We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, well maintained (and RV park too)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virginian Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Virginian Lodge to your Saves list
Virginian Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   750 West Broadway, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Clean, well maintained (and RV park too)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Older motel, but very well maintained. Another family member stayed at the Motel 6 (which had just been updated). Motel 6 was $109 per night. Virginian was $135. Virginian was substantially larger, and nicer. It wasn't luxury, but Motel 6 had white walls with one orange wall, and felt substantially lower quality than the Virginian. While the Virginian is older, it has good maintenance. The pool area is beautiful. Some of us were traveling with a fifth wheel camper, and there was an RV park behind it -- so it was nice that family could be in the same location. Restaurant on site with GREAT breakfast at a very affordable price. Also good lunches/dinner. Yes, price of room was a little high - but not for this tourist area. A nice mid level price considering the location, and in the center of it all. All staff at restaurant, motel and RV park were very courteous and helpful.

Room Tip: Some rooms open to parking lot, some open to pool area - so request depending on your preference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    136
    97
    18
    26
See reviews for
111
108
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We booked this hotel based on a recommendation from another couple we crossed paths with during our travels after we commented on the high cost of accommodations in Jackson. The hotel is a bot off the beaten path and is definitely dated a bit but considering the cost versus the competition it wasn't unexpected.

Check in was quick and smooth although I almost felt I was inconveniencing the clerk by expecting him to check me in. Once checked in we found a clean and fairly large room. The room was very basic with no extra's like a fridge, microwave or coffee maker.

We made use of a very good guest laundromat and were pleased with the amount of machines and the setup.

I had trouble getting any useable wifi signal and when I called the front desk the clerk was anything but helpful. Basically we were in the furthest corner of the property and they had no solution. I noticed several other guests in the lobby using laptops so I'm guessing ours wasn't the only room that had poor signal.

Given the price versus the competition and the fact the place was clean we'd stay again even with the spotty service and poor wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Boston, Texas
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed two different nights while on vacation in Yellowstone. Once on the way into the area and once on the way out. Both nights provided comfortable, clean accomodations with a decent price (considering the area). I would not hesitate to stay there again. One tip, if you have an ice chest with you, take your room key to the attached liquor store for a free bag of ice...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

Old style motel. Stayed here after driving thru Grand Teton NP. Clean. Outdated. No breakfast. Jackson can be pricey so if you are cost conscious there is no reason not to stay here. Fit our needs but we were on a 10 day budget Yellowstone, Grand Teton, Mt Rushmore, Badlands, Devil's Tower, Great Salt Lake, and wind Cave tour.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is an old-style motel, I used to stay at places like this when I was a kid! There is nothing "wrong" with this hotel, however it is a little outdated in the decor category. The rooms were clean - we had two double beds and the old-style desk and drawers connected to the wall where the TV is located. Old-Style bathroom-around-the-corner with a water closet for the shower and toilet. The LOCATION is excellent, walking distance to all town attractions. You're surrounded by small mountains - one of our party crossed the highway and climbed the mountain to the north! (go JP). The motel grounds are very well taken care of - a beautiful little green surrounds the pool/patio area - the grounds keeper obviously takes pride in his work! Pool and hot tub are clean. I would recommend my friends stay here as long as they're not expecting 5 stars and 5 diamonds.......

Room Tip: Ask for a room off the courtyard - convenient to the pool/patio. You will not be able to check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel lobby is nice lookin western place. The outside of the hotel is kinda rough lookin and you can tell its older. The rooms are decent size but are in definate need of an update. Got paneling on the walls. The tv and furniture are old. Beds kinda sit low to the ground. For $150 bucks youd expect a better lookin room. No breakfast. Decent walk into town. Kinda rough surroundings. But I guess its a place to stay. Id recommend trying to book another place though.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Convenient, clean. Vey friendly staff. Free bags of ice for coolers. Comfortable, nice and warm outside pool, Quiet. Would recommend for a stay in Jackson

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Virginian Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virginian Lodge

Address: 750 West Broadway, PO Box 1052, Jackson, WY 83001
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Virginian Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Virginian is a fun place to stay & explore the unique character of Jackson Hole. Conveniently situated in the town of Jackson, The Virginian is the perfect location to access world class outdoor recreation opportunities in Grand Teton National Park, Yellowstone National Park and the surrounding areas. Come experience a taste of the "Old West!" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Virginian Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginian Hotel Jackson
Virginian Lodge Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virginian Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.