We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1607 West 2nd Street, Gillette, WY 82716   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Gillette
Oregon
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Enjoyed my stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

Very clean, well-kept facility. Rooms kept well, comfortable. Very friendly staff, and efficient checkin. Free Breakfast includes eggs, sausage/bacon, other usuals, in a cheerful breakfast room. Supermarket, restaurants within short walk. Lots of road construction on 2nd street, but didn't hear any of it from the motel (set back from the road).

My only complaint is a common one, my personal motel pet peeve: My room had ubiquitous a/c unit under the window, such that when on, the air would billow up under the curtains. So, had to use phone books to prop the curtains out of the blowing air...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    17
    8
    2
    3
See reviews for
17
9
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

The Comfort Inn website specifically states under its services that the location in Gillette has a "No pets allowed" policy. As an allergy sufferer, this is why we chose that location. We brought our luggage to our room and sure enough, on our way out the elevator doors there were two pugs and their owner waiting to get in. This hotel has 6 rooms on the 3rd floor designated to pets and their owners. This is a potentially dangerous situation for those with pet allergies as the elevators are contaminated with pet dander. The suites themselves were more than sufficient but we will not be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2009

Checked in, went to dinner nearby, came back, and then the trouble started.

The hotel is a nicer Comfort Inn. We were given a (2) queen bed room on the 2nd Floor overlooking the roof of the pool and entrance. The view of air conditioning units and vent stacks was only slightly worse than any other view in Gillette (sorry), so we didn't care. However, then a howling noise started up coming from one of the exhaust vents. It rattled the windows, so we complained.

"We're full up, I'll see what I can do, never had this happened before"... blah blah. You know the drill.

After persisting, suddenly options in the "full" hotel opened up. First I was offered a smoky handicapped room in this 100% non-smoking hotel, then I was shown a 3rd floor King room that we took. It required my 13 year old to sleep on the pull out couch, but that was okay. The room was fine except for the remaining cologne smell from the previous guest, The hotel seems to fill up with contract workers from the surrounding area.

The hotel discounted our room by 10% for our trouble which I appreciated. The front desk clerk confided that she didn't like customer service and only wanted to work there long enough to finish her degree. Nice.

Breakfast was good enough, and the pool was also okay.

All in all, if you're travelling on I-90 and need a spot to rest your head, this is a decent choice, just avoid the 2nd floor overlooking the roof.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, QC
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

This hotel was super, the place looked new and was spotless. The room was clean and big. The bed was comfortable, the lady at the front desk was helpful and the breakfast although little was acceptable (bagels, muffins, eggs, waffles). The only negative I have with this hotel was the poor condition of the guest computer, it took me about 45minutes to get a mapquest map up and printing. I had to feed each page manually into the printer and reboot the computer and printer, it was very frustrating. The pool and spa looked super, there is plenty of parking. We were just driving thru on our way back home and found this hotel on the side of the highway. I would recommend this hotel to anyone needing a place to sleep. Price was reasonable at $90 for a king bed.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

I last stayed here in mid 2008, but I have stayed here about 3 times and have never had any complaints. I always looked for rooms here first when staying in Gillette. Of course, sometimes it's full before I can so I then look to the clarion. Both are good, but the comfort inn is the better one.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit Lakes, Minnesota
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2009

I carry several hotel cards as I travel and try to find the best deals. We visited Yellowstone and were headed home to Minnesota. I found a Comfort Inn in the city of Gillette, Wy. Thinking it would be okay we pulled in and it looked alright. We booked a room and found a wonderful place. Spotlessly clean, wonderful pool area, large room with comfy beds, and a clerk who actually knew something. She directed us to an appropriate restaurant as we were traveling with two teenagers. If all Comfort Inns were this good I would get rid of all my hotel cards and just stick with them.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

We arrived at the Comfort Inn in Gillette after a long day's drive from the Badlands and Mount Rushmore. The staff was friendly upon arrival. Our room was clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast was decent. My one complaint is that our toilet would hardly flush the entire time and the staff did not seem concerned. This Comfort Inn is next to the interstate and there are several gas stations and a Pizza Hut located next to the property.

  • Liked — Clean rooms.
  • Disliked — Faulty toilets.
  • Stayed September 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1607 West 2nd Street, Gillette, WY 82716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Gillette
Gillette Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.