We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“February break” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Snow King Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Snow King Resort to your Saves list
Snow King Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   400 East Snow King Ave., Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Kemmerer, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“February break”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This trip was part of a medical conference. My family came along to enjoy the area while I slaved away in lectures. There seems to be a lot of construction at the resort this year and the snow levels are sub optimal. These factors made the trip not as good this year as compared to other years. Being Jackson of course the prices at local shops are quite inflated. If you're looking for bargains here you're going to have to search hard. Lots of good wildlife viewing and winter sports activities are easily accessible. We love the mountain scenery, winter or summer but generally pass on the tourist spending traps. Fortunately there are enough genuine locals around to make a quality experience happen if you do your homework before booking events or trips.

Room Tip: Condos are best if you have the funds
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Fred,

I am sorry to learn that you had to spend most of the time working while your family was able to enjoy Jackson Hole. We have had your conference here for several years and certainly enjoy having this event back with us. We have begun a renovation of our guestrooms this winter and will complete our renovation by this summer. I hope that their were no disruptions to your visit as we have worked hard to limit the impact to all of our guests. You are absolutely correct in regards to the wildlife and scenery as it is certainly one of the best places in the country for both of these activities.
We hope to welcome you back again in the future so that you are able to enjoy all of the wonderful upgardes that will be in place.

Warm Regards,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    114
    54
    21
    16
See reviews for
105
74
14
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Hotel was great! Hot-tub was perfect for relaxing after a long day of skiing. The rooms were a great size. They have a shuttle that will take you to and from places in town if you don't want to wait for the town shuttle. Also the restaurant in the bar is amazing. When we were there they had a deal buy 1 entree and get a second for $2. We had great steak! I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Many thanks for your recent review of Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences! We are pleased to learn that our team was able to meet each request and exceed your expectations. We will be eagerly anticipating your next visit to Jackson Hole.

Warm Regards,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

After reading some of the reviews about Snow King I was left a bit apprehensive, but decided to give it a go anyway. And I'm glad we did!! We brought our Siberian Husky with us and had a 4th floor room which is actually at the parking lot level, perfect! The room was literally ski in and ski out. Maybe 30 steps to the room. The hotel is a bit dated but our room was fine with no issues, I'm sure it will be even nicer once renovations are complete. The restaurant is a bit pricey, but where isn't in Jackson? The early morning coffee and tea where excellent. Nice outdoor spa, but I think the 10pm closing is a bit early, but that's a minor deal. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Will,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and brought your dog along.
Our team loves to have dogs around the property as it makes everything feel like home, not just for our guest but for our team as well! We look forward to having you back in the future to enjoy all the new upgrades that we will put in place as we renovate the property. As you noted we are the only true ski in and out Resort in the town of Jackson Hole.

Thank you for being our guest.

Best,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have been to Jackson numerous times and have stayed at Snow King at least 4 times now. If you prefer the vibe of being in the town instead of at the Ski Village (I do) - this is the place to be. Each experience is the same; great room rates, friendly staff, a nice clean basic resort that would put any VT hotel to shame. Best of all is outside your door is a great little local's ski hill. I come here to ski the big mountain. When my plan lands by 1pm, I can be in the hotel and skiing by 2 for a few hours. They have night skiing. So that is 2 more days of snow sports on the typical days most travelers are just unpacking or packing. Snow king has 3 slow lifts and 1,500 feet of vertical with some real steeps on top. So on a good power day no reason to leave. Other amenities are a bus service at the front do to get to town or the Jackson Hole ski resort, nice size pool and hot tub, tubing kill and ice skating for the kids. Could the hotel use an update sure. But if you want fancy -- go to Aspen! If you want to ski and soak up the great atmosphere of Jackson Wy, check it out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Alex,

Thank you for your recent review and all the wonderful comments about the team here! At Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences, we do strive to exceed each guest’s individual expectations. I am so glad to hear that we were able to do so for your recent stay. We do indeed have many great amenities as you noted, for all to enjoy while here in Jackson Hole. We have in fact begun a major renovation of the property and expect to be complete by this coming summer.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I was dubious about coming to Wyoming. The very word brought images to my mind of miles and miles of dreary nothingness- but this is NOT the case! Wyoming is spectacular (well at least the Jackson area..) and the Snow King really helped elevate the experience for me. To start they had a shuttle service which made the trip from the airport much easier. Next I was greeted by the incredibly friendly front desk staff. They made me feel truly welcomed and even had dinner recommendations. Casey recommended that I dine at the Snake River Grill and it was one of the best meals of my life (make sure to get the Eskimo Bars for dessert)! I highly recommend listening to the staff, they seem to be locals and are extremely knowledgeable able. Snow King is also close enough to shops and such that I was able to walk (takes around 15 minutes, pleasant). There is also an onsite bar which proves to be extremely convenient and delicious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We are so grateful for appreciative guests who take the time to write about their experiences here at Snow King. We love to hear about individual employees here who provide great service like Casey. We hold them in equally high regard.
This is truly a special part of Wyoming, here in Jackson Hole and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience.
Please return soon and often!! Hope to be able to meet you and thank you in person on your next visit.

Warm regards from your friends at Snow King.

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper, Wyoming
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our accomodations were excellent for the price we paid. We were upgraded without requesting it because of a small miscommunication. Customer service is always pleasant. My boyfriend sliced open his foot at the pool, possibly on some ice, and everyone was very helpful and provided what we requested to clean and bandage it. It would be impossible to keep the pool/jaccuzzi area free of ice during the below 0 temperatures. We are looking forward to seeing the results of the new construction. This is our 2nd stay at Snow King and we will definately stay again. P.S. Don't be misled by advertisements for the Snow Kind MOTEL.... just down the street. They are very different places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! At Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences, we do strive to exceed each guest’s individual expectations. I am so glad to hear that we were able to do so for your recent stay. We are undergoing a renovation and look forward to your return visit so that we are able to share all of the wonderful upgrades with you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel staff where wonderful. Valerie at the front desk took care of us with our small room problem. She was professional and took time to explain all options to us. Then our bar tender Jackie at The Saloon gave first rate service. Her knowledge of the menu and local brews where spot on. Our van driver Dave drove us around all week with no complaints. Thank you to everyone at The Snow King for a wonderful ski week.

Room Tip: Becarful with the condos. Some of them have a murphy bed in living room. Since the bed has a full s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
We are so grateful for appreciative guests who take the time to write about their experiences here at Snow King. We love to hear about individual employees here who provide great service like Valerie, Dave and Jackie. We hold them in equally high regard.
Please return soon and often!! I hope to be able to meet you and thank you in person.

Warm regards from your friends at Snow King.

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snow King Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow King Resort

Address: 400 East Snow King Ave., Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#6 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#8 Business Hotel in Jackson
#13 Family Hotel in Jackson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snow King Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Snow King Resort, just six blocks from the Historic Jackson Hole Town Square, is a full service property featuring on site restaurant & bar, heated pool, exercise room with sauna. The Resort offers free Airport Transfers for all guests. During the summer, the Resort features an Alpine Slide, Miniature Golf, Scenic Chairlift, Horseback Riding and access to the Greater Snow King Area network of Hiking and Mountain Biking Trails. In the winter, enjoy Slope Side Skiing and Tube Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Snow King Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow King Resort (Grand Vista Lodging) Hotel Jackson
Snow King Hotel
Snow King Resort Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow King Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.