We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Jackson, clean, needs a little updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Lodge

Save Saved
You added Virginian Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Virginian Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 West Broadway, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 40 Hotels in Jackson
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Affordable Jackson, clean, needs a little updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The front desk help was very helpful and nice. The rooms were clean, but need some updating. The main part of the motel is quaint, rustic, and charming. It surrounds the pool, hot tub, and a large lawn. The pub is a cool place to have a few drinks. The breakfast is absolutely the best in Jackson. An absolute must if you are staying anywhere in the area. You do not have to stay at The Virginian to eat at the restaurant or go to the bar.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    126
    93
    16
    26
See reviews for
109
96
13
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Knowing it was the busy season. We arrived in town and went straight to the information center to inquire about RV campsites. The friendly staff directed us to the Virginian and pointed to their courtesy phone to call and see if there was space rather than drive back through a very congested town. . We called. "Virginia RV park, Linda speaking, can you hold a minute" Sure I replied..... TWENTY minutes later after listening to the social schedules of the campground staff, their troubles, aches and pains and a lot of other none work related chit chat, I hung up and we drove down to the site. I walked up to the office window and stated "Hi we have been on hold on your phone for over 20 minutes. We would like to know if you have a space for tonight". A blank stare later we were told by Linda now in person "No we are full up" Well.... you could have told us that on the phone instead of putting us on hold and we turned to leave. There we met who we assume was the host, George. We told him what happened. His reply "WELL YOU SHOULD HAVE MADE A RESERVATION" .....We stated are not complaining that your are full we are complaining that you left us on hold for 20 minutes and forced us to drive here to inquire. WELL WE ARE VERY BUSY AND WE HAVE NOT HAD A VACANCY FOR TWO DAYS. Really George... did you consider that your workload would go down if you had let the information center know you were full??? We left and of course will never go back. I'd highly recommend that the reader consider staying in Pinedale if traveling up to the area from the south.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, IN, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The RV Pa rk was well mantained. The pool and hot tub were a nice bonus. The bathrooms and laundry were close to the sites. The only drawback was that there were no fire pits. VL is a very family friendly place. It is also close to downtown Jackson, rodeo and Snow King Mountain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

If you're looking for a spacious, medium- priced hotel in Jackson, Wyoming, you might want to consider staying at The Virginian Lodge. It's not plush, but the simply furnished rooms are kept very clean, the beds are comfortable and it's nice and quiet.

I stayed in a large suite, with a separate sitting room and bedroom, two TVs, a combination sink/stovetop and mini-fridge. ( I was a little concerned by the proximity of the water and the electricity, but it all worked out.) The bathroom is modern and the towels are new. When I had an issue with my refrigerator, the front desk responded immediately, replacing the defective unit with a full size refrigerator within minutes of my call. The industrial carpeting in the suite has been recently replaced, and could be an issue for people with sensitivities to chemical odors.

In the main lodge, there's a pleasant seating area for guests adjacent to the front desk, with a computer, extremely comfortable leather couches, local papers and tourist information. It's decorated with a decidedly Western vibe, featuring the local wildlife, stuffed and mounted.

The Lodge has its own restaurant situated next to the hotel units. It's a handy place for a hearty breakfast before you head out to Grand Teton National Park. However, if you're there on a weekend, you might want to go early to avoid large brunch crowds. The restaurant serves very good Mexican dishes for dinner, particularly the chicken fajitas. Great iced tea, too! The waitstaff is friendly, but sometimes stretched thinly.

The hotel is close to supermarkets, drugstores and gas stations making it a convenient location to stock up/fill up. Charming Historic Jackson, where there are many restaurants and shops, is only about ten minutes away by car. The word utilitarian comes to mind when I think of The Virginian. No frills, but it gets the job done, bolstered by the very nice people who work there.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flushing, ny
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in total at the onset & ending of our Yellowstone/grand Teton vacation. Prime location in Jackson - convenient to all. Walking to restaurants if you want. On site pool & restaurant. Only 'complaint' is that there are many rooms & they do lodge bus tours, so you never know when a bus-load is going to trod down the hallways to or from their trip. Rooms are spacious, they haveWiFi TVs and AC/heat {you won;t have any of those in Yellowstone}. jackson Hole is a nice place to spend some time, a variety of restaurants,sporting possibilities and shopping and this Lodge makes an ideal base to operate from. Also not too far from Jackson Hole Airport which we discovered after flying in & out of SLC.

Room Tip: Don't take a room in any of the passageways because the echo will be disturbing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We reached there only by 10:30 PM and were kind of little bit nervous as it was already late for a check-in... so we called a little earlier ( 10-ish ) because most of the time in Yellowstone you do not have signals... front desk lady was so polite and helpful, that needs special mention ... since we check in late, she also suggested us the places where we can still try dinner ...

the rooms were very specious... bathroom was super clean ... also inside the king-bed room we had a sofa-bed as well...
only drawback i would say is there were not microwave or fridge in the room ... we had expected to have those when we paid such a price per night ...

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siloam Springs, Arkansas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed here for one night on our vacation. It was an okay RV Park. I think it is one of the very few around Jackson. We wouldn't mind staying there again when we go back through. Not much to do in the park but why stay at the RV park when you have Jackson and the Tetons to go see. Good location and decent value. Pretty clean facilities and nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Address: 750 West Broadway, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.