to spend the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    85
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
84
154
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elgin Illinois
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

What a wonderful old west feeling hotel. We stayed here (me,wife,and my brother) in mid sept. 2013. We stayed in the grand teton suite on the second floor. The suite is more like two rooms with a connecting door than a traditional suite. (no living room or kitchen). this worked out just fine for us as we had our own room, bath area. Our room had a large poster bed in it with all wooded furniture. Lots of attention to detail here. (Look closely at the woodwork). Brothers room had a bar area with queen size bed. Every thing you need is here in the rooms Soaps,shampoos,iron, bathrobes, coffe maker, Plenty of plugs to charge your batteries or use your electronic devises. Hair dryer, plenty of counter space and lots of extra room.

The hotel is located just off the main street two stores from town square.Walking distance to shops,restauarnts,activities.ect... Has a self gated parking area if no spots in front of the hotel are available (we had to use on one day) Check in went smooth , bellman helped with the luggage to the elevator somewhat down the hall. Everyone was friendly always greeted us with a smile and asked if they could help with anything. The wood detail here is amazing and throughout the hotel,bar, and restaurant. The basement has a workout room (did not use) as well as two hot tubs that i did use. The area comes complete with change/rest rooms shower area . There were plenty of towels and good ones i should add. (most pool areas have cheep towels)

I loved all the old pictures on the walls and the stories with them. We did use the silver dollar bar/grill and liked it. I will do another review on that latter. On our 9 day vacation in the area this was the undisputed best choice for us. I would not hesitate to stay here again. I would highly rec. it for you too..................

Room Tip: There is no pool here only hot tub. The suites are more spacious than regular rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I stayed at The Wort this past winter when my mom came to visit. She is known for her impossibly exacting standards, and luckily this place fit the bill perfectly. It's situated conveniently within walking distance of most of Jackson's restaurants and shops, staffed by some wonderful local talent, and plushly accommodated. The fireplaces were always roaring and there was often an offering of warm cookies and hot beverages in the common areas. Luxurious without being snotty.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Lovely hotel situated in the heart of downtown. Tons of character. Rooms very nicely decorated and clean. Upscale amenities. Staff very helpful. Free wifi. The Silver Dollar Bar is part of the hotel and has good food with prices comparable to others in the area. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Some interior rooms have windows facing a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
309 reviews 309 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Beautiful historic hotel in Jackson. The rooms are a bit dated and the beds are ridiculously high, but it was comfortable and clean and we are very glad we stayed here. It was very convenient to everything in town and we were able to walk a ton of great restaurants and shops. Check in time is a bit late (4pm) but they are very friendly and hold your bags until then. Lots of parking right in front of the hotel. Definitely recommended if you are staying in the Jackson area!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

A perfect location in the heart of Jackson, WY makes the Wort Hotel very attractive. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. There is a free fitness center and free WIFI. The famous Silver Dollar Bar is a part of the property so you are already at a local attraction. I did find the rooms to be small and the hotel very pricy, but if you want to see the best of Jackson, this may be it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynn, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My most recent stay on once again reminded me of what a wonderful hotel the Wort is.
Service is exceptional the hotel itself is a destination and worth it to simply walk the halls and read the history of the hotel for the past hundred years
The restaurant is exceptional as well as the bar area.
Everyone should try the traditional Wort burger expensive but worth every bite.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Address: 50 North Glenwood, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Jackson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famous gable-roofed hotel with its Silver Dollar Bar, inlaid with 2,032 real silver dollars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Otel, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.