We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated but Acceptable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Virginian Lodge to your Saves list
Virginian Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 West Broadway, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 42 Hotels in Jackson
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Dated but Acceptable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

You'll think you stepped back in time to the 60's or 70's due to the wood paneling and motor-court appearance, but the rooms have HDTV's, are a pretty good size, and have free wifi. There's pretty scenery all around you, along with a saloon and drive-up liquor store attached to the property. Overall if you can look past the decor, it's an acceptable, affordable place to stay in expensive Jackson.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    166
    117
    30
    28
See reviews for
135
136
15
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel gives you a comfortable place to stay for a reasonable price in an expensive tourist town. Do not expect any frills, though. It is old and dated. The TV looked very old but it worked just fine with a good selection of channels. The room was a good size and the bed was very comfortable.
On the downside, the room was very dark. There was no refrigerator, microwave or coffeemaker. The lack of a refrigerator was a disappointment as we travel with a cooler so we always have cold drinks and food to make a picnic lunch. It is nice to be able to put those items in a refrigerator at night and refreeze our ice packs. There was not even a book with room info available. There is no complimentary breakfast. There is a restaurant next door but we did not try it.
One caution - we were in a room in the two-story section right by the outside door. Because so many other hotel guests seem to lack the common courtesy to not allow doors to slam, I would suggest a room away from this door.

Room Tip: Stay away from slamming outside doors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The front desk help was very helpful and nice. The rooms were clean, but need some updating. The main part of the motel is quaint, rustic, and charming. It surrounds the pool, hot tub, and a large lawn. The pub is a cool place to have a few drinks. The breakfast is absolutely the best in Jackson. An absolute must if you are staying anywhere in the area. You do not have to stay at The Virginian to eat at the restaurant or go to the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Knowing it was the busy season. We arrived in town and went straight to the information center to inquire about RV campsites. The friendly staff directed us to the Virginian and pointed to their courtesy phone to call and see if there was space rather than drive back through a very congested town. . We called. "Virginia RV park, Linda speaking, can you hold a minute" Sure I replied..... TWENTY minutes later after listening to the social schedules of the campground staff, their troubles, aches and pains and a lot of other none work related chit chat, I hung up and we drove down to the site. I walked up to the office window and stated "Hi we have been on hold on your phone for over 20 minutes. We would like to know if you have a space for tonight". A blank stare later we were told by Linda now in person "No we are full up" Well.... you could have told us that on the phone instead of putting us on hold and we turned to leave. There we met who we assume was the host, George. We told him what happened. His reply "WELL YOU SHOULD HAVE MADE A RESERVATION" .....We stated are not complaining that your are full we are complaining that you left us on hold for 20 minutes and forced us to drive here to inquire. WELL WE ARE VERY BUSY AND WE HAVE NOT HAD A VACANCY FOR TWO DAYS. Really George... did you consider that your workload would go down if you had let the information center know you were full??? We left and of course will never go back. I'd highly recommend that the reader consider staying in Pinedale if traveling up to the area from the south.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, IN, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The RV Pa rk was well mantained. The pool and hot tub were a nice bonus. The bathrooms and laundry were close to the sites. The only drawback was that there were no fire pits. VL is a very family friendly place. It is also close to downtown Jackson, rodeo and Snow King Mountain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're looking for a spacious, medium- priced hotel in Jackson, Wyoming, you might want to consider staying at The Virginian Lodge. It's not plush, but the simply furnished rooms are kept very clean, the beds are comfortable and it's nice and quiet.

I stayed in a large suite, with a separate sitting room and bedroom, two TVs, a combination sink/stovetop and mini-fridge. ( I was a little concerned by the proximity of the water and the electricity, but it all worked out.) The bathroom is modern and the towels are new. When I had an issue with my refrigerator, the front desk responded immediately, replacing the defective unit with a full size refrigerator within minutes of my call. The industrial carpeting in the suite has been recently replaced, and could be an issue for people with sensitivities to chemical odors.

In the main lodge, there's a pleasant seating area for guests adjacent to the front desk, with a computer, extremely comfortable leather couches, local papers and tourist information. It's decorated with a decidedly Western vibe, featuring the local wildlife, stuffed and mounted.

The Lodge has its own restaurant situated next to the hotel units. It's a handy place for a hearty breakfast before you head out to Grand Teton National Park. However, if you're there on a weekend, you might want to go early to avoid large brunch crowds. The restaurant serves very good Mexican dishes for dinner, particularly the chicken fajitas. Great iced tea, too! The waitstaff is friendly, but sometimes stretched thinly.

The hotel is close to supermarkets, drugstores and gas stations making it a convenient location to stock up/fill up. Charming Historic Jackson, where there are many restaurants and shops, is only about ten minutes away by car. The word utilitarian comes to mind when I think of The Virginian. No frills, but it gets the job done, bolstered by the very nice people who work there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flushing, ny
Level Contributor
223 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in total at the onset & ending of our Yellowstone/grand Teton vacation. Prime location in Jackson - convenient to all. Walking to restaurants if you want. On site pool & restaurant. Only 'complaint' is that there are many rooms & they do lodge bus tours, so you never know when a bus-load is going to trod down the hallways to or from their trip. Rooms are spacious, they haveWiFi TVs and AC/heat {you won;t have any of those in Yellowstone}. jackson Hole is a nice place to spend some time, a variety of restaurants,sporting possibilities and shopping and this Lodge makes an ideal base to operate from. Also not too far from Jackson Hole Airport which we discovered after flying in & out of SLC.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in any of the passageways because the echo will be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jackson hotels
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
Quality Inn & Suites 49'er
#21 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.9 mi away
Anglers Inn
Anglers Inn
#23 of 42 in Jackson
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jackson Hole Lodge
Jackson Hole Lodge
#31 of 42 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elk Country Inn
Elk Country Inn
#10 of 42 in Jackson
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wyoming Inn of Jackson Hole
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Jackson
Motel 6 Jackson
#32 of 42 in Jackson
3.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Address: 750 West Broadway, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Virginian Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.