We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snowking Resort Jackson Hole” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Snow King Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Snow King Resort to your Saves list
Snow King Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   400 East Snow King Ave., Jackson, WY 83001   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Jackson
Park City, Utah
1 review
“Snowking Resort Jackson Hole”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Snowking Resort in Jackson Hole is great. The staff is very friendly and willing to assist any way they can. The hotel is located within walking distance of the town square as well as the Snowking ski area. Hotel is undergoing renovation, but they are doing it so while you are visiting you will not even know work is being done. I would recommend this hotel and will stay there again myself. Can't wait until the renovating is complete, the hotel will certainly be an excellent then!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. We are indeed fortunate to have the best staff with whom I have ever had the privilege of working with. Wonderful people, hand-picked for their character, heart and desire to serve others. I really appreciate you recognizing our team so positively.

We look forward to your next visit and I hope to welcome you back in person.

Best,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    129
    59
    25
    17
See reviews for
118
88
17
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

RATING
I would have given the rating of excellent as although the hotel have acknowleged and are addressing the need for a refurbishment, the staff were so amazing that this made the odd bit of dated carpet or decor fade into irrelevance.

FRONT OFFICE STAFF
They were friendly, welcoming and helpful. Going above and beyond expectations to help us and make our stay magical. By far the friendliest hotel staff we have ever had the pleasure to meet. An absolute credit to the resort. The knowledge of the staff in directing us on how to get places, or arranging a shuttle bus was immensely helpful. They also supported us in arranging trips and finding ones most suitable for our families needs.

POOL AND HOT TUB
We did not use this as we were staying in condos and the location of this facility and the lack of changing areas did not lend itself during winter unless you were staying in the hotel. However, the plans for the new pool area as part of the large scale refurbishment did look amazing.

CLEANLINESS AND MAINTENANCE
Our room was clean upon arrival and although a little dated any problems were promptly dealt with by maintenance and the front office. The hotel was kept clean and all staff of every level took pride in the hotel and were constantly picking up, clearing up and ensuring that the lobby and main areas of the hotel were clear and clean. Considering the whole resort is about to undergo a major update, I think they managed the needs of the customer weighted against capacity and expenditure extremely well.

FOOD AND DRINK
Great quality, served with a smile and well priced. The complimentary hot drinks and snacks available in the lobby of an after was a welcome treat after ski-ing all day.

SHUTTLE BUS AND PARKING
There seemed to be ample parking and the shuttle bus team were phenomenal.

RECOMMENDATION
If you are looking to go ski-ing in America, give it a try. They also have great summer activities, but we can only speak with regard to the winter activities. (Weather permitting) there are plenty of winter activities on your door step and the staff will make you welcome and help you.

We loved it so much we are going back. We can't wait to see the improvements after the renovation work and catch up with the wonderful people who work there.

Room Tip: If you want to use the hot tub or pool during winter (with the current layout - prior to renovation...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! At Snow King Resort & Grandview Lodge, we do strive to exceed each guest’s individual expectations. I am so glad to hear that our team was able to do so for your recent stay. We certainly appreciate the positive feedback and as you noted we have begun a renovation of SnowKing, which will be completed by this coming summer. We do have wonderful skiing and great summer activities. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and hope that you have the opportunity to join us in the summer in the future as well.

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Lodge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night and check in n out was a fast n easy. We wereable to check in early....but....the rooms r in need of a deep clean n update. The parking is NOT large truck friendly n the elivators r very sketchy. The staff at the desk is friendly but at 2am by an alarm going off it took them 45mins to fix it. Poor lighting in rooms dead bulbs in lamps n check out is noon but the maid came beating on the door @ 8:30....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for the recent review on your stay at Snow King. I am pleased to learn that your check in experience was exceptional. My apologies for the early morning disturbance by our Housekeeping team. I assure you that we have addressed this with the department. I am not certain if you noticed the design boards in our lobby. We have begun a major renovation of the property to upgrade the entire facility by this coming summer. I certainly hope that on your next visit to Jackson Hole that you will consider us again and have the opportunity to experience all the upgrades that we have implemented.

Sincerely,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at the Pitchfork Townhomes for 2 nights in December. From what I understand, the Snow King Resort is a bit Jekyll and Hyde - some of the condos are apparently quite nice. This was not our experience at the Pitchfork, however. Our townhome was extremely dated (it looked like it hadn't been updated since the 80s). Dirty carpet, stained kitchen and bathroom floors, broken lamps, holes in the wall, mold in the showers. There was no mat for us to use for our wet boots. The sheets and towels were so thin there was barely anything left of them. The blanket on my bed stunk of cigarette smoke.

We couldn't make much use of the hot tub or pool because it was a long walk back to the main lodge from our townhome. Once you get to the main lodge, there isn't a good place to change into your swimming suits (which is a problem in the middle of winter!). The airport shuttle was disappointing, too. We waited for almost a half hour at the airport before getting picked up, and then another 20 minutes after checking in for the shuttle to come back around with our luggage. This was clearly not the fault of the shuttle drivers themselves; they were very nice and were trying very hard, but they were definitely understaffed.

