We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not good” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Gillette

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn Gillette to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn Gillette
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   608 East 2nd Street, Gillette, WY 82716   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights - Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Gillette
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This motel had a good breakfast, large room, and good towels. I can't say anything good about the rest of it. The room was old and needed a lot work to make it appealing. Stains on the carpet. We couldn't sit on the chair because it was coming apart. Something was coming apart by the air conditioner. For the price, I would look for something else.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
Couples
0
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This is a one star place. Clean but old and cheap. WiFi terrible.not updated since 1980. Booked through Priceline, (NEVER again) they rated it 2&1/2 stars. Priceline also charged me $20 more than if I had booked direct with the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Horn, Wyoming
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

I will start by saying that I did not have an unpleasant experience at this hotel. The customer service was quick and friendly. My complaint is the location, the appearance, and the cleanliness of this hotel. Walking into my room felt like stepping back in time 20-years....and that's not a compliment. The outside looked run down and sleazy and this hotel is not located in an ideal location....it is definitely in the unpleasant part of Gillette...but if you ask me the whole town is unpleasant due to its lack of scenery and notorious meth problem. Anyways...this hotel needs to be updated. Also...any hotel that does not have flat screen televisions needs to get with the times. Because of my stay here I will never again pay less than $100 for a hotel room per night. You get what you pay for.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubair K, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, responded to this review, December 14, 2014
First of all, I would like to thanknow you for your review. Reviews like yours help us improve and keep our bring our property right up to the customers satisfaction. You mentioned in your review that you didn't like the location and the appearance of the property, on our defense this is where the original motel was built as it used to be the end of town and the "happening place" in town as well. The motel has been kept in its original exterior appearance as there isn't much that can be done about it but we have made alot of improvements with the outside. The rooms are furnished to above most motels standards and I agree the TV's are old but we have flat screens coming in next month as well as new furnishing and carpet. I can guarantee you that our rooms are much better in appearance, functionality and shape compared to other motels in town but that doesn't mean we can't improve.
I would like to offer you 30% off your paid rate (if booked thru us or our website as we can't discount reservations booked through 3rd party websites), please bring your or email me your receipt and I will gladly refund it.

Thank you and if you have any questions please feel free to contact me at 307-682-9341.

Zubair "Z" Khan
GM - America's Best Value Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

Nice place to stay while passing through Gillette. The location is ok (right next to train tracks) but no horn from the train which is nice. Clean and oversized rooms with all the essentials. Price was a little high for October but it's Gillette and the place was packed. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

This hotel is next to the railway tracks. No noise from the trains while there but a lot of noise from 5:00 pm to 9:00 pm from motor cycles and cars equipped with Thrush mufflers. Room was well equipped with fridge, microwave and hair dryer. Old CRT TV. Bathroom has sink, shower, toilet with a separate area with another sink and counter. Lots of drawer space, writing desk, table and two chairs. Staff friendly. Hardees 60 feet away. I find it a little difficult to recommend this place due to the noise and I felt a little on guard due to the location. Did not feel safe after dark. Wifi was slow which appears to be normal at ABVI. For the best rate join the ABVI club for the 15% discount.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2014

i stayed there fora few nights. the building needs work on the outside but ok. although, i dont like staying in a place that has no window to open.the staff were very nice and the breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: the roomsinside are nice. the outside is rough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubair K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments. What can I say, your comments tell it all. Thank you. We have recently completed the renovations on the outside and our next step is to do the inside. We work very hard to provide good guest service, a clean, comfortable hotel inside and out, and a breakfast with something for everyone. Thank you again. We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greybull, Wyoming
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

I had a great night's sleep at this hotel. Although it is located on the street that parallels the railroad tracks, it is close to good restaurants and easy on/off freeway access. It looks old and a little shabby on the outside, however the rooms are nicely decorated, clean, and plenty of space. Two sinks, one in the small bathroom and one outside it. Even the breakfast was good despite the small space for serving--biscuits and gravy, make your own waffles, fruit etc. Staff efficient and friendly. Reservation was just as it was made no problems. I would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side away from the street noise/railroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zubair K, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments. What can I say, your comments tell it all. Thank you. We have recently completed the renovations on the outside and our next steps are to renovate and update the rooms and amenities. We work very hard to provide good guest service, a clean, comfortable hotel inside and out, and a breakfast with something for everyone. Thank you again. We hope you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Gillette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Gillette

Address: 608 East 2nd Street, Gillette, WY 82716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Americas Best Value Inn Gillette 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, located in northern Campbell County in the heart of scenic Gillette, Wyoming. Our hotel is a few blocks away from downtown Gillette and within walking distance of the best dining and shopping. We are close to Cam-Plex Events Center, Gillette Golf Club, and Campbell County Recreation Center, which offers a water slide and indoor pool. Visit the Campbell County Rockpile Museum, where you can learn about the local history with emphasis on the culture and people of Campbell County. Take a drive out to the majestic Devils Tower National Monument. In the morning, enjoy our free continental breakfast served daily from 5am - 9am featuring tasty treats such as donuts, breakfast bars, fruit, cereal, bagels, and coffee. For a juicy hamburger walk next door to Hardee's. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions and Priceline so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn Gillette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.