We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a facelift” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   109 North US Highway 14 - 16, Gillette, WY 82716   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gillette
Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Needs a facelift”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I've stayed here about once a year for the past decade on business. This year I really noticed how run down it is getting. The carpet was being shampooed while I was there, but really, it just needs to be replaced. The rooms are a bit 'dingier,' and overall, the place just needs a facelift! Don't understand why they can't get with 'the times' like so many other hotels and offer a complimentary breakfast. PRobably will pick another hotel next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    24
    20
    19
    28
See reviews for
32
22
4
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stopped at the Best Western on our way to Illinois from Montana. We stayed here because it was conveniently right off the interstate and we just needed a place to rest after driving our U-haul all day. In order to get to our non smoking rooms, we have to parade through the never ending hallway of smoking rooms! Beds were no where near soft and no continental breakfast? Let's rate this "only in desperation"

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Enjoyed my night here with our tour group. The hotel was clean, easy and nice. I would definitely stay again, if I was in the area again. Just what we needed after a long day of driving. Fridge in room was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The room was clean and the staff was very nice. The best smoked salmon I've had in years served to me at the lounge. The over-medium eggs were more like well done and I've had far better hash browns . The coffee in the room was awful, so you might want to avoid it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My room had visible stains on the carpet, a poor patch job, disheveled and tired looking bed lines, drapes, towels, and furniture. The bathroom had stray hairs on the floor. The carpet had not been vacuumed. The stairwell smelled of old urine and vomit. The morning after my stay, I had to wait in the lobby for several hours due to a snowstorm during which time I heard the manager talking down to employees; said employees complaining about the manager later after he left. When the manager came back later, he was allowing employees to have a meeting about cleaning and operational procedures. The manager was also conducting hotel business from behind the front desk. Overall, there was a major lack of professionalism. Generally, this hotel is poorly run and there is no pride in ownership. Then again, it was only $47/night. I guess it's true: you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have family in town and stay here at least twice a year. I'm surprised by the amount of poor reviews because we love it here. Our rooms are always very clean and nice. The front office staff is always super friendly and check in is seamless. Parking is sufficient and we always get a free drink ticket for the bar which is also nice. The bed was so comfortable that we checked to see what brand it was. If I could have gotten it in my car we would have taken it home! The location is great because it's right off the interstate making it super easy to find and to leave from going home. Also, there are several gas stations in close proximity which is very convenient. We always take my nephew to the pool when we stay and he loves it. My only complaint would be that the restaurant was a little pricey for a buffet we had once (it was seafood so I guess that's to be expected) and the chlorine from the pool was so strong one time that I had to stand outside because it made my eyes hurt and I wasn't even in the pool. Regardless, I give this place 5 stars and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre, South Dakota
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed here during a conference. It was OK at best. Had to get new keys 3 times as they just wouldn't work. The room never felt clean. I swear one night about 3 a.m. it sounded like one of my neighbors was playing darts on our adjoining wall. Heater was noisy also. Staff was good, but overwhelmed trying to satisfy all the requests from complaints from guests. If you have a choice, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge

Address: 109 North US Highway 14 - 16, Gillette, WY 82716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Tower West Hotel Gillette
Best Western Gillette
Gillette Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Tower West Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.