We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for the money.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Inn Gillette

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Inn Gillette to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Inn Gillette
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1004 East US 14/16, Gillette, WY 82716   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 3+ Nights, Save 20%
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Gillette
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good value for the money.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to stay on way home from Cheyenne frontier days. Had stayed at this hotel before and was quite impressed with the facility. On this stayed the front desk staff was very nice. Requested a ground floor room and was granted the request. Was a little nervous after reading some of the more recent reviews but didn't have any issues. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Gillette, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Michelle,
Thank you very much for taking time to let us know that you had a good stay here. We are happy we could exceed your expectations. I hope to see you in the near future.
Debby Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    19
    22
    24
    26
See reviews for
29
20
11
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dodgeville, Wisconsin
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We've stayed in a lot of older motels with some wear and tear of age but most have been clean. This is not only old and definitely showing its age but tips the scale toward the dumpy side. The fridge was not clean. I wouldn't let my husband put anything in it that wasn't sealed. There was hair on the sheet when I pulled the blankets back, as well as cigarette burns in the blankets. The carpet was dirty, obviously not vacuumed well, if at all. There was also hair on the toilet seat and the bowl was not well cleaned. I've worked cleaning hotel/motel rooms and would be ashamed to leave a room in this condition. There is obviously no concern for quality or customer's experience here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Gillette, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam
Thank you very much for your review, We sincerely apologize for the substandard condition of your room. At the Howard Johnson, we take great pride in our high standards of cleanlinness. Unfortunately, you experienced a time when we obviously did not meet those standards.
My hope is that you will allow us another opportunity to serve you.
Debby Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I think this hotel deserves being considered a below-average HoJo. I have stayed in many different HoJo hotels, and this is the worst by far. I booked this hotel online. Per the booking, the room was to have a hair dryer (my girlfriend was with me), coffee maker, A/C, alarm clock, and non-smoking. We were given a room in the back of the hotel on the first floor. I was apprehensive about parking in the back because it is not well lit. When we entered the room through the door from the parking lot, the light switch didn't do anything. I used the light on my phone to find my way to the bathroom to turn that light on. Once I did, I discovered that all of the lamps in the room were unplugged. I plugged them in and they did not work. The only lights we could get working were the bathroom light and the wall sconce above the TV. The alarm clock was stuck in radio mode and the screen did not display anything resembling the time; I unplugged it. Once entering the bathroom, we discovered there was no hairdryer, coffeemaker (but there was coffee), and the ceiling fan was hanging below the ceiling tiles. There was also a mold odor. Shortly before going to bed, we turned on the A/C which was very noisy. It was obvious that the room had been a smoking room previously from the odor coming from the A/C. Breakfast was average--coffee and prepackaged items (cereal, yogurt, etc.). Before leaving, I made the Manager aware of the deficiencies we found. She said she would make a note, but the way in which she responded made it clear that she was just telling me what I wanted to hear and nothing would be done. Bottom-line: I understand a HoJo is a budget hotel. I expect an older hotel with standard amenities that have been used hard, but are still functional and clean. This hotel did not meet those expectations in any way. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room in the front of the hotel on the second floor. Due to the fact the rooms have doors that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debby S, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Gillette, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
As a Howard Johnson , We are proud of our culture and spirit to serve. Our Goal for our guest is to feel welcome and well cared while they're staying with us. After reading your reviews I feel we've have let you down and I want to assure you that we are looking into all the issues you experienced. Please allow us when you are bback in Gillette, Give us a chance to make it right.
Debby Simpson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Gillette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Gillette

Address: 1004 East US 14/16, Gillette, WY 82716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wyoming > Gillette
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Gillette
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Gillette 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Gillette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Gillette

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Inn Gillette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.