We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Worst" hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Wort Hotel to your Saves list
The Wort Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 North Glenwood, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Peace & Serenity Package
Ranked #6 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Certificate of Excellence 2014
España
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“The "Worst" hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Given the price we paid, we expected more. The building is very beautiful, and well located in the town center. However the room was not good - our A/C did not work, it could not be turned off and made terrible noise. They sent someone to fix it, but the fix was to completely cut it down so we could not even use the heater. There were no excuses given either. We had a window that gave to a wall opposite just about 15 cms from ours. Also for the price they should include breakfast.

Room Tip: Make sure A/C unit is working correctly, and request a room with more view than a wall 15 cms from y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    90
    23
    12
    7
See reviews for
88
163
16
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Our May stay at this hotel was priceless. Though our timing was in between seasons, this place was perfect. The atmosphere was authentic mountain lodge style, the service was exceptional, and the location in downtown (just off the main square) was walking distance from restaurants, shopping, and nightlife. I say "in between seasons" because there were some shops and restaurants that were closed until mid-May. But those businesses that were open were still plentifull. The Silver Dollar Bar and Restaurant was right in the same building. And everything is a stones throw away. Housekeeping was very accommodating, with turn-down service, and every time we returned to our room it was emaculate. No complaints! This time of year the prices are reasonable too!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

We had the opportunity to spend the weekend at the historic Wort Hotel in Jackson Hole. I was blown away by the amazing customer service provided by the entire staff at the hotel -- from the front desk to the Silver Dollar Bar & Grill! The employees worked hard to ensure that the guests had a great experience. The rooms were fantastic! They were very nicely appointed and absolutely spotless! The hotel is filled with original Western art. Spending the weekend at The Wort Hotel was a treat and we will most likely make this the meeting point for our family get-together in future years. It is located in the heart of the historic town with views to the ski runs. It's located within easy walking distance to restaurants and in the heart of shopping. Being a guest of The Wort Hotel was a fantastic experience!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This isn't real luxury, but it's authentic, comfortable , clean and well located. The service and staff, are beyond expectation. Plus, the restaurant and bar are great fun, delicious and reasonable. I can't talk about value (price of the room) as our trip was paid for by my host, but I can say that our room was adorable, western, exceptionally clean and well stocked down to the ability to make Starbucks coffee. The atmosphere in the hotel creates an exceptionally relaxing experience, one not always found in hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We just got back from a weekend at the Wort Hotel in Jackson, WY. First, Jackson is staggeringly beautiful. Far better destination than Vail or Aspen.The town has a warm vibe, and nicely kept historical buildings. We stayed in the Cowboy Suite. We were attracted to the Wort based on its Historical Landmark designation. In truth, this is an average hotel at a very high price. I dont understand the historical designation --looks like 1940's construction with 1980's renovation.The cowboy suite (a high end suite) was ok, but by no means worthy of distinction. Bed was in serious squeaky disrepair, door locks were frustratingly difficult to operate, water pressure is exceptionally weak and room service food was inedible. (This was the off-season).

However, the staff is friendly,and the bar lounge had good food, drink, and entertainment. My recommendation would be to spend far, far less money on any of the nearby motels and you'll be very happy.

Room Tip: Stay in a much cheaper nearby motel and visit the Wort. Not worth staying. If you must pick cowgirl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, WY
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Ask any Jackson local (we've lived here nearly 5 years) and the Wort will be part of their social life in a variety of ways. One notable local, Charlie Craighead, even wrote a book, "Meet Me at the Wort," about the many ways that the Wort weaves its way into the history of Jackson. The Silver Dollar Bar finesses that sweet spot that draws in both locals (for socializing and dancing) and tourists. An occasional, free treat is a talented Western singer, like Joni Harms. During the cold January evening start of the dog sled race, the Wort is stationed on town square, serving free hot drinks. Many families celebrate their Thanksgiving or Christmas dinner at the Wort buffet. During Christmas season, listen to the local chorus sing carols on the Wort grand staircase. Recently the Wort hosted a party for the Historical Society that drew 300 locals with deep roots in the valley. What I'm saying is that the Wort is a hospitable civic citizen and wins loyalty by offering what people want. I'm not usually a gusher in my reviews, but when an historic hotel manages to do so many things well, it deserves a shout-out.

We recently celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary with an off-season Wort package. We were delighted by their upgrade to a suite, which was a lavishly decorated Western room, although the square footage was minimal for a "suite."

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andalusia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The Wort is a wonderful old hotel. The oldest hotel in Jackson Hole, WY. The Wort is in an excellent location near the Town Square. It is a beautiful property and the rooms are magnificent. The Silver Dollar Bar and Restaurant has marvelous food and wonderful service. The on-site gift shop is reasonable. The Staff are marvelous, Christie is great! We stay at the Wort Hotel each time we come to Jackson Hole, and we have been guests of the Wort for many years.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and comfy. All the rooms are very comfortable. Just tell the reservationi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wort Hotel

Address: 50 North Glenwood, PO Box 69, Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Jackson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Jackson
#4 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
#10 Family Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wort Hotel is situated just off the famous Town Square in the heart of Jackson Hole, Wyoming -- just a few steps from boutiques, restaurants, art galleries and nightlife¬, including the famous Silver Dollar Bar. A landmark on the National Register of Historic Places, The Wort represents the heritage and heart of this classic Western community. The Wort has 55 luxurious guest rooms designed for comfort and decorated with sophisticated cowboy charm true to its Western roots, including an impressive collection of original Western Art. With outstanding service and amenities, The Wort continues to earn yearly awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wort Hotel Jackson
The Wort Hotel Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.