We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greased Pig” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pokeys BBQ & Smokehouse

Pokeys BBQ & Smokehouse
408 South Douglas Hwy, Gillette, WY 82716
687 7653
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 79 Restaurants in Gillette
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Gillette, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Greased Pig”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Just love BBQ, but the grease is never ending here...Have tried and tried to make it work, but I just can not get past the excess grease on my plate...

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    12
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
“Good food great cornbread”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were traveling through Gillette and stopped for the night. It was about 8:00 and we were tired and hungry. We decided to stop at Pokey's based on previous reviews. We were not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating; the food was very good and served quickly; great salad bar. The corn bread was impressive because it's usually dry and tasteless but this was exceptionally good. This is a good stop in Gillette. You get the feeling they want to please their customers. Give them a try

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Already listed as "Pokeys BBQ"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Already listed as Pokeys BBQ. This should be fixed, as there is an apostrophe in the name and proper English is important.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Excellent food and fast friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We arrive in Gillette at 7:30PM and checked into our hotel. We asked for some food suggestions, but decided just to check out all of the places on South Douglas Hwy. We drove by Pokey's twice before deciding that this was the place. It was an excellent choice as I had the pulled pork with a side of baked beans and my wife had the brisket with potato salad. We also had the salad bar which was terrific. So terrific in fact that we ordered a pint of their cold pea and carrot salad to go. Everything was very tasty. When we arrived back at our hotel, they told us that they use Poke"s to cater their meetings. When in Gillette, Wy, Pokey's is the place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casper
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“EAT HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Very nice salad bar, great fresh bbq! I love famous daves bbq, but when Im not near Famous daves? Pokeys is EXCELLENT! GREAT food! Excellent service, and good prices!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pokeys BBQ & Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Pokeys BBQ & Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pokeys BBQ & Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.