We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Managed Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wort Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Wort Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Wort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 North Glenwood, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Breakfast Included!
Ranked #8 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Well Managed Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Wort Hotel has a great location, right in downtown JH, the staff is attentive, and the rooms and public areas well-appointed. Jackson Hole is an expensive place, and I found the value at the Wort commensurate with other hotels in the area. I recommend this hotel. My only concern was that the room was hot (but I was so tired I didn't figure out how to adjust the thermostat so this is probably my fault) and the room had a small alley window that let in little light. They offer a great "upsell," adorable stuffed teddy bears in the rooms that are available for sale. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Avoid the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    80
    22
    12
    7
See reviews for
80
148
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Very nice hotel beautifully decorated in a wild west theme complimented our stay in Jackson Hole nicely. During winter there is a fireplace in the common area where they serve you free cookies and hot tea. The rooms were beautifully appointed in their own rustic wild west style although the reverse cycle A/C in the room required a bit of getting used to during the cold winter but just about kept the room warm enough. The bed was very comfortable. Also on offer is a complete range of in-room amenities. The small number of staff on duty always made sure you were comfortable and taken good care of during your entire stay and happily greeted you whenever they could. The band playing in the bar at night may annoy some guests but we thought it added to the whole rowdy west feel of Jackson Hole. Food at the restaurant was very good and there are plenty of other restaurants in town to choose from. A 24 hour convenience store located in a gas station is just down the road from the hotel.

There is a small piste in town that is just a 10 min walk from the hotel but the main ski resort of Jackson Hole is at least a 20 minute bus ride away. However the bus stop to the Jackson Hole ski resort is only a 5 min walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The Wort is a lovely, beautiful hotel especially at Christmas. The staff is very nice, the rooms very well appointed. I just cannot understand why they would ask guests to stay right next to the lobby. Our room was adjacent to the front door. All night long and early mornings we could hear others arriving and departing. For a special Christmas brunch in the lobby, the coat rack was placed in front of our door. For the rate that is charged for this room, i expect to have a better location. The manager office is across the hall. Why not switch? If you don't get stuck in room 116, it is a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for your room assignment first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, NY
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Although it seemed like all places in JH were quite costly, this was by far the most expensive. It was certainly nice, comfortable, clean, etc. but our opinion is not worth the price we paid. Good location (although parking is down the strret a bit) room very well appointed, clean, comfortable, etc. Loved the Silver Dollar Bar, gift shop fabulous (although VERY expensive) but all in all, overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpine, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Beautiful hotel especially at Christmas time! They think of everything it seems to make your stay enjoyable. Plenty of nice towels, glass dispensers with wonderful Lemongrass soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, cookies, etc!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The Wort is on the National Registry of Historic Places and rightly so, old time Western decor abounds so if that's not your thing you may not like the look of the hotel. VERY cozy and beautifully decorated for the holidays when were there. Super location in downtown Jackson - right off the Square. The staff was terrific- even cleaning the snow off of our rental car for us. Very reasonably priced during the shoulder season of early December, valet parking or self-parking - your choice.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

What a fantastic historic hotel! Very clean, fresh flowers and Starbucks coffee in the room (with real cream in the fridge). A little noisy at night since my room was directly over the Silver Dollar Bar but I still was able to get a good nights rest. Perfect location for shopping the square. I would return again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Address: 50 North Glenwood, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#4 Business Hotel in Jackson
#7 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#9 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A famous gable-roofed hotel with its Silver Dollar Bar, inlaid with 2,032 real silver dollars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.