We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desert Airport Museum” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum of Flight and Aerial Firefighting

Museum of Flight and Aerial Firefighting
South Big Horn County Airport, Behind the Rest Area!, Greybull, WY 82426
(307) 765-2100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 3 Attractions in Greybull
Type: Museums
Attraction details
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Desert Airport Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Don't let Duane Powers catch you snooping around un-authorized territory here..lol He will make sure you are a bonafied customer. This place has a fascinating history that defies being captured in a box this size. Suffice it to say that there are many many types of older aircraft here.

World War II vintage planes. Canadian boxcars, Neptunes, PB4Y's, KC97's, C130's .. well you get the idea.The planes have been used in aerial firefighting on government contracts with the U.S. Forest Service and Office of Aircraft Services in Boise Idaho for years and years.

Stop and see it for yourself. A plethora of information is available for the asking.

t

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    3
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colbert, Washington
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Ghost Airport”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just to the north exit of Greybull, WY on your way to Cody, WY is an old airport. Three planes in various states of weathering are located inside what seems to be a fenced in area. As described in another review, two RCAF C-119's and a Beech 18 are in the "fenced" in area as well as three more planes are parked in front of the museum and dilapidated hangar plus a very friendly little bunny who came out to see who was wandering around in his territory. To the north of the area is a collection of difficult to see military and commercial aircraft some older than others, but all "out here rusting in the rain" as the song so aptly said. I do not know your perspective of things old and weathering from no shelter and such, but to me it was an hour spent, that still lingers as clearly as the geologic and prehistoric sites there in the area that I also stopped to ponder. I spent time photographing and taking in the rustic beauty of the bygone era these planes represented. Who flew in these, where had these planes been used, what did the pilots and crew encounter as they flew their mission, or traveled commercially to visit or conduct business? If aging aircraft sitting in and around a ghost airport interest you, take the time to stop her and linger." If aging aircraft particularly the military sort are your thing, go to the Pima Arizona aircraft boneyard in Tucson AZ....Hundreds of up close and personal exhibits to wander through.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“NOT WORTH THE TRIP!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I flew into Billings, MT, rented a car, and spent the second week of September this year in Yellowstone NP and Grand Teton. Returning to Billings, we opted to route via Cody and being a lifelong enthusiast of prop driven, radial engined aircraft, I took a chance and drove Cody to Greybull to see what was left of the old Hawkins and Powers aircraft collection at Greybull. The Wyoming state tourist guides all listed this "museum" of Flight and Aerial Firefighting" as something to see. Let me tell you that even if you ARE a hardcore antique aircraft enthusiast, you are better off reading reviews like mine than making a four hour detour to see a couple of weathered, former RCAF C-119's and a derelict Beech 18 just inside the airport fenceline. True, you can drive up to the security gates at the fence perimeter and see a field full of old military cargo and ASW aircraft, BUT they are better than a half mile from the closest viewing point at the fence, and while interesting, you can't get any closer, not that getting closer would do anything more than stir the nostalgia in the most avid enthusiast. None of the aircraft visible at this airport, excepting a couple of small privately owned aircraft, have flown in years, and most appear to have been partially dismantled. The "museum" building, is actually a falling down, much derelicted, one room shack near the fenceline when you turn off the main highway into the airport grounds. It's been closed for years. There is one business with a large hangar at this airport, which appears to be thriving, but they do contract work for the US Dept. of Defense, and the owners say even they are prohibited from visiting the aircraft graveyard at the other end of the airport. Nice folks, if you can get somebody to the door, but they don't have the authority to sneak you in the back door to take a look around. So, in short, if you're thinking of driving all the way to Greybull to see these historic aircraft, you're better off going to Greybull to see the town and surrounding sights, which we did not have the time to do. By the way, regardless of where you are driving from, check your Wyoming state maps. Between Cody and Greybull, there is NOTHING scenic. From discussions with other friends and family that have driven through Wyoming, this is typical. Hours and hours of driving with little of interest to see between the better known towns and tourist attractions. Wyoming is a great state to visit, but I would not recommend taking long drives through the countryside without a full tank of gas, and a cooler stocked with your picnic lunch and something to drink. I can't even imagine a drive like we took in the winter time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Aircraft Graveyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Did not care for the hours, it was closed when it was supposed to be open and the entrance was difficult to find, the grounds were not kept up very well.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum of Flight and Aerial Firefighting also viewed

 

Been to Museum of Flight and Aerial Firefighting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum of Flight and Aerial Firefighting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.