The worst part of the stay happened at 11:00pm on our first night when we were ready to go to bed and found out that the sheets hadn't been changed. The sheets on one of our beds actually had a streak of human feces on it. The sheets on the other beds were dirty and rumpled.

The only reason this place is getting a "2" rating instead of a "1" is that the staff did make an attempt to apologize. They brought us a snack, a 6 pack of beer (for 7 people...?), and gave us a free lift to a venue just outside of town.

We will definitely not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for the recent review on your stay. I am saddened to hear about the areas you experiences that were below standard. I am pleased to learn that the team here made an effort to engage you and compensate you for the inconveniences that occurred. I will certainly follow up with our team to make sure we can take your comments and improve our property and level of service. The concerns that you brought to our attention are certainly unacceptable and have been addressed. We have begun a renovation of the hotel and many of the points that you mentioned will be corrected. I am sorry that I did not have the opportunity to meet you during your stay. If I may assist in any way in the fiuture, please contact me directly at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort and Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We were forced into a stay at Snow King due to a cancelled flight out of JAC. My worry started upon arrival - the front desk staff seemed uninterested and listless (which is not the usual thing for denizens of Jackson Hole - whom we found to be absolutely delightful on the whole). We checked in and were told there was no one to help us drag our large and heavy bags to our room. And the luggage carts were stowed up two flights of stairs! Huh? We made it to the room, which was depressing. Dingy, old, faded - just awful. And then the elevator started up. Turned out this room was directly adjacent to the elevator machine room. It sounded like F-18s trapping on a carrier. Back to the front desk to ask for a quieter room. They accommodated us, and we moved to the new room. Which was on a different floor, but also directly adjacent to the elevator. After mumbling something about Kafka, we just gave up. This room was equally depressing in all other regards, by the way. I really didn't want to touch anything. The sheets and towels did seem clean enough, however. And the mattress turned out to be perfectly comfortable. We did finally fall asleep to the sweet grinding of the elevator - only to be awakened at 3AM by a frat party in the hallway. I cannot tell you how happy we were to check out the next morning. Bottom line - find a rusty fork and perform gallbladder surgery on yourself. That will be more enjoyable than a stay at Snow King. Trust me. This hotel is a dump. It needs to be razed and rebuilt from the ground up. If you can find any alternative, take it.

Room Tip: Request a room as far from the elevators as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Thank you for the recent review on your stay. I am sorry to learn that your scheduled flight was canceled and that you had to stay an extra night that was unplanned. I am saddened to hear about the areas you experienced that were below standard. I will certainly follow up with our team to make sure we can take your comments and improve our property and level of service. I am not certain if you noticed the design boards in our lobby that outlined the renovation that has begun in the hotel and scheduled to be completed by the summer. I do hope that you will consider us in the future. If I may assist, please contact me directly at your convenience.

Sincerely,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort and Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Utah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Got a good deal on Hotwire last minute. Elevators are extremely slow. Carpets are worn and everything is dated. However a comfy bed and quiet nights sleep. Would not be our first choice, but not terrible.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Many thanks for your evaluation of Snow King Resort! I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed a restful night's sleep. I am uncertain if you noticed some of our renovation work that has begun at Snow King. We have begun a renovation of the entire property and anticpate its completion by this coming summer. I certainly hope that you have the opportunity to return and enjoy all the enhancements that we will be implementing. We will be eagerly anticipating your next visit to Jackson.

Warm Regards,

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarendon Hills, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We went skiing on Christmas day, which was nice because it was not crowded at all. However, not all the slopes were open and some were a bit icy. Overall though, it was fun. As a beginner though, there was only one slope open and the last part of it was very steep and intimidating, although doable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Snow King Resor... M, General Manager at Snow King Resort, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Thank you for your recent review! At Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences, we do strive to exceed each guest’s individual expectations. I am so glad to hear that we were able to do so for your recent visit to the mountain. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Craig A. Waterman
General Manager
Snow King Resort & Grandview Residences
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Snow King Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow King Resort

Address: 400 East Snow King Ave., Jackson, WY 83001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Jackson Hole > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Jackson
#7 Spa Hotel in Jackson
#7 Business Hotel in Jackson
#11 Family Hotel in Jackson
#14 Romantic Hotel in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Snow King Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether it's time to visit Yellowstone and Grand Teton National Parks, float the Snake River or catch that perfect cowboy powder Jackson is known for, Snow King Resort provides the ideal location for your adventures. Located at the base of Snow King Mountain Resort and just blocks from the historic Jackson Hole Town Square, the resort offers beautifully appointed guest rooms and Jackson's hottest restaurant, Haydens Post. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Snow King Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snow King Resort (Grand Vista Lodging) Hotel Jackson
Snow King Hotel
Snow King Resort Jackson Hole, WY

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Snow King Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.