We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Hampton Inn” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Gillette

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Gillette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Gillette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   211 Decker Court, Gillette, WY 82716   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Gillette
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Hampton Inn”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We had previously stayed at the nearby Comfort Inn, but as we wanted to build up our Hilton Honors points, we booked a room here. Having stayed at other Hampton Inns, this one was a little disappointing. Our room on the third floor had dirty carpet. It looked like someone had shredded a Kleenex all over the floor near the doorway and had not been vacuumed up. Thankfully, though, we were far enough away from the yapping dogs down on the third floor that noise was not an issue. The bathroom was clean and the beds were sufficient. One bad thing is that this hotel is not located near many restaurants even though it is right off the Interstate. Decent, but not stellar.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra C, Manager at Hampton Inn Gillette, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
I appreciate the review of your recent stay at Hampton Inn Gillette. I apologize you were not completely satisfied with your stay. I appreciate your input on the areas where we fell short in our quest for outstanding service, as it gives us the information we need to try to fix the problem areas.
I cannot apologize enough for the lack of cleanliness you encountered with your room. This is certainly not the norm for our hotel, and your information helps us target where we need to improve our diligence. Our rooms are also slated for renovation in the near future, and we are looking forward to the improvements!!
We do not allow pets at our hotel (only service animals), so I'm not sure where the dogs came from that you were hearing. If that type of thing should happen again at a property you know is a non-pet property, please let the front desk know about the animals you are hearing.
We would love to see you again, the next time you are in our area and experience an improved property and the best customer service!
Thank you once again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    32
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
24
18
5
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton on a overnight trip for a high school swim meet. This was one of the cleanest hotels I have ever been to. The service was excellant! The breakfast area was spotless and comfortable. We asked if it was possible to open the pool area early for my son to swim a little while before we had to check out and they were very accomadating.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downey, CA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I stayed here with my family after visiting Devil's Tower National Monument, which is about an hour driving time from here. It's a very typical Hampton property located close to the interstate. It also appears to be relatively new. Everything is in like new condition. We had a room with two queen beds, which were quite comfortable and we all slept well. The only minor disappointment about our room was that it had no fridge, which is an amenity we enjoy when we're on vacation. I understand that some, but not all, rooms at this property have refrigerators, so make sure you ask for one if you need one.

The hotel is in a good location, close to the freeway and a couple of gas stations for when you get back on the road in the morning. There are a couple of restaurants within very easy walking distance, and if neither of those (one Mexican restaurant and one Chinese) appeals to you, there are a few others within 10 minutes driving time.

I would definitely stay here again the next time I pass through Gillette.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watrous, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is another fine Hampton, quiet, comfortable, good breakfast. Pleasant staff, we stayed on the 13th of July (friday) and I had sent my kids out to get something from the SUV and about 2 hours later we were in the pool. The manager came in and asked if we had a black SUV in the back parking lot, the back gate was open. I went out and yes it was, the kids had left it unlocked, and open with all our stuff in the SUV including my wallet and a spare set of keys. Who said that Friday the 13th was unlucky.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stopover stay in July 2012. After 8 hours in the car with 2 kids the pool was really refreshing. Very friendly and responsive staff. We called the day before to ask about refrigerator in our room and Angela said there wasn't but that she'd move one into our room. We also asked about a low noise room (after reading reviews about the road noise) and She moved us to a nice and quiet room. All this done over the phone, which I appreciated.

The room was large and clean. Smallish bathroom. The carpet was clean and stain free except for an iron incident that left an impression on the rug - no big deal. The wifi was pretty slow and I resorted to using 3G.

Decent breakfast buffet and good coffee.

Room Tip: Room on the front side of the hotel, directly above the registration area, were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden Prairie, MN
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Clean, quiet, good continental breakfast, easy access to the freeway en route to Yellowstone. We would definitely stay here again. The pool area was clean and pleasant. It was a nice bonus to have swimming noodles available for use. This suite was nice a spacious.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

A very good Hampton Inn, very clean. The only down side was that it appears the room we were in needed a new mattress. The woman who checked us in upon arrival was great. The man who worked nights was especially helpful also. It is the people who work at this Hampton Inn that make it a place that I would want to stay at again. I think it is being renovated soon, and hopefully the room will have refrigerators.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Gillette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Gillette

Address: 211 Decker Court, Gillette, WY 82716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gillette
#4 Family Hotel in Gillette
#4 Business Hotel in Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Gillette 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gillette Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Gillette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.