We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place, Awesome Owner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ponderosa Cafe & Bar

Ponderosa Cafe & Bar
115 Main Street, Hulett, WY 82720
307 467 5335
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Hulett
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Awesome Place, Awesome Owner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

My boyfriend, his friend and I were riding from Devil's Tower and decided to make a stop at Ponderosa Cafe and Bar. We were very glad we did. The bartender was extremely nice and then we got to meet "the crabby chef" Mr. Dean himself. Very cool dude. Will have to say he has the BEST steak tips around (don't be fooled by the claims in Sturgis), cold beer and lots of laughs. Even shared an espresso with a splash of Sambuca with Dean.

Will have to say thank you for the stickers....my fave has the be about the hot dogs :)!! If you are passing through Hulett, please make this the place to stop to have a beer or grab a bite to eat. Fun place, great atmosphere and awesome steak tips.....best ever Dean!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    55
    16
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kadoka, South Dakota, United States
1 review
“Surprise...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Best surprise I've had in such a small friendly town. The food was amazing and fresh... no fried food ...professional courteous people..Great bar tenders.. I will be going back again and again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhinelander wi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

5 friends and myself were on a motorcycle trip to the Black Hills area and stopped in Hulett on the way from Devils Tower. We stopped at the Ponderosa Cafe for lunch. It was the first day they started serving their mexican menu. The food was very good, I had enchiladas and tried one of the other guys quisadillas. The waitress (sorry I didn't get her name) was very nice and gave us some good advice on roads to ride in the area. Definitely will stop in again when I get back to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everyone needs to meet the Crabby Chef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I suggest that you try any of the specials, but if you don't see something that you want JUST ASK. The Crabby Chef will make it for you. This was a great place and look forward to going back again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Mexican Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were rather surprised to find Mexican Night at a South Dakota cafe but decided to try it. It was best Mexican food I have ever had. We definately recommend this place.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ponderosa Cafe & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Ponderosa Cafe & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ponderosa Cafe & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.